We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest local ingredients, excellently prepared fairly priced”

Tweeds Restaurant & Buffalo Bar
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: TWEED'S combines true local flavor with sophisticated cuisine in an atmosphere of comfort, warmth, courtesy and welcoming familiarity. The award winning staff and this beautiful establishment are proud to be the historical centerpiece of Riverhead's Main Street revival
Bedford, TX 76021
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Freshest local ingredients, excellently prepared fairly priced”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My Mom's favorite. Always has fresh local ingredients and offerings in season. Try the Bison steaks they are excellent. The local seafood is great and well prepared. They always seem to have fresh, local bay scallops that are sweet and tender. Extensive local wine list. The entire menu is reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    60
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakdale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tweeds is located in a historic hotel in downtown Riverhead. It has become my husband's favorite restaurant! We usually have the Bison burgers, but other entrees are fabulous,too! They use fresh local ingredients. The staff is always professional, knowledgable and curteous. You will never be disappointed by the food. I only wish I lived closer to this gem!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherrybabyOakdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
158 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time to Tweeds. We came in for a late lunch/early dinner this past Sunday (06/29). Our server was a cute young lady who's name I did not get but she recommended some of the dinners and she was right they were great. Very nice atmosphere, great food and excellent service. We will definitely return.
John Gangone
Huntington, NY

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgangone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the North Fork area...”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visit Tweed's several times a month and have always loved the food Not only is their food consistently excellent but their wine selection and availability is great. I believe this is one of the best restaurants on the east end of Long Island for both seafood and beef/bison. It is great for a casual lunch or dinner on a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winesnobNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Riverhead Gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always have an amazing meal at Tweeds. Cozy bar along with a warm and inviting atmosphere makes the dinner even more enjoyable. Definitely a good choice!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riverheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tweeds Restaurant & Buffalo Bar also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Tweeds Restaurant & Buffalo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing