We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WhistleWood Farm is one of the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed at!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I am so glad to have found the WistleWood Farm. I travel quite a bit for work, and it is not often I stumble across a place that left me feeling uncomfortable leaving the bed unmade in the morning. Beautiful setting, nice clean rooms, strong coffee and breakfast in the morning. Next time I am in Rhinebeck, NY for business...there is no other place I will stay! Barbara thank you for making me feel so welcome and at home!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkingWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2009

We stayed at Whistlewood Farm B&B to get away for a few days. We had heard that Rhinebeck was a cool town. Maggie's warm welcome started us off just right. She recommended great restaurants and great day trips. The B&B has so much character and we felt relaxed, well fed, at ease with nature as we played with her dogs, horses, and walked the farm's own hiking trail. Breakfasts were plentiful, delicious, and Maggie took great care to attend to some dietary needs of mine. She takes great pride in her home and welcomed our exploration of the other rooms and cottages which we hope to share with friends and with each other again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandMvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

I agree with all the other reviewers who enjoyed WhistleWood Farm. It was roomy yet cozy with all the comforts of home. The setting is fantastic, just enough away from town for lots of quiet but less than 5 minutes drive from Rhinebeck's shops and restaurants. There are horses, dogs, and cats on the property, and the breakfasts were fresh and delicious (great baked goods!), making me feel like I was truly staying on the farm. That's a farm with all the comforts and modern conveniences of home. My only concern is that it will get so busy that there won't be a room available the next time I want to go!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

My husband and I returned to Whistlewood Farm B&B in Rhinebeck, NY for our third visit in as many years. It is our favorite B&B in the New York. We live in NYC and what we want when we go to the country is beauty and serenity when we're at our lodging and lots of varied cultural and outdoor activities when we go off exploring. This beautiful horse farm offers us exactly that, in an area that has innumerable things to do. It's located in the historic Hudson Valley with the majestic river itself just a few miles away and with historic homes and museums and art galleries galore to discover. My husband and I arrived around tea time last Saturday and immediately enjoyed homemade blueberry pie and spice cake. There was also fruiit and, of course, various teas. We sat down to read in front of the massive stone fireplace. Our innkeeper promplty lit the fire and even kept it going for us until we came back from dinner at a Rhinebeck bistro and were able to ensconse ourselves before it once more. We awakened to the beautiful sight of horses in their paddock and the smells of sausage, eggs, pancakes and other delectables for breakfast. The hospitality is delightful, the scene irresistable and the price reasonable in these difficult economic times. We look forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OntheroadagainNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

My husband and I were looking for a romantic affordable getaway not too far from the City and absolutely found it at Whistlewood Farms. The property was beautiful, the accomodations equally so, and Maggie was wonderful. We particularly enjoyed eating the gigantic breakfasts that Maggie prepared each morning while chatting with Maggie and her friendly and interesting neighbors that dropped by. The breakfasts kept us full through dinner time, but if we felt like snacking, there were always fantastic homemade pies and cakes available for the taking. We particularly recommend staying on a weeknight if you can make it --- our first night Thursday we had the run of the place, and sat alone by the crackling fire, drinking wine and congratulating ourselves on finding such a gem of a place. Rhinebeck is also a great small town with great restaurants (Maggie has all the menus and great recommendations to boot) and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrspants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We generally agree with most of the positive comments already expressed so instead of reiterating them, it would be more useful to see some of the 'areas of improvement' comments. By the way, I can't believe after reviewing most of the reviews that we didn't come across the following:

- the Wyoming room does not have a TV - since it is the high-end room, you would expect that amenity - you can play CD/DVDs
- the bed squeeks even when you are laying there and just laughing (so, not recommended for honeymooners or 'active' couples)
- the bathroom door is glass (no curtains or blinds) - inside there is a vanity mirror and mirrored closet doors. don't expect privacy when using either the shower or the toilet. you will not see this 'feature' in any of the website pictures (somewhat deceptive but easily fixable)
- no credit cards are accepted yet there is both an 8.125% NYS sales tax along with 4% Dutchess County tax that you are hit with. most business or services that offer a 'cash' type of payment usually do it to provide you with a break on the taxes or overall costs - other b&b that we have stayed at do just that otherwise, provide the convenience of using a credit card please.

All of the above are easily fixable but may be important points to consider or ask about if staying at WW :-)

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYBUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

went with three couples for three nights over new years. accomodations superior. warm cozy atmosphere. hostesses maggie and barbara treated us like family. breakfasts were delicious. stayed there once before about five years ago and had same experience. inn is a real winner in a fascinating area. warren and andy -- short hills nj

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank erzvilkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
3 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
20 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
21.3 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
8 mi away
A Kingston Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 52 Pells Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range: £112 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WhistleWood Farm is located on a hilltop, in Rhinebeck, less than two hours north of Manhattan in New York's historic Hudson Valley. Open decks, outdoor fire pit, pastoral views, wildflower gardens, the starry night sky form a setting for solitude or lively conversations. Pull up a chair on the deck or a porch to enjoy the views, or settle on a cozy fireside sofa with a good book. Explore the nature trails to the pond, the woods, the scenery, visit the retired horses, the donkeys, the Dexter cows and calves, feed our chickens for the freshest eggs or just... Relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistlewood Farm b&b
Whistlewood Farm Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing