We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An acceptable place to stay if you're going to Cooperstown”
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake House
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An acceptable place to stay if you're going to Cooperstown”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We didn't stay at the Lake House; we stayed at the Baseball Hotel, part of the same business, located at 10 Gould Avenue in the center of Richfield Springs, which is about a 25-minute drive north of Cooperstown. The pluses: We could get a room there at the last minute in late August, when pretty much every other hotel in the Cooperstown area was sold out. It was cheaper than any place nearer to Cooperstown, or in Cooperstown. And it was acceptably clean & secure. The minuses: There was not a lot of space to maneuver around the bed in our room. (I live in an apartment, so I'm used to tight spaces.) And the free breakfast was underwhelming. We went to the Tally-Ho diner instead. I'm not saying don't stay here; I'm saying keep your expectations in check.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hushaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear guest- I am glad that you stayed with us at the Baseball Hotel. It is a great alternative to the high prices of Cooperstown and as you pointed out it is quick ride to the Hall of Fame. As I have mentioned, older buildings have smaller bedrooms than we are used to but all of our bedrooms are clean, attractive and comfortable. The bathrooms in fact are good size because when remodeling the building, we split a former bedroom into two bathrooms for the rooms on either side. Of course, complimentary breakfasts are not like paying for breakfast in a local restaurant which you chose to do but for most it is just enough and starts the day off in an easy and delicious way. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    18
    11
    15
    35
See reviews for
64
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a wonderful wedding reception at the Lake House in August 2014. It has a rustic atmosphere that was perfect - pretty but comfortable. We were able to take lovely photos by the lake. The food was really excellent (we particularly loved the salad display). The event planner, Ruth, made everything easy, and all the staff were thoughtful and helpful. It has our highest recommendations!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband used AARP Travel/Expedia and sadly, we would have lost all of our money if we changed or cancelled no matter when. After I looked at the website and saw we were at the "Townhouses" I was really, really concerned. It reminded me of a "too good to be true" nightmare at the Poland Springs Resort" in 1976. Perhaps with several million dollars, this will once again be a nice resort and property. I refused to stay in the lodge near the townhouse, which we had been moved to. It isn't a good sign when the first thing your husband says when he comes to the car is "I think the air conditioning will work". I am not a camper, I don't want to be and for $160.00 per night, I don't expect to be. I spoke with the young girl who offered to give me her boss Chris' number, but I asked her to call. We wanted our money back and we would have driven less than two hours to my sister's. (We did not realize we would be that close). We were given the option of going to The Lake House as a room was available. After almost two hours, my phone call to customer service at AARP/Expedia and them calling the hotel, if we vacated the room (did I mention 3rd floor, yes, clean, yes private bath... but barely lights, no waste basket, and other things that need attention overall) we would get our money back. At that point, short of a divorce, our last night on vacation was ruined in my opinion and we were too tired and hungry to leave. We did go down to the restaurant, and the chef and food were great. I engaged in conversation with the man I believe to be the owner and a woman hostess... very nice, asked for two more pillows... and I had decided to just keep quiet, pray that they smoke detectors and sprinklers worked should we need them and eat and go to bed. PLEASE get rid of those plastic pads on your dining room chairs... they are FILTHY. Thank you to the chef and our great waiter. We walked around outside for a few minutes... again, nice touches with the fire pits... but those six boats at the dock make the Titanic look more lake worthy. Make a list and prioritize what you need to do. Your place might have a lot of potential. Right now, it's the worst $160 we've spent in awhile. Water pressure and shower head need to be fixed too... along with water temp. But at least the a/c worked.

Room Tip: Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
It is true that the guest did not like the room- this was before she even had seen it. It is true that she spent two hours on the phone trying to cancel the reservation she made directly with Expedia and they did not allow a cancellation at the last minute. They did call me and told me that she wanted to stay for free because the A/C did not work. We checked it while the guest was on the phone and indeed it did work. She told our assistant manager who came to look at it (not a maintenance man) that she was looking for any reason to cancel with Expedia. The guest did admit that she had a good dinner and enjoyed the waiter. She then muses about her safety. The safety of our guests is very important to us. In fact, the guest was very safe because despite being a historic building, it is fully fire protected with a modern fire detection system and sprinkler system. In short, this guest was not a happy person and found fault with any accommodation we made for her- we moved her from room to room and finally when Expedia had agreed to refund her money and she could have been on her way-she decided not to leave!!! I think the most telling line was that she was closer to her sister's house than she thought and wanted to stay there. I wish she had- she did not know I was the owner and told me what a nice time she had- alas her poison pen smarts. We do have a list of priorities- making our guests happy is on the top of the list. The Lake House is a beautiful lakeside property that has been enjoyed by many guests for many years. It will continue long after I am gone and will continue to delight guests of all ages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

Morrisville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my fourth year at the Lake House. Really enjoyed fishing on the dock.
The staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience while in the area. The view is fantastic and it is North of all of the congestion in downtown Cooperstown. The room was older but clean and a nice view of the lake. The rooms are well maintained and comfortable, and have an old style to them as does the whole hotel. I highly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katywinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words- we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The low room price for the Cooperstown area had me worried, but we walked into an immaculate room. We were in the front room that had an awesome "lake view" and a deck. It was not a huge room, but perfectly sized for 4 adults and 1 child. The staff went over the top to make us feel welcome.
The family who owns and runs this Hotel went above and beyond for our team families. They have a full frig for food storage , microwave , great little breakfast area for our use. The grounds are well kept and the kids all loved fishing off the docks, swimming, and using the boats. Rooms are clean, a little dated, but in a quaint way. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rblaze2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was happily surprised when I arrived to see a lovingly restored building instead of a one size fits all hotel. We enjoyed a great dinner at the restaurant, met the chef and the owners and had a comfortable night sleep. The breakfast in the morning was good and the owner was there to greet us, too. I will stay again when I go to the opera next year.

Room Tip: My room had a new, large bathroom and was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for letting us know that you had a good time. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you are a baseball family coming to Cooperstown, consider any and every other option before booking at The Lake House. Maybe if you are single and like to crash at a night spot near the lake, this could be appealing. But for us, it was a bad experience start to finish. The room was essentially a part of the first floor entryway, with a bathroom that was just off the bar and restaurant. The music plays loud and into the evening. The walls are paper thin. The room was dirty and no one came in to clean in any way while we were there. We stayed for three nights of a planned six night stay. After having trouble sleeping every night, we decided to leave. We had been required to pay 100 percent up front for the reservation for six nights, which was about $1,000. We would gladly have parted amicably, having paid 50 percent and receiving 50 percent of the service. We respectfully requested a refund for the remaining nights when we did not stay, both in writing and in a phone call and were denied. They are seeking to take advantage of families coming to Cooperstown for a week of baseball. If that is you, consider another option. (Just like another family that posted here in July 2014, we will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.)

Room Tip: If you have children, certainly avoid the rooms adjacent to the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are sorry that this guest was not happy with his room. As he promised, if we did not give him a refund, he would write a bad review and he has. I think his main complaint was that he was not with other families on his team and wanted to be closer to them and wanted a refund. This is a small, family run hotel which books in advance and like many in the area has a no refund policy because of the extremely short season. Our policy is clearly stated and he was aware of it prior to booking. It is easy to complain about a room not being clean, etc. and find fault when basically his problem is that he wanted money back after the fact, but in fact, people who stay in that room are very pleased with their accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
37 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
359 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing