We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and quaint...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lake House
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Old and quaint...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A most interesting place. Located on a lake, this structure dates from 1843 and parts of it shows that. Beautiful property with a large stage set up for special events near the water. The docks are dilapidated with a number of old Chris-Craft power boats tied up to them. The building and rooms are old but adequate. Rooms are small. A common area has a comfy sofa and lots of books to peruse. We had dinner in the restaurant. The dinner menu was expensive, so we asked and received a lunch menu. We ordered from that without any protest from the server. No breakfast available, we were off season. This hotel fills up with parents who's little ones are off at baseball camp in nearby Cooperstown. Because of age, this is not the cleanest place, but ok.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, so check your fire escapes before retiring to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    17
    11
    14
    33
See reviews for
60
49
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Summer has ended and we are packed up until next season. We were surprised that this year the Lakehouse put up a stage and had fantastic entertainment. We were fortunate to be able
to attend every show . What impressed us the most was the caliber of talent fro the Lettermen
to an Elvis impersonator who is ranked the best in the country.
Every year when we return to the lake we can't wait to see what the lakehouse has in store for the season. Looking forward to next summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Proprietors Gene and Chris Corrigan of the Lake House hosted a Chamber of Commerce Business After Hours last night at their historic landmark property. The hosts provided a full open bar and a lovely buffet supper with chicken wings, Swedish Meatballs and Chimichangas. The food was very tasty and nicely presented. The bartenders and servers were very congenial and efficient. The tables were covered with white linens and attractively decorated with a colorful fall theme. There was also live piano music which was most enjoyable. As the evening progressed and the cool fall air started to penetrate, fires were ignited in three open ceramic fire places situated on the sloped front lawn. This added
greatly to the comfort and ambiance of the evening. The event took place under the recently constructed pavilion situated at the waters edge. The pavilion itself is impressive and the view from this vantage point is awesome. Thanks Gene and Chris. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidelbergBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellows Falls
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our Antique Car Club spent two nights here during our annual one week tour in September, this one was September 7-8th 2013.

The place looks nice and cozy on first impression, but the impression doesn't last. Being handicapped I required a downstairs room as there are no elevators.

The room I was given was large, 2 double beds and one twin, it looked pretty makeshift like it was an after thought using part of the dining room sectioned off with crude paneling.

The worst parts were : a step up of about 10" to where the beds were located, (very dangerous if you had to get up for a pee at night), semi working lights, a dark hallway to an unlighted bathroom, but worst of all no appliance for heat during outdoor temperatures of 50 degrees, and an assemblage of some kind of crawlies and bugs in the bathroom.

On checking out, I wanted to pay the bill in cash, but the proprietor said the bill had already been paid with the credit card I had given as security when making my reservation.

I requested a credit be issued to the credit card but the proprietor refused saying it would require too much paper work for him.

To their credit, I must say, the food was excellent, the waitstaff was extremely friendly and efficient.

If anything, stop there to eat, but don't overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermonster05101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
The Lake House was built in 1843 and has lots of rooms-(14 bedrooms on the second and third floors); obviously there are some that are off the dining room. One of those rooms is the first floor room that this guest rented. It is well-lit and very comfortable. The rest of his group were on the other floors.

We are a seasonal establishment and generally the heat is not on until later than the first week of September. Temperatures were in the 80's in the day time and in the 60's at night- it was not in the 50's but had this guest requested heat, we would have provided it.

In addition, we would have been glad to take cash instead of a credit card from this guest. Unfortunately, when he was ready to leave and the card had been charged, he decided that he wanted to pay cash. He had already been here for two nights and was on his way from here. Just like the big chains that slide the bill under your door before you leave in the morning after your stay, his card had been charged before his departure. The time to pay cash was on arrival; not at departure.

I am disappointed to have this comment from this guest. I tried to pay special attention to him because of health issues- making sure he had what he needed for breakfast and was comfortable. It would be so much easier to take care of his needs if he had shared them with me when I saw him at dinner and at breakfast to make his stay more enjoyable than complain after the fact when there isn't anything I can do for him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

DO NOT STAY at The Lake House! Don't let the reviews fool you. Read the bad ones, they say it all!! The second floor of the lodge was a disaster. The rooms were not cleaned when we arrived. The kitchen was horrible. There is no place to sit and eat. The furniture was so old and dirty, we actually had to bring in our own lawn chairs to sit. It smells and is very hot. You are better off pitching a tent and staying outside. The 3rd floor was much nicer & updated and it's a shame the owners, who were very nice, do not update the second floor. Again - DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Although we try not to intrude into your space while you are here, it was hard not to notice that there were more people staying than allowed by your contract and that's why you needed to use lawn chairs. We discourage letting kids sleep on the couch or floor on blow up mattresses in common areas but try not to fuss because we want you to have a good time . It does make you feel cramped. We mainly host baseball team families who stay while their children play in Cooperstown and really enjoy seeing all of the kids playing on the lake, fishing,and using the boats. There is a large outdoor deck available to our groups, a balcony that overlooks the lake, lots of outdoor furniture and chimeneas to sit outdoors and enjoy the beautiful, starlit nights. All rooms are air conditioned and have brand new mattresses, linens and bedspreads. We have a professional cleaning crew that takes care of the rooms and they are always ready and clean when our groups arrive. We don't clean during the week, that's up to you. The Lake House is the perfect place for groups to enjoy the camaraderie of being together in a place big enough/ and reasonable enough to stay in the Cooperstown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsville, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Lake House this past weekend for a little getaway. We found our room clean and comfortable. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were all fresh and clean. We found the little village that was about a mile down the road was charming and we enjoyed boating on the lake. Gene and Chris (the owners) were very eager to ensure our stay was a memorable one. They went out of their way to inform us of activities in the surrounding areas and making sure we had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant was top of the line!! We would recommend this place for anyone wishing to just get away and enjoy the country. We will definitely return for another visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about the Lake House. We are glad you found us and enjoyed a nice weekend with us. We hope you will back again next summer. Thanks again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Lake House Hotel recently - and found it to be a great alternative to a typical hotel stay. The building has been updated considerably and has beautiful floors, woodwork and character. We found our room to be very nice and well appointed. The beds were like clouds! The bathroom new and clean.
Our kids enjoyed exploring this big, beautiful building and also really liked having the common areas that were large enough for several people to congregate.
The little town is unique and has shops to explore, too. We were close to the lake - a minute or two down the road - where the Lake House restaurant accommodated us well. The food was excellent - and the sunset reminded us of Key West - simply gorgeous.
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel - it was perfect for the needs of our family.

Room Tip: Check out the Lake House Restaurant. Chimachangas are excellent!!! Yummy..... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MTammy,

The sunsets are beautiful! We appreciate your kind words and nice description of the Lake House. It is relaxing to be by the lake and relax. If you ever come our way again, we hope you will stay with us again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House is a charming and historic inn located on the shores of Canadarago Lake, 15 minutes from Cooperstown. Resembling the Great Camps of the Adirondacks, it is a relaxing place for lunch/dinner on the lake and to stay while in Baseball Country. Consider the Lake House for a family reunion, corporate retreat or romantic vacation. Also available is a private lakeside cottage with dock space. Great fishing, sunsets, weekly rates. Astonishingly affordable. Check out our newest performance stage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing