We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The location is great, close to malls, bars and restaurants, the hotel is desperate for for an update.
The staff were friendly but quite frankly seemed to be battling against the odds.
Our smoke alarm was broken, the toilet flush was broken and the bathroom had black mould.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keni P, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Again thank you for your feedback
Sincerely,
Keni Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    121
    79
    37
    25
See reviews for
162
69
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We got a great rate through Hotwire, so... for the rate, the room was ok. It had a decent size fridge and microwave and the service was decent. The bathroom was very small and there was mold under the caulk. There were also really bad drywall patches and black grout. The pillows are not good. The location was great! If you are just looking for somewhere to sleep, great deal. If you are going to spend any time in the room, it would not be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j9travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This BW is a decent one night stop with convenient location, nice staff and free dinner with drinks Mon-Thurs evenings. Everything was fine although bathroom configuration was too small with small counter and very tight john. All in all a decent value stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fischstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here because it was close to where the family I was visiting lived. Room was nice, free cookies, free all day coffee, included breakfast, dinner and drinks where offered! Worth the price! Will return when back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filets_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The first room I was given had issues with plumbing. The bathtub was in horrible condition. The next room it was just barely okay. But we were very tired and just wanted to crash so we took the second room. The breakfast was standard continental fare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Earlier reviews of this hotel are mixed and one can readily understand why. On the positive side, the rates are low, the front-of-house staff are friendly and accommodating (though not always actually helpful), the wifi connection is painless and swift, and there's a supply of free coffee and excellent cookies. But the cleaning is not perfect, some rooms reek of tobacco, and there's a certain disorganisation about the place. The breakfast is fair. A useful shuttle operates to a variety of local sites; it's not quite free (the driver expects a couple of dollars or so) and the booking system is disorganised, but it's helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just wrapped up a two-day stay at the best Western Rochester Marketplace....couldn't be happier! We had a party of eight people in seven rooms, in Rochester for a concert and a day of shopping and leisure. The front desk attendant, Eric, was extremely competent....we had a bunch of special requests, a room that I'd booked as one king bed had to be changed to two queens---no problem. Two of our party, originally ten people, had got confused, needed one room but booked under two different names, and THEN had to cancel. Could he sort this out? Again, no problem at all. Could he make sure that those with heavy musical instruments were on the first floor? No problem. Eric even heard one of our party remark about another one who snored loudly, and said "Oh, you don't want to be next door to him? OK, I can put you farther away."

My room had two queen beds, it was clean and spacious, bed extremely comfortable and I slept very well. Shower had good water pressure, fridge and microwave both worked fine, A/C working fine. We ate in the breakfast room both mornings, we had our choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, make-your-own waffles, muffins, toast, bagels, oatmeal, eggs and bacon. All very nice and fresh, particularly happy with the crispy bacon which was in a chafing dish with a double-thickness perforated base so any bacon grease drained out.

All the staff members I encountered were very pleasant, did not get all their names.....one fellow, a small, older man on the housekeeping staff who didn't speak much English but goes around singing all the time--he engaged one of our guests in a mostly-gesturing conversation about music. Very charming.

On checkout we were assisted by Nicole, who helped one of our party find out how to get hold of the pillows that the hotel uses....they were good enough that she wanted to order some for her home. Again very good customer service, Nicole was helping us and two other guests at the same time, and answering the phone, all the while keeping up a cheerful conversation with our (admittedly very chatty) group. There was a manager also helping with the pillows, and I cant recall his name, but he was a tall young man in dress shirt and tie (and I noted when I saw him in the parking lot that his surname is on his car license plate.)

I should also note that this hotel is in a commercial district absolutely FULL of stores and restaurants. Within two miles of the hotel is a large shopping mall, several smaller plazas, a big Wegmans grocery, and dozens of restaurants. Two buildings away on the same side of Jefferson Road is Sticky Lips barbecue. Liked it so much that we ended up there for lunch, dinner, AND drinks all in one day. Surprisingly they have many options for vegetarians too! And around the corner, but sharing the same parking lot with the hotel, is Haveli Indian restaurant, with a fantastic (and LARGE) lunch buffet.

Definitely coming back to this hotel, where we are certain that everything will go smoothly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regardez403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
6.4 mi away
Radiance Inn And Suites
Radiance Inn And Suites
#28 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#25 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn

Property: Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
Address: 940 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Rochester Marketplace is perfectly located in the "heart" of Rochester's shopping and restaurant district.We are minutes from all major highways and the Rochester International Airport. We offer plush accommodations featuring micro fridges, 40-inch flat panel televisions with DVD players, wired and wireless internet access, and a fabulous free hot full breakfast buffet for all our guests. We are minutes from the city center, convention district, and all major universities and corporations. Our staff will gladly shuttle you to any venue with in five miles of our property. Our staff looks forward to being your home away from home when visiting the Rochester New York area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marketplace Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing