We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near glimmerglass opera”
Review of The Village Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Motel
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been coming here for years to attend glimmerglass opera.
The location is perfect & the rooms are very clean. Owners Pete &family are wonderful.veryquiet.
Wifi in every room.plan to return next season.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for The Village Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Friendly family-run old-style motel- no frills ( shampoo, hair-drier) but nice new windows to open and quiet setting- in town. Convenient to breakfast spot at Tally-Ho. Across from the central park in town. Hope they manage to make it all non-smoking rooms soon- like all inns should be. Pricey for what you get- but maybe inflated over the Fourth Holiday.

Room Tip: be sure you get a non-smoking room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Not sure what other reviewers expected from this place, perhaps expectations were too high. We found the room–and bathroom–very clean. Motels of this vintage usually have small bathrooms so space is at a premium, but you don't feel cramped. The bed was comfortable if not luxurious. It's an old motel so things like air conditioning are there but as add-ons; a typical motel from the 1950s with renovated bathrooms and a decent flat-screen TV. The owners are attentive to guests. Water pressure was excellent and hot water was plentiful. We stayed one night and left rested.
Cooperstown is 14 miles away and an easy drive through beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calif_traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very disappointed. Room was very musty smelling and black mold on the window curtain in the bathroom. Lots of hair (not ours) in the tub. A cold summer eve and no heat. No shampoo and no hangers for our clothes. All this and expensive. Will look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim-Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A quaint, dated-looking motel from the outslde, the room was simple and clean. There were no luxuries, insufficient towels for the three of us, but we thought it was fine for one night. That was until we got into bed. Truly, these were the hardest beds I have ever experienced. The pillows were flimsy little things. Nobody slept well. I thought the price was ridiculously high for a clean, comfortable room but truly outrageous given how uncomfortable the beds were!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carries529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Village Motel in Richfield Springs, NY was a poor choice. None of the usual amenities--no shampoo, no lotion, no coffee, no ice,1 skimpy bath, washcloth, and hand towel apiece, no iron, no ironing board, no shelf in the bathroom with room for toiletries, no kleenex, three hangers in the clothes alcove. We didn't expect a swimming pool or a fitness center. The list of rules, (See below.) visible immediately, seems to assume criminal intent. --they have our number, everything in the room is accounted for, and they will find us. All this for $140.00 a night.

On the plus side, the attendant was friendly and competent. She provided us with extra towels, hangers, and what seemed to be her personal bottle of shampoo. She gave us the password for internet access, and the room was clean, though somewhat old-fashioned, with a microwave and mini refrigerator.

The town is probably empty after the summer tourist season; probably the reason for the high price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslielynn1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was one of the least expensive options for lodging near Cooperstown (20 minute drive) and was ok for the money. Clean rooms and the AC worked like a champ (thank God!). The decor probably hasn't been updated since the 50's, including the sign welcoming you to the motel ("TV", "Free in room phones!"). It was like staying at grandma's house. But they did have some modern conveniences...wi-fi, a flat screen TV, and a microwave and mini fridge. It is definitely no-frills, but if all you need is a bed, bath and some AC, it is a great fit.

Room Tip: Room 10 (of 11) was nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
1.3 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#4 of 4 in Richfield Springs
165 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
0.8 mi away
Fountain View Motel
Fountain View Motel
#3 of 4 in Richfield Springs
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
43 reviews
11.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
5.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Motel

Address: 168 East Main Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range: £57 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Village Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing