We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Long Time Coming, but Worth It.”
Review of Suffolk Theater

Suffolk Theater
Ranked #7 of 30 things to do in Riverhead
Attraction details
Ridge, New York
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Long Time Coming, but Worth It.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Theater Experience has been in the works for many years. Finally complete and opened it shows the painstaking effort by a few for the benefit of many. WOW what a great restoration. Everything is perfect. The bar on the main floor, the seating choices from dinner venue to regular theater seating. I would like to see a Hamptons director stepping in with a local theater company but for now a varied entertainment schedule will do. The drinks were good, appetizers good, but the main course choices were limited.
The evenings entertainment food and drinks around $150. A far cry from the $400 plus for Manhattan. Short drive ample parking. It will be worth watching how this GEM continues to evolve. I'll go back. Steve

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stever516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cutchogue, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun evening out”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Suffolk Theater is a gem in downtown Riverhead. The entertainment that is there is so enjoyable and the food is good. We have seen a few shows there and will go again. They do have tables and you can have dinner or just sit, enjoy the show and have a drink. Servers come to take your order. The theater has been redone to the period that is originated from and it is beautiful. So nice to have a venue of this caliber in our area!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Moriches, New York
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restoration”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stepping back in time here to the Art Deco period when movie houses were palaces. Cabaret style seating with wait staff busy all night long bringing food and drinks to the patrons. We just had drinks with the show, but service was very good. Not Broadway, but a nice alternative to long drive to Westbury or LIRR to NYC.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wading River
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Once they get the kinks out........”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A beautifully renovated theater with the ambience of a 1940's dinner theater (minus the cigarette smoke). Service needs some improvement but it is a roomy comfortable theater with good acoustics and a large bar. I look forward to future shows.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique place to go, hope it stays.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Just went to the Polar Express Christmas showing at the suffolk theater. It was wonderful. It was my first time there since the major renovation has taken place. I gave it a four based on decor and atmosphere. I will return and I hope I can give it five for the food and service. The place is beautiful and it needs to do well and become an anchor for Main Street. It's a dinner theater theme and the quality of the shows and food will determine if it does well. But today it was great and the service very good. Stay tuned.

Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suffolk Theater also viewed

 
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Suffolk Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing