We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Come and ejoy the quieter side of life”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Richfield Springs, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robin S
2 reviews
“Come and ejoy the quieter side of life”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cozy cabin is a gem nestled in the lush-green countryside. So much more than pictures reveal - from the front porch where you can become lost in the serenity of a colorful sunset to the wonderfully done interior decorating that welcomes you to a temporary home. Start your day on the front porch surrounded by the tranquility and beautiful sights of nature while you enjoy English muffins and fruit provided by your gracious hosts. End your peaceful day sitting around the fire pit beneath a starry, moon-lit night. This is exactly what my mom and I did during a four-night stay. It was the perfect location for us as we wrapped up some loose ends for our family history research. We have been in the area -for family history research- three times before. Those times we stayed in a motel and ate out every day. A motel room is nowhere near as relaxing as a cabin. We also appreciated being able to cook our own meals and enjoyed use of the outdoor grill. The cabin is a very nice set-up, more spacious than I expected, and seemed to provide everything we needed - towels, linens, dishes, etc. Michelle and Wayne, thank you for opening your doors, and for all the special attention to the details.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Robin, thank you so much for the over whelming well written review. We work very hard to be sure our guest feel pampered from beginning to the end.
We do hope we can host for you another stay.
Best wishes to you and you Mom, Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyB721
Vestal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This cabin is so quaint and well appointed . Michelle and her husband are wonderful host they make sure you have a wonder stay from start to finish, they are very attentive to your needs. Both my husband and I enjoyed staying here it was nice to sit back and relax nothing but peace and quite. One day we watch the Amish with their buggy go down the road,and we took a walk down the safe and quite road . This place is well suited for couples looking to get away,and families will find that this cabin is a great place to regroup. I could keep going on and on about this wonderful cabin best advice is book you wont be disappointing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
Penny, thank you so much for your beautiful review. We started renting this cabin with the vision of people wanting to get away and leaving their hectic day to day life behind for that moment. To be stressful free, to breath,to take in moments we tend to forget we need,and to be welcomed like family. We feel that we have accomplished all these needs by beautiful people like you.
We do hope you join us again in the near future.
Our best to you,
Michele and Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Nancy and friends, we are pleased that your stay here at Dawgwood Cabins was a peaceful retreat. If your back in N.York again please look us up.
Have a beautiful fall season!
Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leshio
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the area!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our second visit to this cabin. We came here back in 2014 as well for a family reunion. All of the hotels in the area are very dated and do not feel clean. This cabin is very clean and decorated very nicely. It is perfect for a family of 4. Michele left fruit, english muffins, coffee and creamer amongst a lot of other small things that are very helpful. It is a beautiful area. My only complaint would be that the master bed is very hard and it is difficult to get a consistent water temperature in the shower. It seems to either be scorching or freezing, but maybe that was user error! We will definitely come back. Thanks for a great visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and updated decor.
Liked least: Hard bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Alica, We so appreciate you choosing Dawgwood again as your retreat for the family reunion. My most sincere apology for the master bed not truly fitting your needs for that perfect night sleep, as I work extremely hard to be sure my guests are most comfortable. I will put a thick Mattress pad on to be more suitable for your next visit. We look forward to hosting your stay next year!!!!!!

Fondly,
Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stvr5
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
“Amazing peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a very nice cabin, tastefully decorated with everything you need to enjoy your stay. We stayed here while our son was playing in Cooperstown and this was the perfect quiet place to relax. The 25 minute drive to the park was very nice past the lake and it was well worth it. Our girls loved the place and Michele and her family went out of their way to provide some extra fun. I would highly recommend this place to family and friends traveling in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Hi Lynn, Thank you so much for choosing Dawgwood Cabins as your retreat. Was sorry we missed your departure as scheduling did not permit. We would like to thank you for our hand painted Dori. We are going to leave her on display for the year to date of your stay so future guests may also enjoy. Your stay was ( our pleasure )!!!!!!

Have a fun filled and safe summer,
Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica I
1 review
“Super cozy cabin great for a winter getaway from the city”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My fiancé and two friends had a wonderful time staying at this lovely cabin. When we arrived, we were greeted by a fruit bowl, coffee, and fresh baked muffins. If that wasn't enough, the host also came over the next morning to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The cabin itself is super cute (photos don't do it justice). Unfortunately we stayed there during the coldest weekend of the winter it seems (-15 all weekend long). Fortunately for us, we had plenty to do inside this cabin and were happily surprised by the heated floors. Our pups enjoyed the stay as well. Would definitely come back here in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: heated floors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Good Morning Jessica, We are pleased that your stay here at the cabin was wonderful despite the cold. If you need another a weekend getaway, the summers here are beautiful. We have a gorgeous nature trail with water falls that all our guests pets enjoy.
We hope for your return in the future.
Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andika210
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cabin, good location, nice owner”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really enjoyed our mini vacation in Dawgwood Cabin upstate New York. The cabin is very clean, functional and well designed. It has everything you need in a very peaceful, quiet environment. We took long walks, hiked trails and visited Cooperstown and a few quaint little towns in the area. Roasting marshmallows in the fire pit at night was a lot of fun. The kennel for the dog is such a nice thing to have when you are traveling with dog(s). In addition to all this, Michele, our host went out of her way to make our stay even more enjoyable. She left muffins, bananas and even a huge pumpkin for us to carve or take since we stayed there in october. We will definitely go back and can only recommend it to anyone traveling the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very clean and functional
Liked least: we liked everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Andika, Thank you again for choosing Dawgwood cabins as your weekend getaway. I am so pleased that you had time to visit our local nature trail with it's waterfalls and caves. The trail is just a small piece of heaven in our back yard.
We hope you will be able to return for some of our winter beauty as well. If you snowmobile, snowshoe, or cross county ski, you park right here at the cabin and ride out. The trail starts behind our house.
It was a pleasure meeting you, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Our best,
Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing