We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for dinner”
Review of Calico Restaurant

Calico Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Boutique restaurant with in house bakery. Dinner reservations accepted 5:15-8pm Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Open other hours for the pastry shop.
Flanders, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for dinner”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband & I have been going to Rhinebeck for over 15 years for weekend getaways & have walked past Calico many times but we finally had dinner there recently. It's a small charming space with wonderful food, warm cozy ambiance and friendly, helpful staff.
There are some very tasty & different menu choices. I had the gnocchi "sulmona" style and my husband had the sautéed shrimp & scallops over angel hair. For desert we shared the chocolate orange dome....everything was absolutely delicious. Don't miss trying one of Leslie's homemade desserts! We'll definitely be back again on our next Rhinebeck trip!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    40
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Small and charming.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a sweet place. Small and intimate. We had a very nice lunch. Delicious quiche and salad, very good smoked salmon.There was a fabulously looking dessert display but we passed. Looked good enough to maybe try some next time. The waitress was very attentive and friendly. We had a delightful day in the charming town of Rhinebeck.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Lisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful dinner at Calico. This small restaurant is lovingly preside over by its chef/owner and every detail was just right. We started with the crabcake appetizer, which was not extraordinary, but the accompanying Plum Tomato Salad and homemade Tarter Sauce were perfect. For entrees we had Brook Trout and a special of Filet of Sole, stuffed with Crab Meat, in a lobster broth. Both were exquisite. The Chef/Owner came out to the dining room regularly to check and make sure everything was perfect. from the extensive selection of desserts we shared another wonderful choice, a lemon tart that was smooth, rich and very satisfying. I don't want to leave out the dinner rolls. They were piping hot, with a crisp outside and soft dough inside. A great dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 10LeagueBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Culinary Treat!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This restaurant & Patisserie is not to be missed! Upon arrival at our Bed & Breakfast in Hyde Park, N.Y. a couple from California told us not to miss dinning at Calico's in Rhinebeck, N.Y. We took their advice and booked reservations for that evening. Our meals were incredible, so much so that we dined there again before leaving the area. Leslie Heinsohn-Balassone, the Pastry Chef and Part Owner made us feel like family and our waiter was outstanding. Leave room for Leslie's pastries, they are superb!
Carolyn, Bob and Bonnie from Baltimore

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend in Rhinebeck for our anniversary. We weren't sure where we were going to have dinner and found Calico. What a wonderful place. Small, quaint and intimate. The food was fantastic as was the service. We highly recommend Calico for dinner......oh, and dessert!! My wife had the Duck....it was excellent!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOJOCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing