We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be Back.”
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake House
Utica, New York
1 review
“We will be Back.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family stayed at the Lake House Hotel for 5 days the first week of July. Our room was well maintained with a new bed and bathroom. The lounge was great for our family of six, large enough for all of us since we needed two rooms. We used the canoes and had enough for all of us to use at the same time.The favorite part of the stay were the chimineas that burned wood and were lit every night for us to sit around. The only downside was the restaurant closes at 9 pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We hope you will visit us again soon. Utica is only 30 minutes from the Lake House- a quick drive and it is so relaxing here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    11
    14
    33
See reviews for
60
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place is a dump! It's dirty and should be shut down as a hotel property. The week we were there we saw cats roaming the house and kitchen (hence the mouse poop on my pillow!), the water smells like rotten eggs (if you can even get it to come out of the faucet!) and the staff would not even address major issues like water coming from the ceiling! I can't believe this place hasn't been shut down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

Fayetteville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned home from our best get-a-way ever! I and my 2 children, 6 and 8 years old, spent the weekend here. We saw a musical at the nearby Glimmerglass Theater and spent the remainder of the weekend at the Lodge. We loved it! Every bit! The staff not only made us feel "at home", they made us feel special, the food was wonderful, the room cozy, rustic and elegant all at the same time, and the lake view beautiful. The kids enjoyed the row boat and fishing and Mom enjoyed the wholesome peacefulness. We even found the other guests inviting and delightful! We live only 1 1/2 hours away, Syracuse, and I've already told some of my friends here about our find. They're eager to pack up their bags and run away for a weekend at the Lake House! I'm sure they won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

July 2014-We also were the victim of Gene and his shady dealings, stay AWAY from The Lake House. In our case he called on Friday to give us a different address to check into claiming the other address was his 'corporate headquarters and NOT a hotel"! Needless to say we wound up at the 'annex' where his staff cheerfully informed me that this happens all the time! The 'annex' was no where near a lake and absolutely awful!! The wifi didn't work, although I had confirmed with Gene on the phone it was available, which meant we could not look for another hotel!

When I spoke with Gene on the phone he told me we were welcome to not stay the second night. He had charged our credit card in January and when I told him he had our reservation since January he denied having charged the card and claimed Hotels.com did that not him! The statement clearly showed it had been The Lake House. He then asked what I expected him to do if he didn't have rooms! The man is a liar, and a thief!!

The place was filthy, the walls were thin, you could hear the staff getting ready at 6 am, most people checked out on Saturday morning, clearly no one who had a choice stayed the second night! There were bugs in the light fixture in the room. The towels were dirty, and before showering we needed to go back downstairs to ask for clean towels! The only charming thing about this place are the poor staff who work there. I felt bad for them, as they explained this happens all the time, and they don't know why Gene does this to people.

This is the worst experience I have ever had booking online! Fortunately the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce saved us and helped us a find a lovely B&B the Rose and Thistle which helped lessen the pain of our previous experience.

Gene has since tried to charge us for the night we did NOT stay, and I have disputed the charge with my Credit Card company.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LTGR429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Do Not Be Confused! You may think you are booking at The Lake House only to find out you are at The Baseball Hotel. The week of June 29 to July 4, my grandson was invited to play at All Star Village, Cooperstown with his former team. This was a last minute invitation and thus there was not much time to plan. Rooms at reasonable rates were hard to find. Thus, I found myself at the Baseball Hotel. Since a picture is worth a thousand words, I will keep commentary here short. The building is old and the place looks far more like a rooming house than a hotel. The wooden floors did not appear to have been cleaned recently. I was thankful for the one bar of soap and mismatched towels. After one night, I left and found much more traveler friendly accommodations. $125 per night is way overpriced! I would not ever recommend the Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine anyone wanting to stay at The Baseball Hotel which is no bargain at $125 per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After I booked the reservations 3 months ago, I had approximately 7 communications with Gene, each time as confusing as the first. I had absolutely no confidence that I would actually have a room once I arrived with my family. Someone greeted us and after searching the computer for quite some time they were able to give us rooms. I wasn't sure if it was because they actually found the reservation, or they just happened to have vacancies. We were told to get in our car and follow Shane to our hotel. The hotel in the pictures was not where they had us staying. We arrived at a "shabby chic" building, not anywhere near any water, were shown to our rooms which were adequate but small and musty smelling. We never saw anyone else there the whole weekend which was very odd. There was a cat who lived there who was very thin, her food bowl was empty for 2 days until we went to the store to buy cat food for her. I was very concerned leaving her there and almost took her with me. Overall the whole experience was odd, not really bad, but if you're looking for a regular or upscale hotel, this isn't your place. I changed my reservation from 2 nights to one 3 days before arrival, (another 4 phone calls) it still wasn't clear that that change had happened at checkout. I guess i will see when my credit card comes in if they charged me or not. Not a restful stay. I hope someone takes care of the cat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscola, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were completely confused upon arrival. When we tried to check in, the guy at the cluttered desk could not find our info. After a search on the computer with no luck, and after consulting another young gentleman, our info was located in an envelope among a stack of others. We were told to wait because they had to locate the keys. We were then told the room was offsite. My impression during booking was that we were staying in a condo on the lake.
After much confusion, the older gentleman told a young Asian girl to go with him to find a key and we were to follow them in their vehicle.
We arrived and I was very skeptical. When we entered I was happy to find that it was fairly nice inside. It smelled of pine ( it's made of pine after all) and we had the entire place to ourselves. We were given one room with three queen beds but no key to our door. The only key we received was to one of the outside doors.
There was a communal kitchen but since nobody else was staying over it wasn't an issue.
We were told that the lake was ours to use if we wanted to return to the main house. Which we did and it was a wasted trip. There was no suitable dock to hang out on, the shore had lots of broken glass, the canoe had no paddles....it was a dump.
We returned to the condo and I settled in to read reviews....after doing so I was happy that we didn't stay at the main site. Seems like we got lucky with what we got given everyone else's experience.
I called expedia to see if we could get a refund for the second night. The answer was no because the hotel has a no refund policy (wonder why?!!?!) ....we booked for two nights, ate the money for the second and stayed elsewhere.
Lastly......I think it's in poor taste that the owner comes here and replies to customers who repeatedly have bad experiences instead of fixing the problems. Obviously, there are issues and it's not the visitors.

Room Tip: Travel into Cooperstown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pegraney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing