We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rhinecliff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinecliff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rhinecliff
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Rhinecliff in January during a very cold and snowy weekend. We were delayed getting out of the city by about 5 hours. So you can imagine how sluggish and "annoyed" we were by the time we finally arrived. (In all fairness, there was a fire on the track leaving the station and it was absolutely NOT Amtrak's fault that we were soooo delayed, but still, we were not in the best mood by the time we got to the hotel).
Upon check in, the receptionist was so sweet that she said even though the wine tasting ended a few hours ago, they would give it to us anyway as they realized how much we needed alcohol to feel better.
The rooms were great and spacious. With the snow falling down outside, we were semi-trapped at the hotel the entire weekend but it was probably the most romantic time we spent together. It was so exquisite to see snow falling, the Hudson River freezing over, and grabbing some wine with the best bartender - Jay - around.
We left feeling rejuvenated and refreshed. We have been recommending this place to anyone who will listen and it's taken me too long to finally write this review.
What a great escape from NYC.

Room Tip: Any and all rooms are great. If you are a light sleeper or have an acute hearing, be mindful that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sb_loves_mazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so so much for your lovely words, we are blessed with many wonderful, personable and happy employees, it's great when they are appreciated so!
Please don't apologize for taking a while to write, it's taken me a while to write back! But anyway, thank you again, come and see us again, perhaps without the three feet of snow next time!!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    56
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
136
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My boyfriend and I went to the Rhinecliff for a romantic getaway. We took the third floor suite, an incredible room with a massive patio/balcony overlooking the Hudson, a corner spa and all the amenities one would expect. The hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, advising us on all sorts of things, and the included breakfast was delicious. The town itself is tiny, but an $8 cab ride was all it took to get to Rhinebeck, which is much bigger. For us, who live in NYC and do not drive, this was a fantastic option. Two minutes from the Amtrak station, easy to get to and cheap to get around. Such an easy escape for anyone looking for a pause from the hectic speed of the city. The only downside was perhaps the room felt a bit dusty, but I think the age of the hotel, coupled with being right next to the train line (fine for us but maybe not for those who are easily disturbed by noise), this might be hard to avoid.

Room Tip: Just bite the bullet and pay the extra money for the third floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceg_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Mind you, when you pick the famous Room 304, the odds are in your favor for a truly super time indeed, just a few more degrees of temperature increase and you would have been able to enjoy the private outdoor deck too! It's very kind of you to take the time to make these comments for the benefit of others thinking of visiting, thank you and come and see us again soon! James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

While the hotel is a beautiful property and its staff is friendly, pleasant and accommodating, it's not enough to make me want to go back. Cleanliness is a bit of an issue. The floors and surface areas in Room 201 were dusty. The cushions on the pull out bed were stained and the fabric was torn in several places. I put the extra blanket on the sofa. The blanket was also stained and there were dust and hairballs stuck to it. The old wooden door to the suite has a large gap making it possible to look into the room - giving a nice view of the bed. The walls are thin. We could hear other guests sneezing, coughing (you get the idea) at all times of the day and night. On a positive note, we booked our stay through Group. I would have been sorely disappointed and a bit angry if I had paid full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Well I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have! We looked into your comments right away and we found Room 201 to be pristine and clean as we would usually expect it to be, so I can only apologize profusely for any lapses you discovered, sometimes in the winter a room may not be used for a few days so I can only apologize again. We do take any negative feedback very seriously indeed and do thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know. The antique wooden doors which were painstakingly re-finished by hand are indeed very fragile and do develop cracks which are a continuous work to repair, we will work harder to keep them nicely filled! Generally there are compromises to be made when saving the historic nature of an old building between authenticity and functionality, sometimes indeed there are some weaknesses eg in soundproofing but we like to hope that ultimately the historic beauty of our property ultimately trumps these weaknesses. Thank you again for taking the time to write and we wish you well! Kindest regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my first experience at The Rhinecliff. I wanted to get away from the city and stumbled upon this hotel doing some research on train hotels. Amtrak takes just over an hour and half from Penn Station and the local station is, literally, about a minute away from the hotel. The hotel itself is lovely - spacious rooms and bathrooms (our suite had a jacuzzi tub and a rainfall shower), a beautiful view of the Hudson, a sense of humor about itself and the trains that amble by throughout the day, and you're 5 minutes away (and an $8 cab) from Rhinebeck if you want to go out. The staff was kind, generous, and responsive. But also light touch - exactly what I was looking for. I will definitely look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Snag a premiere suite for a jacuzzi tub and a rainfall shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stmintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to be so nice to us! No but seriously, it was great having you with us, please do come back when you can get away again.....James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We took a midweek escape and reserved the third floor suite. It did not disappoint. With two balconies, the river / mountain views are sweeping and dramatic. Due to midweek and midwinter, the main restaurant was closed so we opted to stay in and hang out by the fire in the pub. Meat, cheese, olive platter was wonderful as are their drinks. Again, no words to describe the magnificent view. Breakfast is included and you get to order from the main menu. Delicious french press coffee is such a treat. We always wonder why the amazing restaurants and hotels we visit rarely serve good coffee. Even though The Rhinecliff is owned by Englishmen, (and as you'd expect there's a healthy offering of top notch tea) they have successfully scored with their java and french press system. Our only drawback is the train. The last rumble and horn was around 1AM and then began in earnest again around 5AM. Since this venue hovers just above the tracks and next to the station, we can't imagine light sleepers coming here for R & R. There were earplugs next to the bed and they are upfront about the trains, but one can't really begin to understand the impact until you're awakened over and over again. I wish there were a fix for this because everything else was such a pleasure!

Room Tip: Spring for the third floor suite on the south side, it's well worth it. Large jetted tub, comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cschaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we're so glad you had a good time! Mind you, it's kind of hard NOT to have a good time in the suite so we're glad you made the most of things!
Ahh the trains, the trains, yes of course, we are indeed a railway hotel, built by the train station in 1854, to serve the train station, so they're definitely part of the scenery! The great rail barons laid the train track in the Hudson Valley right on the water's edge, all the way up, so if you want the beauty of the Hudson Valley, you're going to get the trains it's true! Thankfully we've learned to warn everyone several times in advance so there are hopefully no misunderstandings, in fact our city dwelling guests often complain that the trains are nothing, we should add some police and fire truck sirens so they really felt at home...all aboard!!
Thank you for taking the time to write! James x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our first experience with the Rhinecliff was their Sunday Jazz brunch. We then decided to get married there. The hotel rooms are lovely. All with jacuzzi tubs. Some with terraces overlooking the Hudson River. If you want a romantic night, try the honeymoon suite. All of our guests who stayed there were impressed.

The tavern serves three meals a day, in a very cozy atmosphere. There is music most weekend nights.

The hotel is close to Rhinebeck, NY which is a great little town to spend the day in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aww, thank you for your kind words, welcome to The Rhinecliff family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for a night in mid-December for a pre-holiday getaway. It was just what we needed! We arrived around 3 pm and found the room ready, with classical music playing on the direct tv. The view of the Hudson River, Kingston Lighthouse, and Catskills beyond was just beautiful, and the sunset was perfect. The room had so many extras you don't get at a normal hotel-dimming lights, whirlpool tub, rainshower-it just set the perfect mood for a relaxing and romantic getaway. The décor was minimalistic but perfect, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We heard the trains, but it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was amazing. The proximity to the village of Rhinebeck was great-we had a wonderful dinner, some shopping, and then just relaxing time at the Rhinecliff. A wonderful experience, and we hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and our little touches, do come and see us again!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinecliff
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
10.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
18.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
17.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhinecliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhinecliff

Property: The Rhinecliff
Address: 4 Grinnell Street, PO Box 292, Rhinecliff, NY 12574
Region: United States > New York > Rhinecliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-birthed after a painstaking five-year renovation, The Rhinecliff is a boutique country hotel, nestled on the banks of the mighty Hudson River and enjoys unparalleled river and mountain views. Featuring beautiful antique floors and woodwork, and world-class cuisine, The Rhinecliff (National Register of Historic Places) is two minutes drive from Rhinebeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rhinecliff Hotel Rhinecliff
The Hotel Rhinecliff
The Rhinecliff New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing