We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family of 3 (2 adults and an 8-year old) stayed here for a change from our usual haunt (the nearby Residence Inn) when visiting family in Rochester. The price was about $20 less per night than the Residence Inn for similar amenities, so we gave it a try.

Every hotel staff member I encountered -- from the check-in clerk to the breakfast chef to the maintenance man with whom I shared an elevator ride -- was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet had a large and tasty variety of healthy choices (eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal) in addition to the standard grab-n-go continental carb-laden offerings. The coffee was sufficiently robust. The king-bed studio with sofa bed had a good amount of table and desk space at which two people could work on their laptops but could have used a little more storage space for our 3 suitcases + carry-on bags.The wi-fi service was free and fast. The room and bathroom were very clean. The pool was small and over-crowded at times during the day (spring break time), especially in comparison to the pool and hot tub at the Residence Inn, but very comfortable from 8:30 - 10 PM when only two families (6 people total) were using it.

The room decor (currently trendy browns, grays, orange and gold) wasn't my preferred color palette but it was easy to overlook since we were out and about most of the day. If I'm there alone next time, I'd choose this hotel and king bed studio again for the value pricing and amenities. If I'm with family, I think I'll upgrade to a larger room so we're not tripping over suitcases and can close the sleeping area off. I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5 only because the room layout was a little cramped for 3 people. The lack of spaciousness was more than made up for by the overall value and amenities.

Room Tip: If you have more than 2 people, choose a larger room than the king-size studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrilliantBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Brilliantbambina,

On behalf of the staff at the Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, I would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. Yes our hotel does fill up during spring break and the pool can become a little crowded, however we are excited that you were still able to enjoy of all our amenities and services during your stay with us.

In regards to our rooms, on your next visit, if you choose to upgrade to the 1 Bedroom Suite with 1 King bed, I might suggest that you request rooms ending in -00 and -01 as they offer a little extra storage space in the bathroom.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Chris Goyette
Assistant General Manager
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel was clean - rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was better than most free breakfasts served at hotels. The hotel seemed to rent out their suites to teenagers for parties, though. The pool area was unusable one day because an out of control large teenage group took it over. There seemed to be more than one unsupervised group of teenagers throughout the weekend. Saturday night the fire alarm went off due to one of these parties and we were evacuated. The night man had no idea what to do and gave no instructions. The hotel also had no security.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiValleyStream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear NikkiValleyStream,

On behalf of the Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, we would like to thank you for your honest and candid feedback. Reviews such as yours allows us the oppurtunity to find where our strengths are and some of our weaknesses. I would like to apologize for the Fire Alarm and the actions that took place in regards to it. Following proper policies and procedures is a must and I am very sorry for the lack of communication back to the guests that occurred that evening. I want to ensure you that we review these procedures more often now to ensure that guest comfort is met in difficult times such as those.

In regards to the "parties" that you have mentioned, we do not allow teenagers to book our rooms, however we have some parents that check into the hotel and inform them of our policy, that there must be an adult in each guest room and that occupancy restrictions must not be exceeded. We have implemented new policies to help alleviate these issues in the future and to help ensure the comfort and safety of all of our guests.

If there is anything else that I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me here at the hotel.

Best Regards,

Chris Goyette
Assistant General Manager
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was my first time staying at a Homewood Suites hotel and I was very pleased. The room set up is great. I really liked the kitchen. All the appliances were of good quality. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. My room, the pool and workout areas were very clean. Only complaint is the main hallway needed a vacuum but our floor was fine. Also, I wish the pool had a hot tub. The breakfast food was of good quality and plenty to choose from. All in all I really enjoyed this place and our family is thiking of returning here this summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear JaimeBuffalo,

On behalf of the Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, we would like to thank you for staying with us on your visit to Rochester. Thank you also for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you in the summer. Please do not hesistate to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you on your next trip!

Best Regards,

Chris Goyette
Assistant General Manager
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Everything was excellent. I wanted to change my room for one away from the elevator and this was done immediately and with no fuss.
The rooms are large, quiet and very comfortable.
When you're away from home in a town like Rochester you want somewhere like the Homewood to escape to. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Chalfont,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again.

Sincerely,
Vina Platania
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Thanks to this hotel, we have great March Break memories. The location is perfect - less than 15 minutes to the Children's Museum and 5 minutes to the Greece Ridge Mall. The room was exactly as it appears on the website and the the entire hotel is very clean. Breakfast had everything you could possibly want and included hot food as well as fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and a variety of bread, bagels and english muffins to toast. The staff was very friendly and always seemed to be smiling. Notes from the housekeeping staff and a welcome letter from the manager were nice personal touches. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowManyMoreMinutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear WaterlooFamily3,

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your recent review of our property. Hearing feedback like yours from our guests always brings a smile to our team members faces and lets them know that they are valued. We pride ourselves on the fact that we make our guest feel "at home" when they are away from home.

Sincerely,
Vina Platania
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Reception staff was friendly. Pool was clean. Quiet rooms. We had a great weekend thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmith105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear MrsSmith105,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Vina Platania
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel on February 18 for one night. The hotel was generally clean and we had no problems. We were in a non smoking room but it seemed that each time we came back to the room there seemed to be a lingering smoking smell??? It didn't really bother us though and we are both ex smokers. The pool was good and the buffet breakfast the next morning was mediocre. Low quality cold food, at least there was fresh fruit and cereal. For the cost, I would have expected better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
5.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester West/Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rochester Airport Marriott
Rochester Airport Marriott
#8 of 29 in Rochester
265 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#24 of 29 in Rochester
1,112 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece

Address: 400 Center Place Dr, Rochester, NY 14615-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £78 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel featuring 95 studio, one and two-bedroom suites, offers all the comforts of home, from splendid in-room amenities to exquisite hotel services. Each of our suites is large enough for work, study, entertaining and extended stays and includes much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing