We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good food, decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pete's Famous Restaurant

Pete's Famous Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
156 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We walked in and stood by the door while waiting to be acknowledged by someone who told us we could have a seat in an open booth. It took about 7 minutes for our waitress to drop off menus and ask us if we wanted a drink. We weren't in a rush though, so weren't bothered by it. After we ordered, our food came out pretty quickly and the pancakes were delicious (I'm a pancake snob - very picky). We both had home fries which were good, but could have had more seasoning. My boyfriend had eggs with bacon and the bacon was terrible. It tasted like it had been cooked days before, and was cold and flavorless. Basically, cardboard.

A friendly woman went around with coffee a few times keeping cups filled. We sat for about ten minutes after eating and waited for our check, but decided to get up and pay at the register. We would definitely return for the food if we were ever in the area, just wouldn't order bacon. We overall enjoyed the atmosphere and food at the diner, just seemed to have a waitress who was more interested in her regular tables than us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCW627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Old school, old prices and big portions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We generally have the turkey bacon club for lunch and end up taking home half for dinner. Too big to eat. Their breakfasts are great. Especially the French toast!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boxter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Average Diner Food with Locals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Listed as one of the last expensive places in Rhinebeck, we chose Pete's Famous restaurant the afternoon of Saturday, Feb 22. I enjoyed the chicken gyro & he had the burger. Eveready is much better, but this is a cute place in town with excellent service. Recommended for simple diner fare.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexford, New York
1 review
“Best Service, Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Our waitress was attentive, polite, fun, and took great care of us. Three of us were there for lunch. The food that was good was really excellent! From the tasty chicken soup to the best moussaka I've had in ages some parts of the meal were spectacular. The dolma tasted like my mothers and they made it there. The food that wasn't good (my spanikopita was overcooked and dry and should not have been plated) was not edible. The reason I still gave this restaurant a very good rating is that even without the spanikopita I had more than enough to eat and the waitress offered to replace the spanikopita with more moussaka to make good and she apologized instead of just ignoring the issue. We'll go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not fancy - just good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We met for dinner here one night during a recent trip. We all had burgers and enjoyed them very much. They were just the right size, juicy, and cooked well. The server was attentive and kept my water glass filled which was a challenge since I was quite thirsty.

I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pete's Famous Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Famous Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing