We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

The Rhinecliff Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rhinecliff
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant at The Rhinecliff is a casual, fun, high quality, unpretentious gastropub! We feature local, seasonal produce, cooked simply, properly and with guts! Through the warm season enjoy outdoor dining on our patio overlooking the river, in colder times enjoy our cozy indoor bar and restaurant with fireplace! We feature craft artisanal beers and local wineries, our by the glass wine selections are broad and our cocktails seasonal and fun! Breakfast every day, brunch on Sundays, full dinner every day!
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited the Rhinecliff yesterday for Easter Brunch. Staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, but were rather disorganized.We were unfortunately sat at a small low table directly in front of the speakers for the jazz musicians and with very little view of the water. I asked that we be moved but was told it was rather impossible (wedding last night and very crowded, so I guess we were sat at what was left. We waited and waited for the waiter that was supposed to start our brunch. We finally went and got someone ourselves. We were not offered tea or coffee, although these were supposed to come with the brunch and found out that a mimosa was extra (a normal part of a brunch.) Some of the food was quite good, but as a buffet layout, especially for the price, it was lacking - there were no carving stations (meats were pre-cut in warmers), no fruit or omelets, and the cold salmon, capers, and red onion had flat bread instead of bagels. Bill ended up being extraordinarily high and not equal to the food or our experience. This is unfortunate as hotel is lovely and staff did seem well meaning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lefluidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to report on your experience at our Easter brunch. We continually strive very hard to give our guests a truly super time, so of course feedback like this can be a little painful, but nonetheless is much needed and gratefully accepted, so thank you again. Easter is our first large in-house event of the season so some of our staff are inevitably on the newer side so I do apologize for any service lapses, we’re working hard on this! We did receive a flood of last minute reservations which we tried our best to accommodate but this did put unexpected additional pressure on us and at certain times yes, the buffet did endure quite a pounding! Given the increased numbers we chose to pre carve the meats only to speed things up so I’m sorry that the aesthetic was lost slightly there! We do know most of our guests had a great time, Elaine Rachlin serenaded us in classic style and the 6’ Easter Bunny also seemed to be rather well-received, well particularly by the kids at any rate! So I do apologize again for any lapses you suffered, I will be in touch separately and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Kindest regards. James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

They have this most incredible GLUTEN FREE brownie that is to die-for. DONT MISS OUT!! If you can, try and get it warmed up and with vanilla bean ice cream. Delish!

Thank sb_loves_mazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dearest Sb,

Just to give our gluten-free friends a delicious update, our wondrous gluten-free brownies, prepared by the magical Kelly of Savvy Girl Brownie Co, is now adding a Blondie to the mix which we shall be featuring the moment we get our hands on some....watch this space!!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had brunch at the Rhinecliff this week. It was outstanding. The service was very good, and the room is one of the most beautiful in the Hudson Valley. I'd come back here anytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

John thank you so much for your kind words, my Goodness, we didn't even pay you!!!
No but seriously, we've put a lot of effort in to making our Sunday Jazz Brunch a fine thing. Hopefully the mix of great live musicians, Tracie's Bloody Marys, the Sunday newspapers, a good Eggs Benedict and a big slice of mighty Hudson River is a winning combination!
So please do come and see us again, hopefully soon the snow will recede and the outdoor patio will be open, hurrah!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had my bridal shower at the rhinecliff in December of 2013. The space was beautiful and the food was great. More than I could have asked for. Our only complaint was Nicole. Leading up to the shower she would take weeks to respond to emails and phone calls. And then when she would respond it was never with the correct information. Which made us question if we had made the right decision in having the shower here. Luckily on the day of everything worked out well. Except Nicole never said a single word to anyone. Not a congratulations or asking how everything was. She was extremely rude, I could not image having a wedding here with how she treated us. If you are a bride looking to have your wedding here I would definitely think over hard and make sure your okay with little to no communication before your wedding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luvtoshkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

I'm so happy you enjoyed the shower! I was present on the day and remember looking in and it certainly seemed everyone was having a fine old time, so bravo!
I must confess, your comments on Nicole are a little puzzling, we discussed everything to do with the shower's organization and Nicole had a very steady e-mail exchange with Mom in regard to most of the arrangements so I can only apologize if you somehow formed this impression of Nicole, as it certainly bares no resemblance to the warm and fuzzy Nicole we know and love, who guides all our guests smoothly through their planning processes, and she's there to oversee too on the day (unlike many event "sales" people!), and always with a smile on her face!
But anyway, the main thing is you had a fine time, here's wishing you all the best going forward! James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We met family for brunch at this historic hotel set right on the Hudson River in Rhinecliff, NY. It offered a diverse brunch / lunch menu with delicious food. Unfortunately it was a cloudy, damp and rainy day so we could not fully appreciate the beautiful outdoor patio overlook the river. There was a live band playing music - a nice touch especially during the lunch / brunch serving period. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning to this unique and historic hotel restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSeils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rhinecliff Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Rhinecliff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing