We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family, friends and I stayed here last year the night before the (fundraiser) Stroll for Strong Kids (Golisano Children's Hospital), and we liked it so much we came back this year. I cannot say anything bad about the experience either time. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, we were accommodated every step of the way. It almost seemed like a dream (sounds corny, but it is true.) I would like to say that the front desk young man, Franz, is a huge asset to the property. He made everyone in our group (26 people in 4 double rooms) feel very welcome and helped in any way possible. Two of the big attractions are the swimming pool and the fire pit on the patio out back which looks over the river. We all loved it! The other bonus for us is that we could walk over to the park where the Stroll for Strong event took place instead of having to drive over, find parking and walk to get to the start line anyway. I highly recommend this hotel for family, fun, business....whatever! We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nysmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest -

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your positive feed back and will let Franz know of the compliment you paid him in your review. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Melissa Guenther
Direct of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly Hotel close to the airport and by the river. The managers special on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening was excellent. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice of foods.
Room not as 'grand' as some suite hotels but fully functional.

Room Tip: I was staying in a third floor room and felt/heard the people above when they moved around. So perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazerblazer1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest-

We are sorry to hear of your issues with the room above you, but glad you enjoyed the spectacular view of the river and our food service. At the Stay Bridge Suites we pride our selves on the positive guest experience. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you!

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff at this property are all very friendly and really made me feel at home. The happy hour buffet is a nice touch with wine and tap beer available. The food was so so but still good as a pre dinner appetizer. The rooms are very spacious. Now the issue: When I went to bed I noticed a fairly large spider climbing up the wall which was directly to the side of the bed. Although I do not have any particular fear of spiders or insects in general, seeing a spider climbing a wall inches from where you are about to go to sleep is a bit alarming. I'm sad to report, unlike me, the spider did not survive the incident. I cannot give more than 3 stars based on that incident, otherwise they would have had at least 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaloneBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear TTMLL2215,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am delighted to know that you found our hotel staff highly commendable.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the room cleanliness may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the honor of serving you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family recently stayed at the Staybridge Suites in Rochester and we really enjoyed our stay. We had 3 adults and 2 kids so having the suite option with 2 bedrooms made a lot of sense. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. Our room had a nice view of the Genessee river. The pool area was very nice (not a deep pool - but enough for the kids to have some fun). We stayed on a Sunday night and there weren't any restaurants open nearby so we had to drive a bit - we used the provided local directory to find some options. The free breakfast was a convenient way to start the next day as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest -

We are happy that you chose us to for your family get away. Thank you for all the kind words, we will pass this review on to our team!

Warm Regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had a suite that overlooked the Genessee river. Very pretty view of the university . The suites have a kitchen with everything you need. During the week they have a BBQ and salad bar for guests. There is wine and beer and a nice fire pit to sit outside and relax. The hotel is clean and people are friendly . There is an indoor pool, hot tub and a gym. Breakfast was ok and included. Parking is close. They need to repave the entrance . Huge pot wholes and not very attractive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry for the parking lot and will be repairing it in the near future. Thank you for staying with us!

Kind regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel due to a business trip. I found the hotel comfortable, clean and friendly. The rooms are spacious and even though I did not utilize the small kitchen I'm sure it would be convenient if needed. The bathroom was spotless and provided big relatively soft towels. The work area was spacious enough and there is free Wi-Fi. A free breakfast is served with a good range of fruit, yogurt and breads. They also have some hot items like bacon and eggs. The breakfast is a plus because I found a lack of restaurants close by within walking distance. If you don't have a car that might be a problem. They do have a shuttle available at specific times in the morning and evening available to take you to restaurants. One tip is ask for a room facing the water, you will have a much better view than a parking lot and some older buildings. All in all I would recommend staying here, but better if you have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building facing the water are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NP116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. Please be sure to stop in and see us next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in April and couldn't say enough positive things about this hotel. Excellent rooms with windows that open! Small kitchen that has everything you'd need. Large room and everything in perfect working order. Happy hour with free beer and wine and snacks on Thursday night. Great breakfasts with lots of choices. Fabulous pool and workout area. Located in a convenient area of Rochester.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest-

We are excited that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the positive review. Stop in a stay with again soon!

Warm regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#21 of 29 in Rochester
1,183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the scenic Genesee River overlooking the University of Rochester the Staybridge Suites Rochester University Area is the perfect choice for university visitors. The hotel is a short walk to UR River Campus, minutes to Eastman School of Music and University of Rochester Medical Center campus including Strong Memorial Hospital, Golisano Children’s Hospital and Rochester Institute of Technology. Guests choose Staybridge Suites for spacious river view suites in a park like setting minutes to downtown Rochester, Highland Park and ROC airport. Staybridge Suites offers complimentary full breakfast buffet served daily and social receptions Mon-Wed nights. The hotel boasts a fitness center, business center, outdoor living area, fire pit, heated pool, bike rental, Genesee river trail access and boat docks. Best hotel for guests attending the Lilac Festival, Fringe Festival, Xerox Rochester International Jazz Fest, Corn Hill Arts Fest, Park Ave Arts Festival and Image Out Fest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing