We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, but room location means a lot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2007

I've stayed at the Beekman Arms 2x's and had very different experiences during each visit.

First was when my sister was moving into her dorm at the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park - unfamiliar with the area, I relied on the Internet to locate a hotel and this inn was the only place I could find with a vacancy. On first glance, I was enraptured with the authentic colonial look & feel of the main building - the rustic, beamed lobby with its huge fireplace was welcoming on that cold January afternoon! We were shown to our room on the 2nd floor and while it was a bit shabby and dark, it was very clean and large, and the "Americana" theme somehow felt appropriate. All was fine until we were ready to sleep - our room was directly above the lobby and we heard every word and peal of laughter from the skiers who frequent the place and party in the lobby (directly off the bar area) until the early morning hours. Sometime after 2:30am, they dispersed and we were able to sleep - until 6:30am, when the lobby filled up again for the complimentary coffee! The lack of sleep, followed by moving my sister into her dorm and the 3-hour drive back home, made for the longest day of my life.

My second stay took place in November, when my sister graduated, and it was spectacular. It was just before Thanksgiving and well into the evening when we pulled into town, and seeing the entire village twinkling in the tiny white lights strung from every tree & building on the main road gave the place a feeling of serenity and peace, especialy since an unexpected wet snow was falling & clinging to the branches. We stayed in one of the newer courtyard building and the room was heavenly - large & pretty, with 2 very comfortable canopied queen beds, a lovely sitting area with complimentary sherry on the table & a working fireplace with actual logs, something you rarely find these days in inns. It was so cozy to sit before the fire with a glass of sherry, watching the snow fall outside the large bay window... We're planning a trip to the Boston/Salem area in the fall and we'll definitely choose the Beekman Arms as a 1/2 way point.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2007

On a whim we decided to drive upstate with absolutely no hotel reservations or even a city we wanted to stay in, in mind. The only thing we were going on, was that we wanted to eat dinner at Terrapin, a nouveau american restaurant in Rhinebeck. When we arrived in Rhinebeck we saw the Beekman Arms located centrally in the downtown area. After a few minutes of driving around to see if there were any other hotels in the area, we called Beekman Arms and luckily for us, they had a room available for an affordable price. We were given a room in the Gables building located in the Delameter Inn property. As an fyi, the Beekman Arms owns much of the property in the downtown area. We were given our keys and then sent three blocks down where we would be staying. The room was charming enough, with a four poster bed, a sitting area and a large enough bathroom. The "Gables" housed five rooms within the building. On the ground floor there was a sitting room and a sun room which anyone could use. Our room was located upstairs on the second floor. The strangest aspect of the room was the decanter about a quarter full of brandy along with two glasses, something we've never seen before. We took a sip, not exactly sure what year it's from, but the sip was all we needed (it wasn't exactly top shelf), nor did we know how long it had been there. The room as I said was charming, complete with sloping floors, but we didn't have a marble to test this theory. Our stay there was quiet and was just what we were looking for, given we were looking for a place close to Terrapin, which was a delicious dinner and was located right across the street. If you're in search for an affordable, yet comfortable night away, the Beekman Arms is a good choice.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank bongo1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Rhinebeck I'm sure is a lovely town and when I was surprised with a trip to a bed and breakfast I felt for sure I was in for some charm away from the hustle and bustle. And while the people were friendly and the room was spacious, there was little charm and the dry heat created havoc with my nasal passages. Pleasantly there was cable television in the room and the room was warm though we were promised a fireplace and none was available(!) Overall I thought the property was just ok and the breakfast was more than adequate (large selections of cereal, fruit, pastries.) I suggest saving a trip to Rhinebeck until the spring and fall but definitely visit the CIA!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank lilstar212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

On October 15 and 16, 2006 I stayed at the Beekman Arms in Rhinebeck, NY. My room was in the Carriage House, which is down the block from the main building that contains the Traphagen restaurant. The Beekman Arms is conveniently located on the main street of Rhinebeck, within easy walking distance of the town’s many shops and restaurants. The room rate was $150 a night.
The Carriage House is set back from the road, so it’s very quiet. Across the way is a building where breakfast is served and guests check out. Breakfast included coffee, tea, juice, muffins, cereal, etc.
My Carriage House room was spacious. A split-level room, the lower portion contained a chair, couch and television. The upper level, separated by a railing, had king-size bed, chair and desk. The bathroom was behind the bedroom area. The sink was in a small hallway area with a bureau, rack to hang your clothes, full-length mirror and mini-refrigerator. The light in the bathroom got gradually brighter, so that if one needed to get up in the middle of the night, one wouldn’t be blinded by the light.
Rhinebeck is a nice place to visit for a long weekend, particularly in the Fall. I visited the Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome to see its last air show of the season and took the open cockpit bi-plane ride ($50) and the view of the trees with their autumn colors was breathtaking. Also nice was the tour of Wilderstein, a Victorian house owned by the Suckley family. The views from the backyard are beautiful in the Fall.
Hyde Park is a short ride from Rhinebeck. Highly recommended is a visit to the Culinary Institute of America—not just to eat at one of the school’s five restaurants but also to take in the spectacular views. The views alone are worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Booked an upstairs room at the Stone House, one of the Delemanter outbuildings a couple of blocks away from the old main house. Lovely suite at a nice price, hospitable staff. Only drawback was the restaurant reservations person, who was oddly surly; we wound up dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank needtheeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

After staying in a hotel from hell in New York City, our room at the Delamater Inn was a breath of fresh air. We were originally shown a beautiful nicely appointed room at the Beekman Arms, but it was downstairs and on the street and we wanted a little more isolation. The hostess graciously offered to let us see a suite at the Delamater Inn in the Germond building and we chose to stay there. It was cheaper too. Although the hallway leading to the room could have used some vacuuming, the room itself was clean and had all the amenities we could ask for and it was nice and quiet. The staff was very accommodating whenever we needed anything (safe deposit box, etc.) and we'd highly recommend staying here.

The only negative was the nondescript continental breakfast. For dinners we enjoyed Gigi's and Foster's Tavern. We loved the town of Rhinebeck and the surrounding area. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Beekman Arms hotel on the night of Oct.18th, 2006. The overall property and expericence was great and I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the Rhinebeck area. That notwithstanding, upon check in, the lady behind the counter lacked friendliness and courtesy. When my girlfriend booked the reservation a few weeks earlier, she was informed by the reservationist that the only availablitlity in the original Beekman Arms building (which is where we wanted to stay due to it's history) was a room with two full beds, but upon arrival we were given two twin beds. We returned to the front desk and the girl did offer us a room in another building at the Delamater Inn with one queen but had nothing in the original building. She eventual gave us the room in the other building and gave us a small discount but the point is she was not very accomodating in her approach to the issue. She did at one point state that the reservationist knows that there are only rooms with two twin beds and would not have told us two full size, which made us feel uncomfortable as if we were lying. Not a great customer service approach The breakfast offered with the room was quite good and a good way to get the day started.
Again, we fully recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and we will return as well (hopefully with different staff)

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dsyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
62 reviews
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
290 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Quality Inn Hyde Park
#2 of 4 in Hyde Park
331 reviews
5.6 mi away
Schwartz's Inn
Schwartz's Inn
#7 of 8 in Kingston
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn

Address: 6387 Mill St, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-1401
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range: £99 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weary visitors have been staying at the Beekman Arms since 1766. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beekman Arms And Delamater Hotel Rhinebeck
Beekman Arms Rhinebeck
Beekman Arms Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing