We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assault on the Senses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Assault on the Senses”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked on-the-go during a trip from Boston to New Jersey when crossing the LI Sound as the location was "on the way". This was our first visit to an Indigo facility, and were met with a sickly "vanilla smell" in the lobby which stayed around the whole night...couldn't wait to get out of there!! Then, asked for a "quiet room" and were put "near the back, where not many people were staying this night" and found after dinner that a refrigerator truck was parked just outside in the parking lot with its unit running all night (couldn't turn it off as it was on a 10-hour timer was the excuse given to us), and they couldn't move it, so had to sleep with earplugs all night...not fun!

The staff need to be able to control this, as they didn't even know the truck was parked there till we asked them to move or turn it off. Not very helpful, although they did speak with the driver who wouldn't help.

Seems the staff need more training on customer service resolution issues, as they are young and inexperienced when in a hotel which should be "above the "Express" experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leaddog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Leaddog83,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The Hotel Indigo. It is only through valuable feedback like your's that we are able to address our shortcomings.

We have addressed the issue regarding our truck drivers, they will no longer be able to park their trucks outside of our guest rooms. We have allocated parking in the back of the hotel that is away from our rooms for any large trucks.

In regards to the vanilla scent in the lobby, we do have scent machines which are meant to enhance the experience for our guests, and we apologize for any offense it may have caused for your senses. We may have just replaced the scent which is why it could have been a little stronger than usual.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a "great" lasting memory.

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    194
    66
    33
    17
See reviews for
102
228
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This place is fabulous!! But I miss the taffy at the front desk!! Please please bring it back!!! The Mary Janes just don't do it! The staff is wonderful and very attentive, especially the front desk! Whatever I needed, they got for me and my partner!! Food is out of this world! Thank you to the Master Chef who stopped by our table to say hello!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Carol S,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I will make sure we have some Taffy for your next trip to the hotel!

Thank you again & all the best!


Michael High
Front Office Manager
Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was the best Indigo I have stayed at. Everything from the rooms, the onsite hotel and back patio is well....amazing. The front staff do their best to accommodate you as well and this hotel is a great launching point for touring the North Fork wine country of factory outlet stores nearby. They'll even set you up for tours too. I'll be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KidLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Kidlove,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We hope to see you again very soon!

Thank you again & all the best!


Michael High
Front Office Manager
Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here during the July 4th holiday this year. The property is new and our rooms were spacious and spotless. The location is convenient for train travel from NYC and it's a short and pleasant drive up to Greenport and the gorgeous surrounding area. The pool area was a big plus- the pool was clean, the lounging spaces were comfortable and there is even a fire on cool nights. We ate dinner in the bar and the food was decent if unexceptional. I chose this hotel to earn Priority Club points and would do so again on a return to the North Fork.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Catherine517,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,

Michael High
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

THE MOST RIDICULOUS HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER. ILLEGAL PRACTICE, and greedy dishonest management.

I don't think readers will even believe what my husband and I experienced, because it's ridiculous. We arrived at midnight on Saturday only to hear that pipes of the room we reserved bursted in the middle of summer (which turned out to be a total lie, and I explain this below), and we would need to move to Holiday Inn Express. It was close to midnight, we were super tired, and we didn't have a car. (Not to mention how precious that weekend was for my husband and myself.) Hotel Indigo East End totally ruined our weekend and totally ruined its own image. The story gets better and better...

(1) One of the managers did call us around 3pm, but it got disconnected since we were on subway in Manhattan. How come no one could tell us before we arrived close to midnight? We asked to talk to a manager. Both managers didn't answer their calls (of course, why would they? They are the ones who directed the receptionists to lie that pipe had bursted in the middle of summer.)

(2) Receptionists were telling us that Holiday Inn Express is a very nice hotel and they reserved a suite for us. Are you kidding me? Do you want me to believe that Hotel Indigo and Holiday Inn Express are the same? AND THERE IS NO SUITE IN HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS !!! I don't know what occurred to them to lie like this. Is it because we are relatively young looking Asians, who wouldn't know about hotels?

(3) Well, we ended up moving to Holiday Inn Express (to a simple double queen bed room, which is absolutely not a suite from anyone's perspective) and found out that BOTH HOTELS ARE OWNED BY THE SAME MANAGEMENT! They could still make money by relocating us. And they simply said "the rate will be different." Only after noticing what they have done (which occurred after my husband's lawyer logic), they made our room complimentary.

(4) the day after, one of the managers admitted that THERE WAS NO PIPE BURST, and THEY WERE ACTUALLY OVERBOOKED. So why couldn't they admit that from the first place? Why couldn't they call us, honestly explained the situation and offered a complimentary room at a different hotel from the first place? Why did they lie like that and still try to make money off of us by sending us to a hotel with the same management?

SO BE CAREFUL. If you book your room expecting you will get a room at Hotel Indigo, you might end up sleeping in Holiday Inn Express. JUST DON'T BOOK this hotel. And I collected enough intelligence to conclude that we are not the only people who might have experienced this.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank HJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Owner at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear HJ C,

I have read your review, and would like to apologize for not responding sooner, but I did want to make sure I had my facts straight regarding your regrettable experience.

First let me say that we are a family owned and operated business, and on behalf of our entire family I want to offer sincere apologies for what turned out to be a tough experience.

We understand all that you are saying and can appreciate your frustration, but take exception to your assertion of our intent to engage in "illegal, dishonest and greedy” behavior. Our team made a number of mistakes, and our General Manager called you within 48 hours of your experience to acknowledge the same, and to make amends for what happened. We thought she had succeeded in doing so, but apparently not.

I sincerely regret that we cannot take back what happened, but would like to set the record straight on a few things:

Our representatives erred greatly by not calling you back in a more timely fashion, and more so in not providing a more accurate explanation of what our situation was. They did however, take the correct legal action and arrange for the most comparable accommodation in the closest location. That accommodation is in fact by industry standards a Suite, and I also regret your disappointment and our misunderstanding in that regard.

Our representatives made no statements or assumptions on your knowledge of Hotels, especially not with regard to your ethnicity. As a first generation family business, we pride ourselves on our acceptance of all guests without any prior consideration. Our record over 13 years in the business will prove that. To suggest otherwise is a form of reverse discrimination that as a matter of reputation I must take also issue with.

This all considered, I apologize again for your difficult experience, and hope you will not hold it against the other great Hotels and businesses on Long Island’s East End.

Respectfully,

Rob Salvatico
Partner, Senior Vice President - Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After seeking on face book a friends birthday weekend I knew that this is exactly what I wanted to do for my 45th. We had the perfect weather to go exploring wine country. Thank you to Michael High for coordinating everything. Cindy was awesome at the bar and then at dinner. Rooms were clean, hotel clean, friendly people everywhere and outside sitting area so inviting. One small glitch was brought to Michaels attention and he did right by us and I am ok with that. Would go again for sure and would recommend Hotel Indigo

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Gravos,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay! We are sorry to hear that you experienced a problem, but I am very happy to see that I was able to resolve everything :)

We look forward to seeing you again!

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

A short notice change of plan meant we checked into this hotel. The reception staff we excellent and the rooms we very good. The only thing that lets this place down in the bar and restaurant... Don't let the look fool you, this bar is awful with some of the worst service I've ever encounted in the US. When I complained to the manager after 2 nights of dreadful service I would have expected some kind of voucher to get us back in there but no! Great hotel but go into town for a drink!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyshaw76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Andyshaw76,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the room accommodations you had. Please allow us to apologize you were not satisfied with our bar and restaurant. We also apologize for the service you received that did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
64 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
44 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End

Property: Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Address: 1830 W Main St, Route 25, Riverhead, NY 11901-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very center of it all — the Hamptons,the North Fork, beaches, vineyards,shopping and nightlife, Hotel Indigo is yourstarting point for all the excitement Long Island's East End has in store for you. Indigo has all the luxuries and amenities you deserve. From the restaurant and lounge to our fireplaces,pool, and outdoor spaces, find your greatescape in one of our 100 contemporaryguestrooms on over eight private acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End Riverhead, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing