We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tweeds Buffalo Bar

Tweeds Buffalo Bar
Ranked #7 of 116 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Dark wood and old photos create a great atmosphere. The framed newspaper headlines on the walls are a snapshot into a time gone by on Long Island, in a good way.
The menu is decidedly constructed with meat eaters in mind. Bison meat is prominent and they do it well.
This is a bright spot for dining in Riverhead and I cannot wait to go back.
Don't try to park on Main Street, just go around back to find plenty of parking and after your meal the water is right there to walk off a bit of the deliciousness.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChubbaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Fresh local produce, fish & locally reared bison. The bison is unreal in quality & texture. They most always have striped bass, another treat.
Please, if the bison filets are a bit too dear, @ least go for a buffalo burger. My wife & I love the ambiance as well as the food. To top it all off, service is great.


Helpful?
Thank P Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, TX 76021
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Freshest local ingredients, excellently prepared fairly priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My Mom's favorite. Always has fresh local ingredients and offerings in season. Try the Bison steaks they are excellent. The local seafood is great and well prepared. They always seem to have fresh, local bay scallops that are sweet and tender. Extensive local wine list. The entire menu is reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakdale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tweeds is located in a historic hotel in downtown Riverhead. It has become my husband's favorite restaurant! We usually have the Bison burgers, but other entrees are fabulous,too! They use fresh local ingredients. The staff is always professional, knowledgable and curteous. You will never be disappointed by the food. I only wish I lived closer to this gem!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherrybabyOakdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
151 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time to Tweeds. We came in for a late lunch/early dinner this past Sunday (06/29). Our server was a cute young lady who's name I did not get but she recommended some of the dinners and she was right they were great. Very nice atmosphere, great food and excellent service. We will definitely return.
John Gangone
Huntington, NY

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgangone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tweeds Buffalo Bar also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Tweeds Buffalo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing