We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful NYC getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rhinecliff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinecliff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rhinecliff
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful NYC getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my first experience at The Rhinecliff. I wanted to get away from the city and stumbled upon this hotel doing some research on train hotels. Amtrak takes just over an hour and half from Penn Station and the local station is, literally, about a minute away from the hotel. The hotel itself is lovely - spacious rooms and bathrooms (our suite had a jacuzzi tub and a rainfall shower), a beautiful view of the Hudson, a sense of humor about itself and the trains that amble by throughout the day, and you're 5 minutes away (and an $8 cab) from Rhinebeck if you want to go out. The staff was kind, generous, and responsive. But also light touch - exactly what I was looking for. I will definitely look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Snag a premiere suite for a jacuzzi tub and a rainfall shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stmintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to be so nice to us! No but seriously, it was great having you with us, please do come back when you can get away again.....James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    56
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
136
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We took a midweek escape and reserved the third floor suite. It did not disappoint. With two balconies, the river / mountain views are sweeping and dramatic. Due to midweek and midwinter, the main restaurant was closed so we opted to stay in and hang out by the fire in the pub. Meat, cheese, olive platter was wonderful as are their drinks. Again, no words to describe the magnificent view. Breakfast is included and you get to order from the main menu. Delicious french press coffee is such a treat. We always wonder why the amazing restaurants and hotels we visit rarely serve good coffee. Even though The Rhinecliff is owned by Englishmen, (and as you'd expect there's a healthy offering of top notch tea) they have successfully scored with their java and french press system. Our only drawback is the train. The last rumble and horn was around 1AM and then began in earnest again around 5AM. Since this venue hovers just above the tracks and next to the station, we can't imagine light sleepers coming here for R & R. There were earplugs next to the bed and they are upfront about the trains, but one can't really begin to understand the impact until you're awakened over and over again. I wish there were a fix for this because everything else was such a pleasure!

Room Tip: Spring for the third floor suite on the south side, it's well worth it. Large jetted tub, comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cschaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we're so glad you had a good time! Mind you, it's kind of hard NOT to have a good time in the suite so we're glad you made the most of things!
Ahh the trains, the trains, yes of course, we are indeed a railway hotel, built by the train station in 1854, to serve the train station, so they're definitely part of the scenery! The great rail barons laid the train track in the Hudson Valley right on the water's edge, all the way up, so if you want the beauty of the Hudson Valley, you're going to get the trains it's true! Thankfully we've learned to warn everyone several times in advance so there are hopefully no misunderstandings, in fact our city dwelling guests often complain that the trains are nothing, we should add some police and fire truck sirens so they really felt at home...all aboard!!
Thank you for taking the time to write! James x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our first experience with the Rhinecliff was their Sunday Jazz brunch. We then decided to get married there. The hotel rooms are lovely. All with jacuzzi tubs. Some with terraces overlooking the Hudson River. If you want a romantic night, try the honeymoon suite. All of our guests who stayed there were impressed.

The tavern serves three meals a day, in a very cozy atmosphere. There is music most weekend nights.

The hotel is close to Rhinebeck, NY which is a great little town to spend the day in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aww, thank you for your kind words, welcome to The Rhinecliff family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for a night in mid-December for a pre-holiday getaway. It was just what we needed! We arrived around 3 pm and found the room ready, with classical music playing on the direct tv. The view of the Hudson River, Kingston Lighthouse, and Catskills beyond was just beautiful, and the sunset was perfect. The room had so many extras you don't get at a normal hotel-dimming lights, whirlpool tub, rainshower-it just set the perfect mood for a relaxing and romantic getaway. The décor was minimalistic but perfect, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We heard the trains, but it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was amazing. The proximity to the village of Rhinebeck was great-we had a wonderful dinner, some shopping, and then just relaxing time at the Rhinecliff. A wonderful experience, and we hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and our little touches, do come and see us again!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This place is a gem. Just the right ambience......lovely and not pretentious. The trains are NOT a problem. Friendly staff and breakfast is included. Bar closes at ten but China Rose across the street is open. Perfect for our anniversary overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Mum,
Thank you very much but you know you're not supposed to do this...! Sorry.... just kidding! Annemarie, thank you so much for your kind words, we love it when out guests have a good time with us, thank you again and Happy Anniversary!
Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This past weekend I threw a 34th anniversary party for my parents and combined it with my dad's 55 birthday and my husband and my 1st anniversary (which was at the Rhinecliff.) First of all...the Rhinecliff staff could not have been any more helpful in the planning process for the party and on the day of. While setting up all of the decorations, the staff was more than accommodating in helping! The night went off without a single issue. The staff was incredible to our guests all night...who by the way still have not stopped raving about the food. I highly suggest throwing an event at the Rhinecliff..it is WELL worth it. THANK YOU RHINECLIFF!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Emily and Steve,
Thank you so much for taking the time to be so nice to us, you know we love you dearly and it was great to have your wonderful families back celebrating with us again, you know you rocked The Rhinecliff at your wedding and did nothing less on your anniversary/birthday triple play! Our fearless Maitre D' Amy has said it was so great to see you that she would love to come round to your house and clean up anytime you have a big party......ha!
See you soon and Happy Holidays!
James
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Rhinecliff Hotel is an excellent bed and breakfast hotel on the Hudson River. Our only disappointment was that their restaurant was not open for dinner, but there was an excellent Chinese restaurant across the street. In all their literature, advertisement, correspondence, as well as signing in two places on your hotel contract, they tell you there are trains. The hotel sits on the Hudson River with train tracks and train station between. We loved it. The trains run all day and night, and blow the horn when leaving the station.

The room was comfortable with a giant bathtub and jacuzzi. Boy was that relaxing. The shower was placed in the ceiling, and you did have to turn it off to soap-up. Different, but that is what I am looking for. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pictures below show the view from just inside our room, with a train going by. The structure to the right is a walkway from the hotel parking over the tracks to a boating dock and little park. We took a ride on the Hudson which went by the hotel for the photograph. If you like trains, a beautiful setting, and something different, the Rhinecliff Hotel is the place.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scheinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear S,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we certainly do embrace our trains and it's a joy when our guests embrace them equally, thank you for being good enough to take the time to tell the world.....all aboard!!
Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinecliff
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
10.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
18.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhinecliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhinecliff

Property: The Rhinecliff
Address: 4 Grinnell Street, PO Box 292, Rhinecliff, NY 12574
Region: United States > New York > Rhinecliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-birthed after a painstaking five-year renovation, The Rhinecliff is a boutique country hotel, nestled on the banks of the mighty Hudson River and enjoys unparalleled river and mountain views. Featuring beautiful antique floors and woodwork, and world-class cuisine, The Rhinecliff (National Register of Historic Places) is two minutes drive from Rhinebeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rhinecliff Hotel Rhinecliff
The Hotel Rhinecliff
The Rhinecliff New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing