We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is good, well-prepared and affordable.”

Lake House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lake House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile.
Manlius, New York
2 reviews
“The food is good, well-prepared and affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ate both lunch and dinner there. Both were good and reasonably priced. The chef came outside to the deck and greeted us and other guests. My kids never had met a chef before and were thrilled to talk to Chef Michael.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rblaze2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Chef is generous with his time and his talents. I am glad your children had the opportunity to meet him. Thanks for dining with us and for your kind words. Hope you will dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    12
    10
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view of the lake is very relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had the Crabmeat Stuffed Haddock and it was delicious. The Seafood Chowder was excellent, also. We stayed at the Hotel and think it is great that the two places are connected. We got a discount on our meal too because we were guests at the hotel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank keri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Thanks for having dinner with us. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again soon.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate new york
Level Contributor
257 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Food, lacking ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This restaurant is in a lovely spot. The lake is so close, the views are wonderful. However, the ambiance INSIDE the restaurant is very lacking. The floors are wonderful old, wide plank...very rustic and lovely, but the rest of the "decor" leaves so much to be desired. With a little sprucing up, this place could be the place to be all the time.
The food is delicious. I highly recommend the calamari. It is perfectly fried in a light and tasty batter. The steaks are wonderful, as are the fresh salads and soups. I was a little put off with the salad dressing coming in a plastic cup (at least a glass dish would have been better for a $30/plate dinner). - oh, the blue cheese dressing is to DIE FOR!!!!
The desserts were a bit lackluster, but good.
Our server was very upbeat and positive, very attentive and extremely aware of what was going on. She made the visit!
The pricing is a bit on the high side but not outlandish. We had a coupon and thought we would try it again after about a 10-year absence. We are glad we did, and will probably go back.
All in all, it's a good place to have a good meal. There is minimal privacy in the restaurant (open tables and close settings) but the food is good and hearty and Chef Michael deserves a pat on the back for bringing the Lake House back to life!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Thanks for dining with us and for the detailed review of the restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions. We appreciate your business and hope you have been back to see us. Chef continues to create delicious options for a great meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield Springs, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“really a shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

the owners need to really get a grip on this place. It used to be such a gem decades ago. The staff is completely unprofessional, untrained, and the place is dirty. The food is overpriced and mediocre at best. I am so sad to see this place continuing to go down hill. Hire a real property and restaurant manager and let them save your business!!!!! PLEASE!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
I am sorry you did not enjoy your time here. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unfortunate Inconsistency”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

In May of 2014 we took a guest to this restaurant for a special birthday meal. The drive out on Route 20 from the Cazenovia area was lovely and on arrival we were ushered to a cozy dining area adjacent to the bar, where we ordered the special, which was roast chicken. The food was incredible--flavorful chicken, tender and moist, with wonderful sides. All at the table praised the dishes, and when I casually mentioned to the waiter that we had a birthday person present, he surprised us with a wonderful impromptu birthday dessert, complete with candle, and the wait staff actually came out and sang. It was a magical evening and we were delighted.

Thus it was with great sadness that we returned just months later to find everything flipped on its head. On a warm July afternoon we were seated on the back deck, which overlooks what was once a lovely lakeside lawn but which now is cluttered with a concert stage blocking the view of the lake. Making things worse was the loud, bass-heavy music coming from the huge concert speakers, something which became increasingly irritating when we found our food too unengaging to distract us. Clearly, the chef behind our wonderful spring meal was gone; in his place someone is slinging hash with no interest whatsoever in impressing anyone. The food was utterly pedestrian and the atmosphere irritating.

Our impression: this place banks on business from inebriated music fans rather than serious diners. I would not want to be anywhere near the Lake House during one of their shows--it must be Hell for those camping lakeside that hope for peace and quiet. We will give this place a very wide berth in the future, and leave it to the folks who are more interested in tunes and booze.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kinnakeeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thanks for your comments and observations. They are appreciated. It is a great old building and we do like a mix of things and enjoy collecting lots of things. It is nice to own a big building and to be able to enjoy them. We appreciate your business. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake House Restaurant also viewed

Richfield Springs, NY
Richfield Springs, NY
 

Been to Lake House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing