We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A national landmark with wonderful service”

The Tavern at the Beekman Arms
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A national landmark with wonderful service”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Recently had luch at the Beekman Arms and it was well prepared and beatifully served. Everything was dones well (service, presentation, food preparation, etc.). Was a perfect day on a beautiful day in the Summertime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    132
    49
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Historic setting, tasty dinner”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We had the opportunity to visit the Tavern for dinner after along day at the Dutchess County Fair. Arriving at the Tavern, the first thing you notice is that the heavy handmade front door does not have a lock. It turns out that they never close so they don't need one. We arrived without reservations, but were seated promptly. We were offered a variety of seating locations, including the library, the tavern area and the sun porch. We elected for the sun porch so that we could enjoy the lovely view of Rhinebeck. Our server, Collin, was prompt, efficient and friendly. We had a variety of entrees including the crabcake pub burger, pasta primavera and a pot pie, as well as a steamed mussels appetizer. Beer on tap included a variety of local selections which was greatly appreciated. No ones glass was ever allowed to empty and we never wanted for anything during our meal (kudos to Collin). When it came time for dessert, we were equally pleased with our choices. The Tavern is very (really) old and we were encouraged to wander about and explore. If you enjoy history, this is certainly a place you do not want to miss. The Tavern seating area had a somewhat low ceiling and looks like a place we will be exploring the next time we have the opportunity to dine there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant dinner”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed steak dinners. Her bone-in sirloin was tasty, as was my filet. Service was fine, but a bit slow, given that we had informed the staff that we had an event to attend. Overall, I would recommend the Beekman Arms for dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyperinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Short ribs I would fly across the country for!!,”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a GREAT place!!! Here is the oldest Inn in America right there in Rhinebeck, NY. We visited the Inn the night before and saw how warmly we were greeted for just a look see. So..after a long day at Rockefeller Estate, we drove back there for dinner. Again what a warm welcome...and a fabulous dinner. Do not miss the opportunity to have the BEST short ribs ever!!! Ok my sister says...pot pie...good but she had a taste of mine and agrees. Excellent service also. Was fun to be in a place that was opened in 1677! Incredible. Please don't miss this if you are any where within 50 miles!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Average food in a pleasant setting on the historic Main Street in Rhinebeck. Salmon with lentils and kale was very good. Salad lacked advertised green beans and was exceedingly uninspired. Several desserts were unavailable but my wife liked her apple crisp

Helpful?
1 Thank ElliotinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern at the Beekman Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern at the Beekman Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing