We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Rochester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This place is amazing! The rooms were spotless and so spacious. We loved the kitchenette and the free breakfast buffet had no comparison. Waffles, bagels, cereal, eggs, bacon, hash browns, fruit and juices were just some of the items. From Tuesday to Thursday in the evenings, the supper was free and we had BBQ'd burgers (they even had Veggie Burgers for my mom). The staff are so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. You can rent movies for free and they have a pool, laundry area and fitness centre which are all free to use as well (just bring your own laundry detergent). Our room overlooked the river and it is so beautiful! If you are looking for a great place to stay, check this place out. Expedia has some great deals but if you call them directly, they will beat the Expedia price. :-) I couldn't be happier staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

Although this hotel is relatively new with some modern facilities [gym, pool etc] without a car you are virtually stranded here.
There are no shops, restaurants, facilities nearby [within walking distance] and we were ripped off by the taxi company that were recommended by the hotel staff. Even though I notified them about it, along with the unsafe driving practices of the taxi driver, they then recommended this same company the very next day.
There is a small grocery store across the road but no restaurants nearby and the hotel only does 'dinner nights' on some nights of the week. These are free but are very basic, similar to the free breakfast they offer.
Our room was a good size but the noise of anyone walking on the floor above was thunderous.
Also, the rooms only get serviced Monday to Friday. We checked in on a Thursday afternoon and checked out on a Monday morning so our family room was serviced only once [on the Friday morning].

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damsel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

From the moment we walked in we were greeted by a very friendly staff member at the front desk. She was very helpful and answered some questions for us as well as gave us some directions. The room was lovely, spaciaous and clean. We stayed in a Sudio Queen Suite, whcih was a perfect size for the two of us. There was minimal noise at night. The only issue we had was the drain in the tub, but the shower itself was great!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsH426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

hotel was in an ok area in terms of view, but somehow my daughter's passport was stolen, and my infant son's birth certificate was also stolen. They were kept inside a pouch, inside another pouch inside my purse. No other time they could have been stolen, aside from while we were swimming, or while we ate breakfast in the hotel.
The breakfast staff didn't bring out fresh food, and was too chatty by half. I'm not here to hear your life story, and if you dont' want my kid eating in your hotel, then make it an adult only hotel. (i got a reprimand from the server for getting my baby water for his cup, and for him spilling 3 cheerios on the floor, which i picked up myself).
After we reached the border and dicovered our missing identification, we called the hotel 3 days in a row in an attempt to discover if they'd found the passport at least, but no one seemed interested in helping us. In fact they acted like it was no big deal. Maybe I'm the only one who knows this, but you require a passport or birth certificate to get over the border. (in our case, that meant, in order to get home).
Really irritated, and this hotel has given staybridge a bad name in my mind. I will certainly never stay in one if I have a choice in the future.
The police told us that ID theft from a hotel room, particularly from children is super common. Not sure where I ought to have put my stuff, because the staff are obviously criminals, making no where safe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The hotel is just one year old and everything feels new. It's right across the river from Rochester U. and is easily accessible to the campus via foot bridge or car. We were visiting RIT and that's only a 10 min drive away.

Great value for a one bedroom suite ($99 via Expedia). Nice breakfast. Clean rooms. Lots of plugs for your electronics. One downside: the TV, while a HD set did not get HD broadcasts, just 4:3 aspect ratio broadcasts that were stretched to 16:9.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooChoo4427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel in order to visit the University of Rochester. The location is excellent, only a few minutes drive or walk. It's right on the river, with an outside deck to enjoy the view, and a gas fireplace near the entrance with comfy chairs in front. The front-desk staff was friendly and efficient. There is a mini-shop next to the front desk that sells snacks and toiletries. The room itself was great for us, with a separate bedroom, a pullout sofabed in the living room, and a complete kitchen. I mean complete, as in fridge, 2-burner stove, dishwasher, microwave, pots/pans, dishes, silverware, bowls, you name it. Everything was very clean and well thought-out (i.e. the bathroom sink was outside the bathroom, so it could be used while the bathroom was occupied). We were on the first floor, but it was very quiet, and both windows had blackout shades, so we slept well. The free breakfast buffet was fine for what it was (not fancy but filling, fresh, and tasty): eggs, french toast, bacon, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juices, fruit, toast. The lady in charge of the buffet was like your grandmother, telling one man that he was not allowed to take food out, and then, with a smile, letting him do so anyway. She called everyone "honey" and let me know when she was bringing fresh eggs out. Great staff, a clean and stylish atmosphere, proximity to UR, price, and free wifi are all major pluses. I didn't use the hotel shuttle to UR, but it was readily available. The only minus is the lumpy sofabed mattress. The actual bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, but that sofabed is ok for kids only; most adults would not be happy there for long.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyceditrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Heather at the front desk couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, from researching that the pet fee was $15 from $75, to getting us extra chairs for sitting and eating, to helping with connecting to the WIFI! We have a spacious 2 bedrooms suite at the Staybridge suites and couldn't be happier. This is a pet friendly hotel, $15 check-in fee for the pooch.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKShorewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £73 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio suites, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items and our free Social Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings from 5:30-7:30PM. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. Our shuttle is available Monday - Friday 6:30-10:30 AM and again 5:00-9:00 PM and will take you to your destination within a 3 mile radius. When it's time to unwind, relax next to the fire pit on our Patio overlooking the Genesee River and University of Rochester; or enjoy our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing