We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Suprise”
Review of Bistro 72

Bistro 72
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 72 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 115 Restaurants in Riverhead
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: River Road
Description: Bistro 72 brings you a distinctive contemporary dining experience on Long Island’s East End. Our cuisine seasonally showcases the finest locally-grown ingredients and regional wines. We offer natural and organic options when possible presenting a delectable menu of fine pairings and great flavors. We feature indoor/outdoor and poolside/ fireside dining.
St. James, New York, United States
Level Contributor
213 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Suprise”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were in Riverhead for an art event and thought we would try Bistro 72 since we had a Groupon for it. It turned out to be much better than I expected. The food was quite tasty. I had the grouper and my wife had pasta with clams (with clams on the shell). Had it not been for Groupon, I never would have known this place was here. If you are in the Riverhead area it is certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarlanJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Bistro 72, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear HarlanJF-

I'm happy to hear that Bistro 72 was 'A Pleasant Surprise'.

Our menu is always full of tasty choices. We change it seasonally, so there's always something new to try. We use lots of local artisan ingredients as well, to keep it interesting...and fun!

Plan your next trip to Riverhead soon. We look forward to serving you again.

Warmly,

Jeff Minihane
Director of Food & Beverage
Bistro 72/Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    64
    38
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverhead, New York
1 review
“A pleasure for are group of 60 people”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were surprised never expected this hotel to be so nice in Riverhead .Service was good and food was a good value. The drinks were high priced.We were at the Indigo for a Mob lunch
The staff handle our group .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Bistro 72, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Eileen W-

Thanks so much for the kind words.

We had a blast serving your group. That was a fun afternoon.

Hope to see you back soon!

Warmly,

Jeff Minihane
Director of Food & Beverage
Bistro 72/Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Bad For Hotel Food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

For food at a hotel...this is the place to go. We usually never eat at a hotel, but decided to try this restaurant out. We were pleasantly surprised. Good food and great service with hotel prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Bistro 72, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear JJR1947-

Thanks for the positive review.

Glad you deemed us 'the place to go' and that you were 'pleasantly surprised.'

Hopefully, we've changed your perspective on 'hotel food' and you'll dine all the time.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmly,

Jeff Minihane
Director of Food & Beverage
Bistro 72/Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Took a trip out east last Friday looking to try something different a friend had recommended we try the bistro 72 the resturant inside the Indigo Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the great vibe this hotel restaurant had from the outdoor sitting area by the pool to the nicelive music played by the outdoor fireplace, Being a hotel restaurant we weren't expecting much from the food but we were defiantly wrong there ,from the tuna appetizer and duck dish I had to the encrusted chicken dish my wife had everything was great the chef even can out to make sure everything was right.On our next trip out to the north fork we we will be back for sure !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Bistro 72, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Anthony O-

Thanks so much for the kind words.

Chef loves to come out of the kitchen and visit with the guests, when he can. It's nice when he can see the guests enjoying his food.

Plan your next trip out to the North Fork soon! Don't be a stranger...

Warmly,

Jeff Minihane
Director of Food & Beverage
Bistro 72/Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Md
Level Contributor
419 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“WoW!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This place is a surprise for sure. Never expected a place like that attached to s smell hotel...then again the hotel itself was a great surprise too. Everything we had was delicious. The Caesar salad was one if the best I've ever had with crispy pancetta mixed in. The mussel appetizer was great, and some of the largest I've ever seen. The monkfish was great, and do was my wife's veggie ravioli. Oh, also served a basket of warm bread with a plate containing bruschetta, butter and olive oil. I'd be eating here often if I was a local

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsalvatico, Manager at Bistro 72, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear David S-

WOW!...thank you for that amazing review. I am so glad you enjoyed everything.

Hope your travels bring you back soon...(I wish you were a local!)

Warmly,

Jeff Minihane
Director of Food & Beverage
Bistro 72/Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 72 also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Bistro 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing