We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regretful stay...”
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake House
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I would never recommend this place to anyone. We arrived for the week expecting to see something resembling the pictures posted only to find a run-down wreck of a place. There was a dead rodent in our kitchen cupboard, layers of dust, broken window blinds held together with bandaids! The washing machine smelled so bad you would never put your clothes in it. I'm not sure where this website got its pictures but they are NOT from this decade. They must have had jet skis and canoes an one point because in the pile of JUNK at the front of the property there was an old rusted out jet ski with moss growing on it. The dock had caution tape across the entrance because they were too rotten to walk on. FYI- We discovered the wedding pictures are of a family member of the owner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It is a shame that this guest was so unhappy. As we all know, the
reviews on the site are opinions of guests and everyone sees things a
little differently. I sincerely doubt that there was a "rodent" in the
cupboards since they are basically empty and cleaned every week
although perhaps a little field mouse got in- I never saw it. Search
as I did when I read this review, I can't find any bandaids on blinds
either. As Trip Advisor says these are unverified reviews posted
anonymously.

I am confused about the washing machine as it is a machine that I use
on a regular basis and never have detected any unpleasant smell.
However, if anyone reads the information about the Cooperstown area,
they know that one of the reasons people originally came to the area
were sulfur baths and although we have a well with good water, on
occasion, there is a hint of sulfur during the hot summer months. We
have a water filtration system to guard against this but perhaps she
was sensitive to this smell.

As for the boats, we are preservationists- we restore antique wooden
boats because they are beautiful. They have to be in water in the
summer so that they do not dry out too much. We work on them in the
off season and make them beautiful again. She took at picture of our
most recent project. Wait until you see it done! We do have a caution
sign at the entrance of the dock because they owner of the pontoon
,also moored at the dock (who rents for the season), complained about
kids who were staying playing on his boat and moving his fishing gear.
We had to put something up to protect his property from unsupervised
children. We have a dock that the kids can use for fishing but don't
let them play on other people's boats for numerous reasons.

As for some of the pictures being from our daughter's wedding- we do
have children and our daughter is happily married. We have her
pictures proudly on our website. We have four children and celebrate
their milestones on our website. She was a beautiful bride and has a
wonderful husband. We are glad to share pictures of her happy day on
our site along with other people's pictures. The Lake House is a
beautiful place for a wedding.

We hope you will read her review with a grain of salt and realize that
the Lake House is the place for you if you do not want a cookie cutter
hotel type vacation. We are on one of the cleanest lakes in New York
State where your children can have an old fashioned vacation with a
chance to fish, play on the water, have a bonfire at night, tell
stories by the campfire, catch fireflies and marvel at the stars in the
sky. We recommend the Lake House for an great and memorable family
vacation.

PS. We take and post new pictures every year because we are constantly
updating and improving our facility.
Christine Corrigan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

A most interesting place. Located on a lake, this structure dates from 1843 and parts of it shows that. Beautiful property with a large stage set up for special events near the water. The docks are dilapidated with a number of old Chris-Craft power boats tied up to them. The building and rooms are old but adequate. Rooms are small. A common area has a comfy sofa and lots of books to peruse. We had dinner in the restaurant. The dinner menu was expensive, so we asked and received a lunch menu. We ordered from that without any protest from the server. No breakfast available, we were off season. This hotel fills up with parents who's little ones are off at baseball camp in nearby Cooperstown. Because of age, this is not the cleanest place, but ok.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, so check your fire escapes before retiring to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Summer has ended and we are packed up until next season. We were surprised that this year the Lakehouse put up a stage and had fantastic entertainment. We were fortunate to be able
to attend every show . What impressed us the most was the caliber of talent fro the Lettermen
to an Elvis impersonator who is ranked the best in the country.
Every year when we return to the lake we can't wait to see what the lakehouse has in store for the season. Looking forward to next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daydreamhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2015

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Proprietors Gene and Chris Corrigan of the Lake House hosted a Chamber of Commerce Business After Hours last night at their historic landmark property. The hosts provided a full open bar and a lovely buffet supper with chicken wings, Swedish Meatballs and Chimichangas. The food was very tasty and nicely presented. The bartenders and servers were very congenial and efficient. The tables were covered with white linens and attractively decorated with a colorful fall theme. There was also live piano music which was most enjoyable. As the evening progressed and the cool fall air started to penetrate, fires were ignited in three open ceramic fire places situated on the sloped front lawn. This added
greatly to the comfort and ambiance of the evening. The event took place under the recently constructed pavilion situated at the waters edge. The pavilion itself is impressive and the view from this vantage point is awesome. Thanks Gene and Chris. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HeidelbergBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our Antique Car Club spent two nights here during our annual one week tour in September, this one was September 7-8th 2013.

The place looks nice and cozy on first impression, but the impression doesn't last. Being handicapped I required a downstairs room as there are no elevators.

The room I was given was large, 2 double beds and one twin, it looked pretty makeshift like it was an after thought using part of the dining room sectioned off with crude paneling.

The worst parts were : a step up of about 10" to where the beds were located, (very dangerous if you had to get up for a pee at night), semi working lights, a dark hallway to an unlighted bathroom, but worst of all no appliance for heat during outdoor temperatures of 50 degrees, and an assemblage of some kind of crawlies and bugs in the bathroom.

On checking out, I wanted to pay the bill in cash, but the proprietor said the bill had already been paid with the credit card I had given as security when making my reservation.

I requested a credit be issued to the credit card but the proprietor refused saying it would require too much paper work for him.

To their credit, I must say, the food was excellent, the waitstaff was extremely friendly and efficient.

If anything, stop there to eat, but don't overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vermonster05101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

The Lake House was built in 1843 and has lots of rooms-(14 bedrooms on the second and third floors); obviously there are some that are off the dining room. One of those rooms is the first floor room that this guest rented. It is well-lit and very comfortable. The rest of his group were on the other floors.

We are a seasonal establishment and generally the heat is not on until later than the first week of September. Temperatures were in the 80's in the day time and in the 60's at night- it was not in the 50's but had this guest requested heat, we would have provided it.

In addition, we would have been glad to take cash instead of a credit card from this guest. Unfortunately, when he was ready to leave and the card had been charged, he decided that he wanted to pay cash. He had already been here for two nights and was on his way from here. Just like the big chains that slide the bill under your door before you leave in the morning after your stay, his card had been charged before his departure. The time to pay cash was on arrival; not at departure.

I am disappointed to have this comment from this guest. I tried to pay special attention to him because of health issues- making sure he had what he needed for breakfast and was comfortable. It would be so much easier to take care of his needs if he had shared them with me when I saw him at dinner and at breakfast to make his stay more enjoyable than complain after the fact when there isn't anything I can do for him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

DO NOT STAY at The Lake House! Don't let the reviews fool you. Read the bad ones, they say it all!! The second floor of the lodge was a disaster. The rooms were not cleaned when we arrived. The kitchen was horrible. There is no place to sit and eat. The furniture was so old and dirty, we actually had to bring in our own lawn chairs to sit. It smells and is very hot. You are better off pitching a tent and staying outside. The 3rd floor was much nicer & updated and it's a shame the owners, who were very nice, do not update the second floor. Again - DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Although we try not to intrude into your space while you are here, it was hard not to notice that there were more people staying than allowed by your contract and that's why you needed to use lawn chairs. We discourage letting kids sleep on the couch or floor on blow up mattresses in common areas but try not to fuss because we want you to have a good time . It does make you feel cramped. We mainly host baseball team families who stay while their children play in Cooperstown and really enjoy seeing all of the kids playing on the lake, fishing,and using the boats. There is a large outdoor deck available to our groups, a balcony that overlooks the lake, lots of outdoor furniture and chimeneas to sit outdoors and enjoy the beautiful, starlit nights. All rooms are air conditioned and have brand new mattresses, linens and bedspreads. We have a professional cleaning crew that takes care of the rooms and they are always ready and clean when our groups arrive. We don't clean during the week, that's up to you. The Lake House is the perfect place for groups to enjoy the camaraderie of being together in a place big enough/ and reasonable enough to stay in the Cooperstown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Lake House this past weekend for a little getaway. We found our room clean and comfortable. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were all fresh and clean. We found the little village that was about a mile down the road was charming and we enjoyed boating on the lake. Gene and Chris (the owners) were very eager to ensure our stay was a memorable one. They went out of their way to inform us of activities in the surrounding areas and making sure we had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant was top of the line!! We would recommend this place for anyone wishing to just get away and enjoy the country. We will definitely return for another visit soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thanks for your kind comments about the Lake House. We are glad you found us and enjoyed a nice weekend with us. We hope you will back again next summer. Thanks again.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
9.8 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
868 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range: £84 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lake House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing