We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“babyshower bliss”
Review of Ellwanger Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellwanger Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Ellwanger Estates was the ideal setting for hostessing our daugher-in-law's baby shower. The estate is elegant and at the same time so cozy and intimate: the venue itself became a major party participant, with delights and whimsy at every turn. Twenty of us aged 20-80 luxuriated in the welcoming attention of innkeeper Rosemary Janofsky and the graceful ambiance of the grounds and house. Melissa felt honored, pampered and delighted in a truly unique setting. This event was such a success we already have "plans" for other family-friend gatherings at this marvelous Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodhibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

My weekend trip to Rochester New York was so lovely because of the hospitality and historic elegance at the Ellwanger Estate B&B that it merited several return visits. Always warmly greeted by Rosemary, I have enjoyed the rooms (three different ones so far) which have always been spotlessly clean and complete with all the amenities a traveller could wish for.
The gourmet breakfasts, the large porch which faces the Landmark gardens and its location close to the center of town are all great reasons to use the Ellwanger as a base for any nearby trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyaOCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I was attending an admitted students orientation with my son, at the University of Rochester and called the Ellwanger Estate to see if they had an opening for one night while my son stayed with a friend. Rosemary, kindly agreed even though it was on short notice, has a two night minimum and she had scheduled plans. I chose the Inn because it was one of two B&B's closest to the University of Rochester, about 1.5 miles. It is located in a neighborhood of other large beautiful older homes, near Mt. Hope Cemetery. It is not too hard to find. The house sits behind an old stone wall and the gardens are the front yard. (Since it was early Spring, the gardens were not in bloom yet). The driveway can be easily passed because the B&B sign is not very visible from the street, It is located on a busy street so there is traffic behind you and it is hard to drive slowly while looking for the house and driveway. The driveway is a narrow gravel path which leads to Carriage house and main house. The parking can be tricky if there is another function or a lot of guests. There was a shower going on when I arrived and there were limited spaces to park. There were also cars parked along the driveway which made it impossible for two cars to pass if you were leaving or arriving.
The house is a beautiful Victorian farmhouse with a lot of character. I entered through a side enclosed patio that smelled wonderful. Rosemary greeted me but was in a hurry due to her scheduled plans. A quick tour of the house was given along with the keys. She recommended some restaurants before she left. The Baby shower guests remained, the big open living area made for the perfect setting for a small function. However, the noise does radiate up to the second level where the bedrooms are located. My room, the Serene Retreat, was nicely decorated with all the comforts of a B&B. The ceilings are high so the rooms tend to be on the cooler side. Rosemary provides a small space heater and heating blanket for that purpose. Those did come in handy the night I was there because the temperatures outside dipped to 35 degrees. The Romanesque bathroom had a very interesting mural textured wall. All the amenities were supplied with lovely soft towels and designer bath products. The tub had a hand held shower which was not really conducive to obtaining a shower but more like a bath. If you like stand up showers, I would not stay in this room. The linens and pillows were very soft but the bed was more on the firmer side.
The Inn provides all comforts and character that you would expect, including a fresh, homemade full breakfast made by Rosemary which is served on fine china and glassware, in the lovely dining room. One thing I did notice at night, after I came back from dinner, was that the lighting in the staircase area is lacking. The lights are motion censor lighting, good for conserving energy but makes it difficult to see while walking up the steps and in the hallway, especially if you are not familiar with the layout of the Inn.
There are no TV's in the rooms but Rosemary provides a downstairs sitting room with a TV. There is Internet access throughout the Inn and many books to choose from if you are a reader.
I would return to the Inn to try another room. Rosemary is redecorating one of the suites. Also, I would like to see the gardens in bloom. Kudos to Rosemary, the Inn keeper, for maintaining a lovely Inn. My stay at the Ellwanger was peaceful and in just the right location while in Rochester.

Room Tip: Serene Retreat overlooks the gardens but does not have a stand up shower. The other suites have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMAClevelandArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We booked for 2 nights and liked it so much we stayed an extra day. The Serene Retreat is a comfortable room with plenty of space and a decorator's touch. The cozy comfy bed was appreciated after a full day of sightseeing adventures. The private bathroom has a Venetian theme with wonderfully artistic finishes. Very clean and all the amenities you could ever need.

The house is really something special. So many details! What a grand place! Gorgeous woodwork on the doors and trim. Solid hardware.

Rosemary is an excellent host and made us feel right at home. Her suggestions for restaurants and shopping were right on! Breakfast each morning was delicious, and nutritious. Every day was something different, creative and satisfying. The table was set with lovely cutlery and beautiful linens and the food was served on china.

Outstanding hospitality, wonderful accommodations and great location. This place is a treasure. It is the perfect home base for adventures to the George Eastman House and the Art Gallery.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Do not look any further for a Bed and Breakfast in Rochester. The Ellwanger Estate is a beautifully maintained home, a "hidden gem" nestled in the Highland Park area.
The home and rooms reflect the hospitality Rosemary, the InnKeeper, provides to each guest. The Estate is clean, inviting and establishes a feeling of home from the moment you arrive. Rosemary thoughtfully toured my family through her estate and our suite of rooms; every detail to ensure our comfort was pointed out.
It was my family's first time in Rochester; Rosemary was quick to provide many excellent selections for dining (even with menus on hand!!)
Our rooms catered to our every need. They were spacious, luxurious and very well maintained.
The breakfasts were fresh, delicious and very filling. As another reviewer pointed out, try the homemade butter/jelly/jam- really GOOD!
The Ellwanger Estate made every effort to ensure my family's trip to Rochester was memorable, relaxing and the highest level of customer satisfaction possible. Thank you Rosemary! It was our privilege to experience the Ellwanger Estate. 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Ellwanger in July, 2012. The home is beautiful and Rosemary will fill you in with as much history as you would like to know. We stayed in the Victorian suite which lives up to it's name. The room and private bath were very clean and filled with amenities, if needed. It's very close to the Genessee Walking Trail, Mt. Hope Cemetary and Highland Park if those types of things interest you.

Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogert, artisan croissants, homemade pear butter (even if you're not a pear lover - don't knock it until you try it - it was wonderful), and a breakfast caserole, coffee and juice.

This is absolutely a B&B I would stay in again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Ellwanger was recommended by a contact at the Univ. of Rochester. My husband and I love staying at B and B's. Wow, was this a treat. I grew up in Rochester and didn't know this gem existed. This trip was a pleasure/business trip, especially for my husband who needed to work. Rosemary was wonderful. She was extremely attentive to making our stay very comfortable from accomodations, meals and treats as well as recommending restaurants in the area. We hope to return when the gardens are in bloom. Frankly, I think this probably the nicest B and B we've stayed at since we started stayinmg in B a nd B's. Ellen K

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
1.6 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellwanger Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellwanger Estate

Address: 625 Mount Hope Ave, Rochester, NY 14620-2730
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ellwanger Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Ellwanger Estate is located in the Mount Hope Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Home to world-renowned Horticulturist George Ellwanger and family for 115 years, the bed & breakfast has been recently restored. Four rooms with magnificent views of the lush gardens and courtyards, owned and maintained by the Landmark Society of Western New York. Enjoy the natural beauty of the Mount Hope and Highland Park Preservation area, along with the elegant ambience of the Ellwanger Estate. There are also many nearby attractions, including the Susan B. Anthony House, Strong National Museum of Play, Memorial Art Gallery, Rochester Museum of Science, Strasenburgh Planetarium, and much more. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be happy to assist you with planning visits to these attractions and making reservations at the many fine dining establishments in the area. And Now Get Ready to Charge Your Batteries At The Ellwanger Estate B&B. The Ellwanger Estate Bed and Breakfast teams with Tesla Motors to become the area’s first lodging host to offer a Tesla Destination Charger for overnight guests. Tesla Destination Charging is now offered as a new amenity for overnight guests. This installation makes The Ellwanger Estate a new hot spot on the national electric vehicle map. We are a very green B&B, devoted to energy efficiency, conservation, reuse, recycling and a hypoallergenic guest environment. Tesla’s focus on pure electric technology seems a perfect fit. We offer a full complimentary charge to our Tesla overnight guests. Just enter “TESLA” under special accommodations, when you reserve your room online to let us know you would like to plug-in. This is an added amenity for our Tesla and Electric Vehicle guests, but you must let us know in advance to reserve parking for your charge. The Ellwanger Estate B&B is proud to offer just one more example of all our exceptional amenities, making this the ideal home-away for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ellwanger Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing