We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Two bedroom, two bath suite was attractive and nicely furnished. Very cokmfortable beds. Baths conveniently had granite-topped sinks separate from rest of bath. Kitchen had basics for cooking and eating in. Dishwasher is quite noisy. Service was quick and friendly - from check-in to prompt delivery of missing part for coffeemaker. Free breakfast included hot and healthy options. Although the Univeristy of Rochester is a 10 minute walk accross the river, there is very little in the way of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. Nice hotel, but price presented only an average value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skisurfer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear skisurfer17,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Met friends for an overnight stay in one of the suites. The suite was quite spacious and sparkling clean. There were always helpful staff members at every turn. The breakfast area was quite large and inviting. No problem parking outside this hotel. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16Dania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Staybridge Suites in Rochester is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and professional. Our "suite" with queen size bed consisted of one good sized room with a kitchenette, desk, chair and couch. Fine for a 2 or 3 night stay, and at little over $100.00 a night for double occupancy. However, like many hotels in which I've stayed, there is absolutely no sound insulation and every little noise is transfered, seemingly ampliphied, through the floors and walls. If you happen to get a room on the river side of the hotel, you get a great view of the Gennese and the university campus beyond (an easy walk over a pedestrian bridge). If you happen to be on the other side, as we were, you get a view of the rear of a neighborhood of old tennaments. And the free breakfast buffet is not very good at all; if we stay here again, we'll skip it.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the river side of the building, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear larry d,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

I look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Rochester University. First of all the hotel was very clean and located literally within walking distance of campus! The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us an upgrade to a two bedroom suite! The rooms are clean and include a small working kitchen. The windows were a little drafty but the beds were comfortable. The hot breakfast was good and there are many areas to sit and relax in the lobby area. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area. Another plus - the staff was so quick to clean our vacated room that they located a forgotten item and were able to give it to us before we departed. This is the mark of a well-run hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Incredibly hospitable staff, good breakfast, big, new, clean suite, and the best for me, they welcomed my dogs. I have two well-behaved Labradors, and never felt so welcomed at a hotel with them before. The hotel is right on the Genesee River and there is a very long walking trail that I enjoyed with my dogs after a long day at work.

Walking-distance restaurants are available limited, and it does border on a slightly questionable neighborhood, (which usually is a big deal for me), but the hotel more than made up for it. If you have a car, you can get anywhere, as everything is close in Rochester. I bought food, cooked in the full kitchen, had delivery, or ate out. I used their free Wi-Fi. I was so comfortable here for the two weeks I had to work in Rochester.

I've now converted to Staybridge and I'll definitely stay here again. Clean, new, loved my dogs. Doesn't get better than that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

For years, we have found cottages on the water for our anniversary.
This year owing to outside issues we thought it impossible. But, on short notice, we found this beautiful location online and booked it.
We had a wonderful stay. The riverview from our room was perfect! and romantic each night. Gorgeous, long, dog-walks by the river and on campus were just what we love. Combine that with its proximity to so much to do in the city, makes this an ideal location.
The suite was comfotable and cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed. The breakfast bar offered something for everyone and the fresh fruit was excellent, ripe, and abundant.
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The housekeeper went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. And knowing that we wished for another night but all booked up, the desk called us quickly with the news of a cancellation.
We have always eschewed hotels in favor of private places for our breaks, getaways, and major vacations. But this place is the one that opened our eyes to what is possible.
We will always be thankful for the opportunity to "save" our 30th anniversary when we thought a "staycation" had become our only option.
Tell everyone

Room Tip: Get a river view if at all possible. The view sets this place apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeEff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now, while visiting family in the area. It is well-located along the Genesee River, close to the airport and with easy access into the city. The neighborhood directly surrounding the hotel is a not great for walking, but there is a funky café across the street and a footbridge to the campus of the University of Rochester, which is beautiful for walking around. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty, the staff always friendly and helpful. The exercise room and free guest laundry in the basement are very nice amenities, as well. Highly recommend for families and for short- or long-term visits.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomervilleReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £89 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio suites, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items and our free Social Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings from 5:30-7:30PM. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. Our shuttle is available Monday - Friday 6:30-10:30 AM and again 5:00-9:00 PM and will take you to your destination within a 3 mile radius. When it's time to unwind, relax next to the fire pit on our Patio overlooking the Genesee River and University of Rochester; or enjoy our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing