We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Towpath Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
11
18
12
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
18
12
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againroom was cleanflat screenking bedfridgekeurigiron
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Very weird check in. The person on duty sat inside on the steps and cracked open a window to talk to us. The main part of the room was ok, fairly clean, but the bathroom was another story. There were hairs on the tiles in the shower. Mildew and mold on the grout and shower curtain. Toilet and sink were not clean either. No water pressure in the shower. The sink drained very slowly. Gross. Didn't want to touch anything.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliciadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

JIM S. SAYS THIS HOTEL IS DIRTY AND FILTHY. I DISAGREE WITH EVERYTHING THIS GUY SAYS.


I am out of town for work and have a budget to live on and besides JIM S the reviews were all good so I thought I would check it out.

I was pleasantly surprised at how well kept the single king room that I paid for was kept up.
Quiet neighborhood, very clean room, comfy bed and a hot shower.

Couldnt ask for more for the price.

I will definetly stay here the next time I am in the area.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christoj1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were promised a 2 star hotel similar to Holiday Inn or Ramada by Priceline but were given this motel which is far from a clean 2-star hotel. First, you have to check in at a window where you slide your money under -- right at the parking lot, you don't even go into a lobby. The person taking the money was wearing pajamas and no shoes. The paint on the exterior is peeling, the building is filthy, there are shady characters hanging out in the parking lot, and it's certainly not family friendly. They have weekly rates for homeless people. We would urge you to find ANYPLACE else besides this hotel for a safe, clean stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My girlfriend and I were just staying for one night as she had a flight out of the Rochester airport at 5:30am in the morning. The Motel was conveniently close to the airport. Our room was clean and smelled okay when we arrived. The staff was friendly and helpful. I noticed that they offered free HBO and when I turned on the TV, HBO did not come in. I went to the front desk and asked the manager which channel was HBO? He told me it was channel 15. When I returned to my room and turned the TV to channel to 15, HBO still did not come in. But just a couple minutes later the manager called our room to tell me that HBO was on. I turned to channel 15 and sure enough HBO was on! The TV was new also, a nice flat screen. The furniture and carpet seemed nice enough, the bathroom was serviceable and the bed was comfortable and allowed us to get a good amount of sleep. The Towpath Motel was perfect for our purposes: clean, quiet, close to the airport and a very good price. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in a non-smoking room. It was quiet and smelled fine
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towpathmotel, Owner at Towpath Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Towpath Motel was everything we needed: shower, beds, and wifi. It was relatively inexpensive, the place was clean, the managers on duty were both strange and hilarious, and the one night we stayed there went just fine. On the other hand, we were stuck in a smoking room which smelt terrible, the shower inadvertently filled up the bathtub giving us a foot bath at the same time, and the continental breakfast was just bananas. If I had to go back to Rochester again, I might consider the Towpath. Maybe. However, if you have stayed there before and you let them know in advance that you are returning, they will apparently give you a bit of a discount. I guess it all really depends on how nice of a place you want while in Rochester.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegit-Aaron-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews