We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you go when you want to be treated like family...”
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake House
Morrisville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where you go when you want to be treated like family...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my fourth year at the Lake House. Really enjoyed fishing on the dock.
The staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience while in the area. The view is fantastic and it is North of all of the congestion in downtown Cooperstown. The room was older but clean and a nice view of the lake. The rooms are well maintained and comfortable, and have an old style to them as does the whole hotel. I highly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katywinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words- we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    11
    15
    35
See reviews for
63
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The low room price for the Cooperstown area had me worried, but we walked into an immaculate room. We were in the front room that had an awesome "lake view" and a deck. It was not a huge room, but perfectly sized for 4 adults and 1 child. The staff went over the top to make us feel welcome.
The family who owns and runs this Hotel went above and beyond for our team families. They have a full frig for food storage , microwave , great little breakfast area for our use. The grounds are well kept and the kids all loved fishing off the docks, swimming, and using the boats. Rooms are clean, a little dated, but in a quaint way. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rblaze2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was happily surprised when I arrived to see a lovingly restored building instead of a one size fits all hotel. We enjoyed a great dinner at the restaurant, met the chef and the owners and had a comfortable night sleep. The breakfast in the morning was good and the owner was there to greet us, too. I will stay again when I go to the opera next year.

Room Tip: My room had a new, large bathroom and was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for letting us know that you had a good time. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you are a baseball family coming to Cooperstown, consider any and every other option before booking at The Lake House. Maybe if you are single and like to crash at a night spot near the lake, this could be appealing. But for us, it was a bad experience start to finish. The room was essentially a part of the first floor entryway, with a bathroom that was just off the bar and restaurant. The music plays loud and into the evening. The walls are paper thin. The room was dirty and no one came in to clean in any way while we were there. We stayed for three nights of a planned six night stay. After having trouble sleeping every night, we decided to leave. We had been required to pay 100 percent up front for the reservation for six nights, which was about $1,000. We would gladly have parted amicably, having paid 50 percent and receiving 50 percent of the service. We respectfully requested a refund for the remaining nights when we did not stay, both in writing and in a phone call and were denied. They are seeking to take advantage of families coming to Cooperstown for a week of baseball. If that is you, consider another option. (Just like another family that posted here in July 2014, we will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.)

Room Tip: If you have children, certainly avoid the rooms adjacent to the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are sorry that this guest was not happy with his room. As he promised, if we did not give him a refund, he would write a bad review and he has. I think his main complaint was that he was not with other families on his team and wanted to be closer to them and wanted a refund. This is a small, family run hotel which books in advance and like many in the area has a no refund policy because of the extremely short season. Our policy is clearly stated and he was aware of it prior to booking. It is easy to complain about a room not being clean, etc. and find fault when basically his problem is that he wanted money back after the fact, but in fact, people who stay in that room are very pleased with their accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I guess this place stays open because there is no where else to stay. Its not at the lake, its not a house. Its "charming and quaint" which means the rooms are small and old. I guess it used to be an old boarding house. We reserved a room with two queen beds. We got two rooms with a connecting bathroom. It did have television in both rooms 13" screens. The doors were very thin wood doors so we could hear every little thing in the hallway and above us. We were happy to have a place to sleep for hall of fame weekend, it was only 20 minutes away but I would not stay here again. On the plus side, they did have a friendly cat.

Room Tip: sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brianf0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am so sorry that Brian was not happy with his room. Here in the northeast, rooms in historic places are not large because the era of the large bedroom is a relatively new phenomenon. The rooms are standard size and the bathrooms are new. In fact, this room has two queen beds with a bathroom- it has more privacy than if the beds had been in the same room and most folks are pleased to have this room for that fact. We do have other rooms that have the two queen beds in the same room; too bad the guest did not request that type of room so we could have switched him to make him happy. Our goal is a satisfied guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We reserved two rooms at the Lake House with the above address. When we arrived they informed us we were at their other "hotel". We were about a mile away with no lake in sight! No warning or indication that we were not at the Lake House! Very small rooms. Clean and newly renovated, but no hotel services. We were there for 3 nights and no one gave us clean towels, emptied the trash or made our bed. We went shopping for tissues, conditioner and lotion. The staff is very friendly, breakfast adequate. but very disappointing for the room rate and not where we reserved. Noise - everyone on the floor was audible and people passing our room could be clearly heard. No soundproofing of any kind. They took 50% on making the reservation and the remainder 3 weeks before we arrived, so we had no recourse after they switched locations. Poor business!!

We ate at the Lake House Restaurant and the food and service were excellent. Much better restaurant than hotel.

Room Tip: Yes there was wifi but it was very very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We do own two properties and there are rooms at both. We are very careful when people book to caution them if they will not be at the lake. I am sorry that this guest did not understand where their room was located. I am glad that they found the rooms clean and newly renovated. There also is a 24/7 staff at this location who strive to make all guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel and Hotels.com are guilty of false advertising and possibly fraud. Hotels.com clearly advertises "Free cancellation" for a reservation at The Lake House. But one day after making the reservation, when I tried to change dates, they charged my credit card 50% of the total cost - $377! This was two weeks before we were supposed to stay there! I am reporting this to Better Business Bureau as fraud.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Welltravelledvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
There is not a free cancellation nor do we offer one- it is clearly stated on the website and on Expedia. Like a concert ticket, airline reservation or reservation at many other places, a cancellation costs both the guest and the owner and generally is not refundable. The guest, in our case, can reschedule for another time more convenient to them. For us, an empty room is an empty room during a very short 12 week season. Everybody loses when a guest cancels. If there weren't a cancellation policy in the Cooperstown area, it would be like musical beds every week if team parents booked and cancelled at the last minute. It is an impossible situation for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
37 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
65 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing