We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try elsewhere first”
Review of Rhinebeck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhinebeck Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Agreed with chitown's post:
Negatives :
* Dirty bed (sheets were clean, but stained)
* Dirty floor (saw a fingernail clipping)
* Water smelled heavily of sulfur so then the whole bathroom did. So we didn't want to shower.
* We had to air out the room because it smelled so heavily of strawberry room "freshener" but couldn't open the bathroom window because the screen was ripped.

Positives:
* Owner was friendly

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olive_Twist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinebeckMotel, Owner at Rhinebeck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2016

Hi Olive,
What a bad experience! I'm so sorry you had to deal with all of it. My husband and I purchased the Rhinebeck Motel in December, 2014, closed it down for extensive renovations in January, 2015 and will reopen in May, 2016. It has been quite a journey, and when we reopen the whole place will be shiny and new. All the furniture, beds, fixtures, flooring, walls, appliances -- everything -- will be new. Please stop by for a tour the next time you are in Rhinebeck. I'm sure you will not recognize the place.
Thanks,
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

Here's a list of the negatives
1) Dirty bed (sheets were clean, but stained)
2) Dirty floor
3) No soap in bathroon
4) Water smelled terrible
5) Location was too far outside of the city
Here's a list of the positives
1) Owner was friendly

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chitown879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinebeckMotel, Owner at Rhinebeck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2016

Hi Chitown,
Unfortunately, your review is typical and it WAS accurate. Fortunately, it is no longer accurate. My husband and I purchased the Rhinebeck Motel in December, 2014. We closed it down for extensive renovations in January, 2015 and we will open in May, 2016. Everything is new and clean -- new beds, new furniture, new appliances, new showers, sinks and toilets -- all new. The place looks great and we are looking forward to hosting our guests. Please stop by for a tour the next time your are in Rhinebeck. I'm sure you will find the place most welcoming and will hopefully be a guest again some day.
Thanks,
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This motel has seen better days; sadly in need of some maintenance and upgrades. We were given a cot for our room, which had springs sticking up through the top! There was dust caked on the radiators, and the room smelled of mold and mildew. Peeling paper on the walls in the bathroom, and broken screens on the windows. I didn't complain directly to the management; I'll just never stay there again. They know what condition their rooms are in, and they should have been ashamed to provide a cot in that condition to any guest.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Star0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinebeckMotel, Owner at Rhinebeck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2016

Hi Star,
You are SO right -- or I should say you WERE so right! In December, 2014 my husband and I purchased the Rhinebeck Motel. We closed it down in January, 2015 and it has been undergoing extensive renovations since that time. We re-open in May, 2016 and it will be clean, new and charming! You were spot on when you said it was in need of maintenance and upgrades -- that's exactly what we have done. I invite you to stop by for a tour the next time you are in Rhinebeck. I'm sure you will be happy with what we've done.
Thanks,
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We were part of a touring group that stayed in May on a rainy night. The innkeepers were nice and made us fell very welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at the Rhinebeck Motel. It was 9 degree's outside. Our room had no heat or hot water. After sometime we were able to get in touch with someone who told us the furnace was broken, she changed our room and said this room should have no problems. Our "new" room also had no hot water and although the base board heater made horrific loud noises all night long there was little to no heat. We attempted to contact someone at the front desk and there was no avail for the rest of the evening. The room happened to be next to a room that had a mother and two young children living there! The children were loud and crying at very early hours of the morning. I can only imagine that the children were cold, as we were. The blankets on the bed were paper thin, summer blankets. All this made for a very uncomfortable experience. We paid to have a nights sleep, hot shower and heat, very basic necessities. We received none of these things. In the morning we attempted to talk with the manager of the property. He did not want to talk with us and proceeded to yell at us and tell us he "did not care, it was our problem". We were only asking for half our money back since we managed on spending the night there we felt it only fair that they give us half for not providing the services we paid for. The manager would here nothing of it and refused to let us speak with the owner, whom the manager stated was a lawyer and he would be glad to see us in court over the matter! I as well as boy boyfriend have a very unethical taste in our mouths. We feel poorly treated and we paid for services we did not receive. Now we feel as if we deserve a full refund. All be it money will not solve the lack of caring and respect we received at the Rhinebeck Motel. The parking lot was also full of ice and near the entrance of the rooms there was ice and it could be of danger to someone not so careful. I would never recommend this place to any body and will make an effort to let people know to stay clear of the Rhinebeck Motel. We did report them to the Rhinebeck Chamber of Commerce and the New York BBB!

40  Thank pueho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinebeckMotel, Owner at Rhinebeck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2016

Hi Pueho,
Unfortunately, your experience was not unusual, but I am sorry you had to go through that unpleasant night. My husband and I purchased the Rhinebeck Motel in December, 2014, closed it for extensive renovations in January, 2015 and will open in May, 2016. We have cleaned it up, put in all new furniture, beds, air conditioning / heating units, TVs, microwaves, refrigerators -- all new and all clean. We want our guests to have a comfortable, safe and pleasant stay. I hope you get a chance to stop by and visit the motel if you are ever in Rhinebeck again. I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised.
Thanks,
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank roby1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhinebeckMotel, Owner at Rhinebeck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
913 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
9.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
12.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinebeck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinebeck Motel

Address: 6938 Route 9, Rhinebeck, NY 12572
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rhinebeck Motel is a newly renovated 8 room boutique motel. Re-opened in the spring of 2016 after 18 months of repairs and renovations, Rhinebeck Motel is clean and new. Situated half way between Rhinebeck and Red Hook, the Rhinebeck Motel is 2.5 miles from the center of each town. Conveniently located, the Rhinebeck Motel is close to Bard College, Omega Institute, the Rhinebeck Aerodrome and the Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Each room has a flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, and, of course, air conditioning. Breakfast is provided in each room and consists of coffee, tea, juice, milk, yoghurt, and cereal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing