We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Firehouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hose 22 Firehouse Grill

Hose 22 Firehouse Grill
Ranked #42 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Firehouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Dining is in a wide open space. It was pretty quiet when we went yet the service was fast, friendly and the food was great. The place is very clean and well decorated with old firehouse memorabilia.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    57
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Alarmingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

These guys got it right in the wonderful restoration and assessing what the average couple on a casual night out would like. There's some on the reasonably priced menu for all palates. We had a burger and ribs. Both were done very well. There is a nice selection of draft beers. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Someone even took the time for a little history about the firehouse. Can't wait to go back again.

Helpful?
Thank ppipub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Converted Fire House Restrauant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The nice thing was there was no waiting the evening we visited ( it was a Sunday). The place was about 30 % full with patrons. The service was good. everyone enjoyed their meals. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is interesting as it seems to be a conversion of a firehouse. I think I'd return for another visit. Other patron has smiles on their faces so I believe they were enjoying the evening there as well. Prices were reasonable. There was a roaring pit fire outside which was an attention getter on the cold evening of our visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank August M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad, Not the best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Im not sure Hose 22 really knows what it wants to be. The setting is awesome, great decor, cool atmosphere, they have a large dining area, not such a big bar, and thats where it gets confusing. It seems like more of a bar setting, but as mentioned before, the bar isnt that big. The menu is not very extensive, and I saw another poster mention there is a time limit on how long you can be at a table.
A group of us went for drinks on a friday night. I enjoyed the atmosphere and they have a very cool firepit out front. The beer was resonably priced at 3$ domestic drafts, but the wine of the month was 9$ a glass!! Really?! I am a beer drinker but the ladies with us prefer wine. So that tallied up the bill quick. And then we get to the food...
The menu had a few interesting things on it. The decor of the building leads you to believe it is a upper scale dining establishment, coupled with menu items like mussels and cheese spreads over toast, and the food prices are not cheap. Thats fine, but the food that we actually got was not up to par with the classy environment. The food was just... not very good. The cheesy bread was kind of gross, the mussels were just kind of bland, overcooked, and not very fresh tasting.
The staff was friendly enough and service was good. As I mentioned, the beer prices were fine.
I would, and most likely will, go back here for a few beers with my friends, but I wont go out of my way to have dinner here. There are much nicer eateries with higher quality food for the same price in rochester.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank topherboy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food here is just ok, nothing great and nothing too bad. I think most people go here for the atmosphere (bar and food) but it's priced for better food. I'd stay away unless you're out of other options and don't want to go to Friendly's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hose 22 Firehouse Grill also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hose 22 Firehouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing