We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience at the Lake House, Richfield Springs, NY”
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake House
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We rented the Cabin by the lake and my sister's family, one of the rooms in the main house

There is no check-in process at the Lake House which was the first thing that seemed strange, and no room keys. So your possessions are not secure while you're away. Although you can lock you door by the handle when inside, there was no functional deadbolt on our entrance door at the cabin by the lake. The owner informed us he had no keys to provide.

The water is not treated and the smell of sulfer is overpowering. I beleive that might be the sewage smell a previous reviewer referred to.

We ate at the restaurant the first night and found hair embeded in the complementary bread. When we went for their "free" breakfast the next morning, which is only served between 8 and 9 AM, two of the 4 plates came out with hair on them.

The rooms we not cleaned thoroughly with dog hair on bedspreads and spider webs and cob webs everywhere we looked. We found MOUSE DROPPINGS next to one of the beds as well as in one of the kitchen cabinet drawers. The refrigerator was full of partially used items and their were many personal items belonging to the owners, we presume, found all over the cabin.

The pathway from the cabin to the main house was not lite at night and junk is stored everywhere around the property.

We since learned the place is up for sale, so it explains why there seems to be no concern for their guest's safety or comfort.

Although I paid for 3 nights, we left after 2, even though the 3rd night cost about $350 with tax. That's how disgusted and uncomfortable we were with our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JoeP-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 165 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2007

Me and my brother reserved a room here after viewing pictures on the following website http://www.findbnb.com/2120 which is a gross misrepresentation of reality. I should have read the reviews on Tripadvisor. The inn was built around 1910 and looks as if no repairs have been done since then. It is surrounded by backhoes and old tractors as well as a large wreck of a skiff. The advertised beach is a weedy, scum-covered stretch of rocks. Rooms are on the second floor and are arranged in a horseshoe pattern around a central public meeting area where hotel employees booze until the wee hours. Five or six dogs locked in a kennel bark through the night. Rooms are tiny and grimy. My bedsheets were stained with what appeared to be human fluids and the towels were dirty. Water from what appears to be a temporary shower enclosure reeks of sewerage. At night a tiny rodent pattered about the room. I woke to find lines of bedbug bites on my body. I estimate the mattresses as having been there for maybe 40 years. Certainly before Queen size beds were invented. And the place is a firetrap. I had to pay in advance and without refund for nights I booked but wanted to cancel. And I understand why. No one in his right mind would subject himself to the filth and noise of this flophouse for more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Publius_Manlius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

My boyfriend and I were traveling to Cooperstown and stopped in at this lovely and quaint Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast- had a nice dinner and decided to stay. The room was rustic, but nice and breakfast of pancakes and fresh fruit was perfect. We enjoyed our time and would recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank mkunizaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

This place is nothing like it appears on the internet. The desk was unmanned, and notwithstanding our incessant bell-ringing, we were not assisted for 20 minutes. The assistant seemed drunk and creepy, and made us feel like we would be a victim in a teenage horror flick. This feeling was cemented by the fact that when we entered our room, there was a blood stain on the comforter. There was also mold in the bathroom, and the owners were obstreporous when we tried to discuss it with them. This is the only place that has ever prompted us to write a review, so beware.

Here is the website to stay away from.
[--]

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chantalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range: £94 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing