We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Was concerned after I read a few reviews on here regarding this hotel...boy were they WRONG! What an awesome place to stay, great price, great people and breakfast was amazing. Free WiFi, Free parking and a goodie bag to boot! Our room was clean & fresh. Highly recommend from a very picky person. GREAT JOB TO THE STAFF!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the river is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaofplayers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    98
    34
    22
    14
See reviews for
139
42
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
265 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We choose this hotel due to the vicinity to downtown Rochester and their free shuttle (we attended an Americans game at the Blue Cross Arena that evening).
The shuttle driver was friendly and it was a quick ride to the arena.
The staff overall was very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and they told us everything what you have to know about your stay.
Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to join the so called "Social" - free appetizers and salad accompanied by free wine and free draft beer (yes, DRAFT BEER).
This is a great idea in my opinion. We'll definitely join the "Social" next time !
Our suite was pretty big, very clean and we had a nice view of the Genesee River (our suite was very quiet - no traffic noise or any other noise complaints at all).
The hotel is located directly on the river and they even have a dock for boats there.
The "Genesee Riverway Trail" runs directly alongside the hotel - perfect for a morning walk or an evening stroll. There are also many joggers passing by, especially in the morning.
We had no time to check out the pool - but I would assume that the pool area is as clean as the rest of the hotel property and our suite.
You can't go wrong with this hotel !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river - very quiet and a nice view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for a family vacation in November of 2012, in a one-bedroom suite (room 300). Room was clean, nicely appointed, and boasted lovely views of the river each morning. Room came with fridge/freezer, microwave, stovetop, dishes and utensils, as well as lovely green marble tabletops. And the full breakfast available each morning will have you heading downstairs, even if you typically make your own; it's too good to miss. Fantastic staff - courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable. River view rooms will get morning sun - so if you prefer waking to the sun, don't close the blackout curtains. (If you want to sleep in, though, you must close them.) Hated leaving here. It's that good.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We greatly enjoyed our recent stay here. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and clean. The bed was comfortable. The suite setup, with a large room, kitchen area, and sitting area, was nice. All staff members were courteous and the full free breakfast was appreciated. The price, at nearly $150 a night, was somewhat steep but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

The property seems to be fairly new, and I found it to be very clean and well appointed. My room was spacious and spotless. While I had dinner plans and did not use the Manager's Reception, it looked great. Service at the property was first-rate.

My knock on the property comes from the noise. The air unit was VERY loud when it kicked on and off - to the point it woke me up. I was on the third of four floors and the ceilings must be very thin, or the people above me wore cement shoes, because each time they walked across the floor, it sounded like a football team was charging. This, too, woke me up. The bed was so-so in terms of comfort.

I would stay here again, but I might bring ear plugs next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor to try to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I travel often and rely on honesty and details in reviews to make hotel choices, so I had to review this hotel for others like me. Here is the absolute truth about the Staybridge Suites at U of R: It was awesome!
PROS:
Within 5 minutes of the airport and U of R
Located on the Genesee River and offers riverview rooms (despite the river's muddy water it is still scenic)
Extended stay style: Room complete with full fridge, dishwasher, stove top, microwaves, dishes, etc.
Free Social Tues-Thurs where they offer a free light dinner and drinks
Extremely clean and comfortable - One of the newer hotels in Rochester
Turndown/Light Cleaning daily (Some extended stay hotels only offer this by request)
Full breakfast with a wide assortment of food options. I've only been to a few hotels that offer this many options for free (inclusive in your stay)
Clean bathroom/bathtub.
Large, flat screen TV with close to 100 cable channels including free HBO channels
CONS:
I did have to kill a spider in my room and I hate spiders
It's located on Genesee St. that has a history of being a unsafe street, however, the city is attempting to revitalize this street and has added new buildings/stores to the area to clean up it's image.

I would definitely, hands downs, without a doubt recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A'ndrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and been quite pleased with it. It is new, conveniently located and has an above-average breakfast buffet, pool and nice exercise room. This time I felt that things seem to be slipping. If you lower your eyes to the baseboards, there is dust and dirt. The little decorative pillow on our bed had stains on it, and -- most inconveniently -- our toilet didn't work well at all. We were at the hotel for two nights, and reported the toilet problem the first morning, and were told it would be fixed that day. It wasn't. We reported it again late that afternoon before going out for dinner and the evening. Returned to find the same problem. We decided to use the restrooms on the first floor. In case the hotel is reading this review -- I think we stayed in room 318. My only other suggestion would be bedside lighting on both sides of the bed. Nice people. Good breakfast. Comfortable beds. But needs to put a little more into maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Elizabeth A,

Thank you for staying with and making us your preferred hotel. I am sorry the toilet issue was not addressed immediately and affected your overall satisfaction. I will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. Your comments are truly valuable, as this will give us an opportunity to look for areas to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make it right.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.7 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Property: Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio suites, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items and our free Social Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings from 5:30-7:30PM. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. Our shuttle is available Monday - Friday 6:30-10:30 AM and again 5:00-9:00 PM and will take you to your destination within a 3 mile radius. When it's time to unwind, relax next to the fire pit on our Patio overlooking the Genesee River and University of Rochester; or enjoy our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing