We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd Place, Not at all safe for a team party”

Lake House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lake House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile.
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Odd Place, Not at all safe for a team party”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I were in the area for a baseball tournament in Cooperstown. Our team wanted a place to get the boys together and also a place for parents to relax for one night without having to drive to another ball game. We chose the Lake House. The owners were easy to work with and It was so close to the park. Not true.

We were given barbecued burgers and dogs with minimal fixings and sliced watermelon. There was also tap beer and wine for the adults and soda for the kids. For the price, over $16 per person (kids paid full price too) it was way too much!

The Lake House Restaurant is on a lake. True. There is a big lawn in the back. True. There is a stage that seems like it was put to use a while back, but the awnings are a mess and old. There are chairs randomly stacked on it, but it was not in use when we were there. There are docks and boats that seem like they were abandoned years ago. The docks were so unsafe and unstable that we were all holding our breath watching our children. One of the boys went right through a board on the dock! Thankfully, he was not hurt! There were beer cans in the water and it just seemed like a lake that has been forgotten, like the Lake House. There was a boat for the kids to use but here were no oars for it, just kayak padals. Life jackets were thankfully available but literally tossed around the lawn. There were chairs placed in circles around little fireplaces that they light at night. We never stayed long enough for them to do that though.

It's unfortunate that a place with so much potential has been left unattended for so long. This is NOT near the Cooperstown Dreams park and you will drive over a half hour to get to it. There are places much closer that are much nicer and probably less expensive. A lot of restaurants will accomodate baseball teams, just ask around when you are there. You'd be surprised how many offer their facilities.

As for the Lake House, I'm thankful that I will never have to return there again. In a word, "gross"!

Happy travels!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g9pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thanks for your comments and observations. They are appreciated. It is a great old building and we do like a mix of things and enjoy collecting lots of things. It is nice to own a big building and to be able to enjoy them. We appreciate your business. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    13
    11
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quirky But Great”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 7 with 3 generations there for dinner on a Monday night. My parents live in town and heard the new chef was excellent so we tried it out. We later learned he was off duty and the food was still great.

Our waiter (Robbie I believe) was very friendly and efficient. He was attentive and served us perfectly. There were times when I knew he was very busy but he didn't show it.

The kid's food was amazing. Huge quesadilla and an enormous plate of spaghetti and meatballs on a kids menu? Yep. They loved it. My niece spilled her iced tea ( of course it was full) and he was immediately at the table. Very understanding and helpful.

We ordered the chicken francaise, chicken Marsala, prime rib and a cod. The chicken dishes were everyone's favorite. The food was very flavorful and there was plenty to eat. The entrees come with a salad, bread and starch and vegetable.

The view was nice. It rained over the lake while we ate and watched the sun go down. Another table got wet due to a leak on the patio and I noticed the staff moving the party and provided them with a round of drinks. Very good hospitality.

Is this a new facility? No. It's old. It's dark. It's historic. It is filled with odds and ends. Tiffany lamps. A tiny one stall restroom. It's UNIQUE. This place has flavor and character, cats, friendly folks and great food!

Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Clean, friendly Restaurant the food was excellent and the service was wonderful. Thank yOu!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at the Lakehouse and just want to say the food was awesome..had surf and turf and also had the salmon food was hot and presented beautifully. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive to all our needs. Beautiful scenery. ..nice atmosphere. Our experience was delightful and delicious. The Chef Michael and the owners came to the table and talked and really cared. We would definitely go again. Thank you for a wonderful meal and nice friendly and beautiful atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herkimer, New York
1 review
“Love the new chef!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our group visits local restaurants for dinner once a month or so. We choose the Lake House because it is summer and it is on the lake. We had a great meal, the location was beautiful, the sunset so pretty and the new chef Michael came out to our table to talk to us. It was a great night out. Although there were tourists there, I saw some friends from Herkimer there, too. I think it is important for locals to support local business and not the chains.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not eat the food!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Food was cold, not as told by the waitress. Ordered the special of the day pan seared scallops, 5 scallops for $23.99, cold, not done, risotto was terrible. We ate inside, flies on our food. They also serve sulfur water, ICK ! Service was also not good. I remember in the '70's what a fabulousness place this was!!!! Now it's a dump!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thanks for your comments and observations. They are appreciated. It is a great old building and we do like a mix of things and enjoy collecting lots of things. It is nice to own a big building and to be able to enjoy them. We appreciate your business. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake House Restaurant also viewed

Richfield Springs, NY
Richfield Springs, NY
 

Been to Lake House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing