We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk and Management horrible, horrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I booked a room online described as sleeping 6 with 2 double beds. Upon arrival I was advised that description of a room doesn't exist and all they have in the one room suites were queen plus sofa bed. Tried to live with the accommodations and when I asked for something else, front desk advised that I was the first person to ever complain about their sofa beds and that I should put up with it. My complaints to management were ignored as the manager has stood by his staff and hotel. I guess that's admirable but as a customer, I'll be staying somewhere else as I continue to travel through Rochester.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gunnarinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2011

As another reviewer mentioned, the location is great if you need easy access to the University of Rochester. Otherwise, it was a pretty "gross" stay. Our room had not been cleaned well (dirty dishes, garbabe not taken out, no soap, no bed linens for sofa bed - which by the way had a really disgusting (blood stained), uncomfortable mattress, dirty bathroom, etc) upon checkin, and the desk attendant basically shrugged and told me that there is no housekeeping on weekends. (we checked in on a Sunday). I told him that it was a basic assumption that a room would be cleaned thoroughly between guests and his only response was that he would report it on Monday. As the hotel was full, we tried to clean as much as we could ourselves and used our own sleeping bag that we had with us.

The AC/heat fan was really loud which made it difficult to sleep and we did get a lot of tv/stereo noise from the room next door.

I was also concerned about security - or lack thereof. All sorts of people were wandering in and out of the hotel and at least at night, the person that should have been at the front desk was more often in the lounge area watching tv or reading the paper. This is an extended stay hotel which also contributes to the type of people staying and coming and going.

It's too bad that with the setting the property has - along the river and across from the University, it cannot be a nicer place. We will not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Proximity to the University of Rochester (by foot, over the bridge spanning the Genesee River) is this hotel's redeeming feature. We were underwhelmed by the Staybridge Suites for a variety of reasons: lack of soundproofing in the ceilings and walls = noisy; beds = uncomfortable and gave each one of us a backache and 3 night's worth of tossing and turning; pillows = nuggets, hardly comfortable; Wi-Fi = undependable; lackluster housekeeping = no replenishment of bathroom towels, t.p., soaps, trash removal, dirty/sticky handles everywhere; housekeeping management = incomplete follow-up with our complaints; and the general management = frequently seen chatting with the guests in the fireplace lounge area and NOT at the front desk and NOT seeing who's coming and going, i.e., the hotel is located in a historically less-than-crimefree neighborhood (19th Ward); business center = 2 outdated and slow computers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinkerbell-hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I stayed here with my wife and two young daughters (6 and 4) during March break, 2011. We were thrilled with the accommodations. The 2-bedroom suite had a room with 2 queen beds and a room with a king bed--each of these had its own full bathroom and were located on either side of the spacious living area with full kitchen. The beds were quite comfortable.
This suite is ideal either for a family looking for some separation and privacy or a group of adults. And the price is comparable to a regular hotel room at the higher-end chains.
The buffet breakfast (included in the price) was decent, but not great. Fairly typical of this type of accommodation.
The pool area is very nice, with nice big windows overlooking the Genessee river, but was very, very crowded when we were there, with a huge group of kids all playing together very noisily. There were no towels available, either, probably because of the volume of traffic through there.
The fitness centre is small, but there was nobody else in there when I was using it on a Sunday afternoon.
The hotel operates on a skeleton staff. The housekeeping doesn't run on weekends, except by request, and during the week the service is described as "light cleaning". The front desk person also appears to be by himself/herself, so you may have to wait for assistance.
The free high-speed wireless internet worked well.
The location is good. The hotel is easily accessible from the major freeways, it's only a short (5-minute) drive into downtown Rochester, and there is a footbridge across the river to the University of Rochester campus.
All in all, I would most definitely stay here again. Although it's not the Ritz, the rooms are clean and spacious and the value was exceptional for the rates they offer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I recommended this hotel to visiting relatives, they got a 2 bedroom suite which comes with 3 beds and furnished kitchen. The place was very clean, well appointed with each room having its own bathroom, additional sink and flat screen TV, the living area had a TV as well. My guests absolutely loved the beds, they said they were really comfortable. The breakfast was a typical array of cereal, hot options, bagels and coffee which my guests didn't find that appetizing.

The service in general was friendly but there was a major hiccup about the free airport shuttle which apparently doesn't operate on weekends. The person working the desk on Friday night obviously forget this important piece of information because on Saturday morning when my guests went to the desk to book the shuttle like they were told to they were then informed that it doesn't operate on weekends. Even more bizarre was that the desk person didn't even bother to ask whether she could book them a cab, it was left up to my guests to work out what to do. The cab the front desk booked then picked up a different group because the desk person didn't specify a room number. So we we had to wait almost 15 mins for the same cab to return from the airport to pick up my guests. For some reason that particular cab company seemed to have only 1 cab working that day... very bizarre. So, it was a stress that could have been avoided.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I stayed here while visiting the University of Rochester with my husband and toddler. The staff were great, especially the breakfast and supper staff, and the two bedroom suite was perfect. Free breakfast every day and supper 3 nights a week! The variety wasn't great but it was free! The indoor pool and spa in the middle of winter were fabulous, especially for the toddler and bored husband. The King sized bed was heavenly, the HBO was appreciated. The wireless internet is a bit slow and logs off regularly, FYI. The view of the river is great if you can get a room on that side. You have to catch a cab or bus to see anything but we managed. If you're visiting the university, it's perfect. All in all, our stay here very much helped distract us from the minus 13 degrees celsius temperature.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiamaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Spent the week here while working with the university. LOVED the view of the river and university and the room was large and very well-kept. Will definitely stay here again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comerharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
197.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
2.2 mi away
Rochester Riverside Hotel
Rochester Riverside Hotel
#29 of 29 in Rochester
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £85 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio suites, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items and our free Social Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings from 5:30-7:30PM. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. Our shuttle is available Monday - Friday 6:30-10:30 AM and again 5:00-9:00 PM and will take you to your destination within a 3 mile radius. When it's time to unwind, relax next to the fire pit on our Patio overlooking the Genesee River and University of Rochester; or enjoy our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing