We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for the history buff”

The Tavern at the Beekman Arms
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun for the history buff”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This bar is so full of history, and I'm a huge nerd for that, so I loved it. We grabbed ourselves a glass of wine (me) and a scotch (him) and wandered around the various rooms looking at all the great artifacts on the walls. Then we settled into some cozy chairs in front of the fireplace to chat. It was later in the evening so it was pretty quiet - a great respite from the whirlwind of family holiday gatherings.

It definitely doesn't have the polish that a lot of Rhinebeck establishments have now. Ceilngs are low, lights are dim, it has a bit of "grandma's parlor" vibe about it. But you can get a posh, modern-looking restaurant experience anywhere. This place feels like it's been around since the 1700s, which, of course, it has. George Washington and Alexander Hamilton both slept in the Inn (meaning they probably ate in the tavern - cool! I couldn't help but wonder where they sat).

I can't speak to the food, since we went after a big family dinner, but it's a nice mellow place to get away and have a drink and a trip through history.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank katiegumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    132
    48
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved this old tavern--great food and service. Inside very old like Williamsburg taverns. Reported to be the US's oldest Inn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank embeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Looked so quaint and beautiful on the outside, combined with a sign that claims it's the oldest tavern made it seem like a good choice. We were seated right away which was a good thing but the fact that it wasn't so busy should have been a flag. the hostess comes over tosses the menus on the table and walks away,no eye contact, no welcome to the restaurant, just tosses the menu on her way to wherever else she needed to be . I ordered filet mignon and my husband ordered flank steak. I ordered my steak medium rare and got it medium well. It was so dry I couldnt even finish it. Was not a great experience. I will say that the waitress was sweet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcstorm555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not This Time”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

While I have had good meals at this restaurant, this time my meal was poor. My wife's meal was fine. We ate outside and the service was not stellar.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level Contributor
596 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Average Service, Slow on Meals, High on Price”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The "Oldest Inn in America". This restaurant was highly recommended by friends. Scenic and historic inside. We went for lunch. Service was just ok-waitress forgot to tell us specials, took a very long time to bring food. When our bill arrived it included a glass of wine we did not drink-some excuse about someone else added that to our bill. Was expensive for lunch. Hostess was not particularly friendly when we arrived or departed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern at the Beekman Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern at the Beekman Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing