We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, good for kids”
Review of Highland Park

Highland Park
Ranked #4 of 116 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The annual Lilac Festival is the most popular event on the calendar here, one of the country's oldest city arboretums.
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We live near Highland, and have been many times. There is a great playground and a nature conservatory (costs extra) that is great for the kids. Other than during the lilac festival (which is beautiful and great for its own reasons) it is a generally peaceful and quiet place. Have gone on dates here with my husband, met up with my friends for a walk, and met other parents for playdates. Free parking in multiple spots, definitely recommend to anyone visiting Rochester.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lilac festival"
in 200 reviews
"lamberton conservatory"
in 33 reviews
"flowering trees"
in 15 reviews
"vietnam memorial"
in 8 reviews
"full bloom"
in 15 reviews
"year round"
in 13 reviews
"food vendors"
in 8 reviews
"walking trails"
in 7 reviews
"spring and summer"
in 7 reviews
"fried dough"
in 5 reviews
"walk around"
in 8 reviews
"rolling hills"
in 5 reviews
"rochester area"
in 11 reviews
"highlands"
in 91 reviews
"reservoir"
in 43 reviews
"varieties"
in 33 reviews
"magnolia"
in 30 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

My family and I always enjoy visiting Highland, in any season. It's a great place to enjoy a leisurely stroll, a brisk walk, run or picnic.The landscape is spectacular any season. Full of lilac brushes/trees, Highland Park is the home of the annual Lilac festival in early May. Shortly later, the Rhododendrons and Azaleas paths come alive. In summertime, we love the plays and concerts at Highland Park. Covered with snow in winter, Highland's rolling hills make a winter wonderland. Just behind the Park is the Highland Conservatory, a beautiful building and grounds all year round.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sherpa518223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Great fun for all ages. Lots of food vendors and craft vendors to choose from. Went with one of my sons and his family so we stopped at the playground so my grandson could play.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank wendyaccorsosnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Great place to stroll around. Sometimes they have festivals like the Lilac festival in May with arts and crafts, live music, children's activities, good food, smelling the lilacs etc.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank maloucrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Particularly beautiful when they lilacs are in bloom! The arboretum is lovely, but the park is just spectacular to walk and enjoy what Frederick Olmsted designed!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Beansymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Park also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Highland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing