We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Evening”
Review of Calico Restaurant

Calico Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Boutique restaurant with in house bakery. Dinner reservations accepted 5:15-8pm Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Open other hours for the pastry shop.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Warm and welcoming; charming and cozy; wonderful food; professional and courteous service; very reasonable. Of three restaurants at which we had dinner in Rhinebeck, we both agreed this was the clear gold-medal winner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chook43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    40
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A Superior Dining Experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have been coming to Rhinebeck for years, but had never dined at Calico. Big mistake! On this trip we had dinner there, and couldn't have been more pleased. The room is small, but very cozy, and the wait staff very accommodating. The restaurant is owned and operated by a husband and wife team. They are both chefs, one for appetizers and main courses, the other for the pastries. The menu is imaginative, the portions perfect, and the food superb. Everything was fresh and perfectly prepared. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Don't miss it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Tiny place, very good!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had the table for six at the front. It is a very small restaurant and seems popular with locals. Well priced french menu. Deserts are fantastic, a lot of people stopping in just for that. Service was very good and they have a decent wine list. The chef came out to visit and we were impressed. Not many tables here, very cozy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome dinner at this little French restaurant tucked away in a corner of downtown Rhinebeck. The food was exquisitely prepared, service impeccable and the deserts to die for. The highlight of the meal was the bouillabaisse I had. -- the best I have eaten outside of France. This is quite a local gem.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaAmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful dinner”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Calico for years. We always have delicious food and great service there in a lovely setting. The food is imaginative, beautifully prepared, and made with fresh Hudson Valley ingredients. I recently had the sautéed shrimps and sea scallops in a pesto sauce over angel hair pasta. My husband had his favorite, the roast Long Island duckling with cherries and cranberries in a red wine sauce. Stunning on both counts. For dessert, we had a piece of the Boomer, a white cake layered with lemon curd, frosted with French butter cream, and coated with coconut. Just wonderful. Best restaurant meal we have had here. Chef Tony Balassone and Leslie his wife make an amazing team. She is the pastry chef and her delicious cakes and pastries are available to take out as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing