We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House
Ranked #10 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House shares the story of Susan B. Anthony's lifelong struggle to gain voting rights for women and equal rights for all. We keep her vision alive and relevant by preserving and sharing Anthony's National Historic Landmark home; collecting artifacts and research materials directly related to her life and work; and making these resources available to the public through tours, publications, the internet, and interpretive programs. Come visit us today!
New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A lovingly maintained historic home inhabited by the Anthony family, including the most famous Anthony, suffragette Susan B. Although the house is called the Susan B. Anthony House, the museum's organizers make it clear that Susan was surrounded by family members and friends in the cause of women's voting rights, many of whom lived in the house.

One of the best aspects of the Susan B. Anthony House is its staff. We were heartily welcomed, and our guide was fantastic. She was enthusiastic about the house and the lives of all the women who passed through it. Any questions she couldn't answer, she made sure another staff member did at the tour's conclusion. Even though the house was quite busy with visitors, our group was not rushed.

The gift shop is great, too. I highly recommend stocking up on presents while you're there. It's for a good cause and the message is as relevant today as it was during the lives of the Anthony sisters.

We had never been to Rochester and found it very easy to locate.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    46
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historical interest”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Parking can be somewhat limited, but the house is beautiful and well worth a visit. The displays are interesting, as are the artifacts, and the whole is pretty well organized and presented.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlisticeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Historical Tours”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Susan B. Anthony House is a can't miss stop when you visit Rochester New York. We took a tour with our grandchildren and was very relieved to see how they had tours for adults and also for younger visitors. The staff is very knowledgable and have definitely taken ownership the house and of educating their visitors. There is a small gift shop if you would like to purchase a momento of your visit. The tours prices are reasonable and full of interesting historical information. We have visited 3 times over the years and there is always a new discovery or something new to learn. You will feel welcome and glad that the money spent is going towards preserving this wonderful portion of our American History.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very informative - you will be glad you went!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have lived in Rochester for years and finally had the chance to visit this landmark. I was not sure what to expect, and was very pleased with the experience. I learned so much from the exhibits and the tour guide. Visitors can tour almost every room in the house. There is a nice gift shop and many fun places to dine nearby. There is also a nice carriage house for small events, meetings, etc.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LMaria65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating piece of women's history”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This should be on the bucket list for all lovers of womens history and the appreciation we have for what these early pioneers of womens rights endured.. A small, humble home staffed by very knowledgable and enthusiatic staff...you will stand in the parlor where Susan B. Anthony was arrested for daring to vote as a woman in 1872.....you sense her presence everywhere as you hear the story of her lifelong devotion to the "cause"!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House also viewed

 

Been to National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing