We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Ambience and First-rate Food”
Review of Tweeds Buffalo Bar

Tweeds Buffalo Bar
Ranked #7 of 116 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly Ambience and First-rate Food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recently ate at Tweeds on a visit after soem time in NYC, and entered to a very warm greeting from the waiting staff, and a local man at the bar recommended us the best table in the house. A bowl of steamers with butter dip, followed by a delicious bison steak (a first for me) with good and fairly priced wines, were as good as anything in NYC itself. Our waitress could not have been friendlier, giving recommendations for things to do in the area. It was so good, we ate there again the next day, which is something I would not normally do, but I was glad of another great experience there. If you're in the area, definitely give the place your custom.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenport, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I have been to Tweeds many times. It is ALWAYS excellent. I love the clubby atmosphere, but the best part is the food. Always very well prepared and I always feel like I am getting my money's worth. The wines by the glass offer good choices as well. It is easy to miss this place because the location is not prominent, but it is worth the effort to find it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darline_Gpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top Drawer Food & Ambiance”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Historic restaurant in downtown Riverhead. Happened to visit during Restaurant Week 2014. Old style pub/parlor complete with marble bar and a real Bison head that is storied to have been shot by Teddy Roosevelt himself. It was weekend, but still off season on a Saturday and the restaurant was moderately busy. Had the Cesar Salad with a side of Anchovies. It was crisp and the anchovies were first rate. The fresh Little Neck Clams were delectable. I had the Peconic Bay Scallops with wild rice and salad. It was fantastic! Fresh, succulent scallops (I did ask that they not be overcooked.) The rice was al dente and tasted great in the lemon butter sauce over the scallops. The salad was mixed greens and lightly dressed. A good portion for lunch. The server was very pleasant and attentive. Some of the unusual items include bison steak and burgers. And Long Island duck. Large assortment of local beers. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hillary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIDGEWATER
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tweeds”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have lunch here about once a month (it's a little far from our home to go for dinner) and have always had great meals with friendly service from a long term experienced staff. The guacamole with shrimp appetizer is top notch as are the burgers (both beef and bison), quiches and specials. They do fish especially well. Everybody we taken here rave about their meals. Tom C. - Cutchogue

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“White linen and warm decor!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

There is nothing 'western' about this restaurant as it has a classy Manhattan-ish atmosphere. Nicely appointed with a Bison theme from the etched glass candles, barware and decor, to the single stemmed rose and white linens. Intimate dining and the menu works better for adults, this is not geared for the kids. Drinks were top-notch, with an excellent wine selection. Calamari was probably the best we every had, and the guacamole/shrimp appetizer is yummy! Enjoyed the thin sliced bison hanger steak with wild mushroom/cognac cream sauce. A little pricey but looking forward to going back again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbD778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tweeds Buffalo Bar also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Tweeds Buffalo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing