We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let Outside Appearances Scare You”
Review of Buoy One

Buoy One
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Let Outside Appearances Scare You”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although the outside of this restaurant is not very attractive, the food more than makes up for it. We opted to eat outside on the patio since the weather was nice but there is seating inside. The waitress was very helpful in explaining the options; there were several specials available too.
We opted for the lunch size portion of the seafood basket - plenty of food so I can imaging that the dinner portion is very large.
The condiments are served in a small pail and the food comes in a metal pan - a rustic touch.
Our meal was delicious!
I would recommend that you give it a try if in the area; they do take outs too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baillie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    54
    19
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Whew! I'm still stuffed”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The food here was great. I had the steamed bucket that consisted of a whole lobster, shrimp, clams, mussels, baked potato, and the sweetest corn on the cob that I have tasted in years. The prices were some of the best that I saw in the area. Great value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Awashing05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Okay seafood”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stopped in for seafood dinner before departing for New York City.
We had the fried clams and the combo plate, Should have gone for the fresh fare.
Some of the fried items tasted like they may have been frozen. May have just been an off night for our palates.
Service was attentive and friendly.
Local brew was really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wading River, New York
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood and Friendly Service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I come here to get prepared take out or fresh seafood to make at home, and the fish is always good and the prices very reasonable. My favorite take out is stuffed shrimp and flounder stuffed with crab meat. The baked clams are also delicious. The staff are always friendly and accommodating to my requests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Seafood is rockin”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife wanted me to make a nice clamdish for me, so while we were in Riverhead we stopped by. She went in to get the clams and as I was waiting out in my vehicle with our dog, she brings this to-go tray out loaded with jumbo shrimp. I couldn't believe how delicious they were. I ate most of them right there in my driver's seat. You really can't beat fresh seafood and so far this place has been amazing and I do plan on coming back to try new things out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buoy One also viewed

 

Been to Buoy One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing