We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality, Great Food, and a Great Lake for Kayaking, all in one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lake House
Trumansburg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality, Great Food, and a Great Lake for Kayaking, all in one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

My husband and I took a weekend to get-a-away with our kayaks, and we were lucky to find The Lake House, a great B&B/Restaurant right on the lake -- Lake Canadaraga, which is 6 miles long and a bit more than 10 miles from Cooperstown. We had an incredible time kayaking on this lake, but I really want to review the fabulous Lake House B&B.

The staff and owners were all incredibly friendly from the minute we walked in the door. They made us feel very welcome, like their home was our home. You cannot find the amount of character or history that this place has in any newer building or motel, this place was built to last in the mid 1800's. The facilities and grounds were very inviting and well kept.

The fabulous hardwood floors upstairs, where the bedrooms are, are a little bit slanted here and there, and I loved it! The place is very sound and I loved the fact that it was old and was so rich in history. We got to check out several of the rooms before other guests arrived, and they were all delightful. Our room was on the lake side of the building and had a bed, plenty of light to read by, an overhead fan, new windows that opened very easily, a large piece of furniture to hang clothes and store luggage in, which also served as the base for a TV, which we never used. The bathroom was very clean and had a shower that was very easy to get into since 2 doors slide open! We had plenty of hot water.

The common area on the second floor is quite homey -- one wall was full of books to browse through, and there were couches and chairs to slip into. The area also contained a small kitchenette. Breakfast comes with the room, and it was much more than I expected. As we sat down in the restaurant we were immediately given our coffee and juice to enjoy while the fog lifting from the lake. Before we knew it, we were served large plates with scrambled eggs, bacon, homemade french toast, syrup and butter. It was quite tasty!! The owners love to cook, and it shows.

Saturday night we ate at the restaurant, along with many of the locals and other guests. There was even live music which was not overwhelming, but just right!! The Prime Rib and Sauteed Scallops dinners were both enjoyed by us, along with the wonderful homemade rolls. We had no room for dessert, but heard from some of the locals about how wonderful it is.

Back to the kayaking, the owners let us leave our kayaks on the beach for as long as we like. It is very easy to drive our truck down there to load and unload the boats. The lake offers great views, and all the people we spoke to from their docks were very friendly and helpful. They also spoke highly of the Lake House and all frequent the restaurant. We didn't tour the full length of the lake as we cut across and paddled around an island, our attempts to see the "sunken island" were too late as the lake started to get dark later in the afternoon -- but do try it for yourself!

Do we recommend this place? Yes, yes, yes. We'd love to get back there this fall, but it will probably have to remain just a fond memory until next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank grammygail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thanks for the kind words- we love the Lake House and feel like custodians of a great place that will continue long after we are gone. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself, too. Come often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    17
    11
    14
    33
See reviews for
60
49
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We were so dissapointed in our stay at the Cottage at the Lake House for $2,000 for the week. The website said you can swim and the pictures show a beach..not true..the shore front is overgrown with weeds and growth in the water and rocks and goose poop everywhere! The website states window airconditioners thorughout...there were none and it was 95 degrees! There were 7 howling dogs in a pen beside the cottage !!! Docks are in deplorable condition and dangerous. Inside the place was dirty, dusty and spiders everywhere! Coffee in the pot and trash in recepticles from prior occupant. Oh and we found 3 hidden camers on the exterior of the cottage and one on the gazebo.(why?).You have to see it to believe it but don't and beware!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CubsBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genedoowop, owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
I suppose that it is unrealistic to expect everyone to love your place like you. People do love staying right on the water. We are feet from the lake .With the proximity of the water comes water fowl, rocks, water vegetation, bugs and the spiders who feast on them. Our lake is very clean and the ducks, geese, eagles, seagulls and other water birds fish in it to survive, raise their young and thrive. They love the lake as much as we do. It is popular with human fishermen, also. The existence of so much water life is testimony to how clean the lake is. We are a glacier formed lake and the shore line is not sandy nor advertised as such. There are docks where people dock for the season. Yes, there are security camera on the exterior of the building to protect the expensive boats docked and safety of our guests not unlike many places today. I do admit that we forgot to clean the coffee maker- oops and left a few paper towels behind from cleaning the cottage prior to our guests' arrival but it is a charming spot where our guests entertained their team, had cook outs, rode their boat daily (which they just showed up with without notifying us). We do have a team of sled dogs and pictures and stories about them on our website. They do on occasion "sing." It is the call of the wild that brings all of us to the lake and back to nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Tired of cookie cutter chain motels? Want a taste of what inns were like during you Grandparent's time? Then this is the place for you - and us.
Having stayed in hundreds of hotels and motels while traveling on business, when I travel for pleasure I seek out places like this - for a reason.
The pace is slower, the hosts know you as a person rather than a room number and it's more like visiting your Grandparent's home than going to an office-like hotel room.
The building is old - the floor has settled and it's a bit rustic. Their canine host is well mannered and makes the place feel like home. Those are some of the best features! It's Historic.
Taking the canoe out on the lake was nice and relaxing, breakfast was "home style" and a great start for the day. The 2 legged and 4 legged hosts were friendly and made us feel like wecomed guests.
If you want something different, this is the place. If you want a chain motel's clinical "office" feel, then this isn't for you. But you don't know what you are missing. Sometimes you've just got to stop and smell the coffee (which is excellent here.)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank passingthroughagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thanks for the kind words- we love the Lake House and feel like custodians of a great place that will continue long after we are gone. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself, too. Come often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

My wife and I planned a spur of the moment trip to Richfield Springs. Beautiful town by the way. But the Lake House was an absolute [--]!! We were greeted by a dog with hip dysplasia at the front door. The owners seemed bothered that we arrived to check in. We were placed in a room that we didn't book that was more expensive. The room was tiny and disgusting. Stained pillows. Stained couch. Broken furniture. Wiring running along drainpipes and into walls with peeling wallpaper. The bed felt like it was going to fall apart!! The " free breakfast " was not worth the heartburn it caused. For what you pay at this place per night it should be thousands of times better than what it is. DO NOT STAY AT THIS DUMP!!!! Sleeping on the sidewalk would have been more enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tobias92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 1 November 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We just returned from a weeks stay at the Lake House with our baseball team families. I can't say enough good things about our experience there. The owners ( Chris and Gene) and the waitress ( Diane) catered to our every need.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. The family room was a great place for us to relax together , as was the restaurant and bar. Our schedule for baseball kept us at the Dreams Park until 9:30 PM several of the nights we were there. Chris and Diane were always more than happy to keep the kitchen open late for us, saving us from a week of ball park dinners! The food at the Lake House was very good. My favorite, the carrot cake! My husbands, the steamers! Lots of diversity to the menu.
The lake itself was beautiful and we enjoyed the fabulous view from our rooms and the decks and restaurant. All the kids enjoyed swimming, fishing, and canoeing on the Lake House boats!
I was thrilled that this stay was so good for our our team and look forward to staying there again when my 10 year old son's team comes to Cooperstown. Thanks to Chris and Diane for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Demons_Fan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thank you so much! It is always great to see such detailed feedback so that other people get as much information as possible when choosing a hotel. It is so nice to see you enjoyed your time with us! We want your stay to be relaxing and easy; it's awesome to see your comments. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

After reading the last trip advisor review about GHOSTS AT THE LAKE HOUSE I was reminded of the stay we had in June of 09 .It seems the Lake House Hotel has middle-of-nowhere appeal and although management for many years has played it down, stories still persist about it being haunted.
New York Mobster Jack Leg's Diamond in the 1920's entertained guests such as Bonnie and Clyde, Capone, John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson and in the 1920's and 30's the Lake House offered a different kind of getaway for Gangsters who by day were competing bootleggers or bank robbers and when at the Lake House enjoyed fishing, hunting, and backwoods golf. Local Legend has it that behind a basement wall is an escape tunnel that Jack Leg's Diamond and others used when the Feds came knocking. One story that they escaped in winter and crossed the frozen lake on the ice to be later picked up by the driver, although one of the guards, fell threw the ice and was left behind.
There is some evidence that no matter how heinous their actions elsewhere, they minded their manners at the Lake House, perhaps tamed by the sense of solitude they found there.
The owner told me the male ghosts are handsome and friendly, but I did not see any, I did feel a happy spirit in the Hotel. We had a great sociable dinner with our group with live music from Casablanca "Play it Again Sam" type music, which brings back memories. The Hotel is convenient to Cooperstown, the staff impeccable, with great detail, beautiful views of the lake, what more could anyone ask for!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gangstergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thanks for the kind words- we love the Lake House and feel like custodians of a great place that will continue long after we are gone. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself, too. Come often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillside, Colorodo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We found this hotel through vrbo.com for extended stays.The reviews were very good so we booked a four night stay. Our hotel room was on the first floor and was very large with two queen beds and a twin bed, hardwood floors, wood walls, and a nice view of the lake. There are five of us so this was really perfect for us. Our breakfast was included and out of this world! The kids got hot chocolate, we got orange juice and coffee and we all had omelets with homemade biscuits and fried potatoes and all the fixings, with fresh strawberries. Complete price was $175/night with breakfast.
The view from the deck is spectacular. A relaxing evening of drinks and the flickering of the boat lights off the lake made the trip complete. We are looking forward to next years visit already. I don't think you could ask for any better treatment than what the staff at this hotel gave each of us. Diane, the manager, loves to talk about the history of the Lake House including the gangsters that used it as a speakeasy during prohibition and the ghosts that are often seen.This hotel is located outside of Richfield Springs and has lovely grounds surrounding the lake.Our favorite part, Stargazing next to the lake in one of the lounge chairs. Thanks for the memories !
Sam, Kathy, Richard, Ruth, Nancy

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank samadams1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, 7 November 2015
Thank you so much! It is always great to see such detailed feedback so that other people get as much information as possible when choosing a hotel. It is so nice to see you enjoyed your time with us! We want your stay to be relaxing and easy; it's awesome to see your comments. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House is a charming and historic inn located on the shores of Canadarago Lake, 15 minutes from Cooperstown. Resembling the Great Camps of the Adirondacks, it is a relaxing place for lunch/dinner on the lake and to stay while in Baseball Country. Consider the Lake House for a family reunion, corporate retreat or romantic vacation. Also available is a private lakeside cottage with dock space. Great fishing, sunsets, weekly rates. Astonishingly affordable. Check out our newest performance stage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing