We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be confused with Wegman's Burger Bar”
Review of Cafe at Wegmans

Cafe at Wegmans
Ranked #70 of 1,274 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
135 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not to be confused with Wegman's Burger Bar”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

In-store dining, cafeteria-style, with stations serving Chinese, regional, Indian, barbecue, and other delicacies weighed by the ounce. Pizza slices are very good. However, the better bet is the newly re-constituted (third time in five years) Burger Bar, adjacent. Emphasis at the BB is on designer hamburgers (hence, the name), wine by the glass, and frozen custard, a Rochester-area specialty. Ambiance in the BB is more pleasant than the grocery store seating; however, staff will shoo away diners who attempt to bring Café @ Wegmans fare into the BB. A hard system to fathom, and you'd think Wegmans would put a higher value on pleasing their customers. Anyway, the burgers are good and the wine includes local and international favorites. My verdict: Café is okay, BB is where you'd rather dine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cannonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Asian bar not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I go to Wegmans every time I go back home. This time I was disappointed. I think they are trying to be healthier which means my favorites were gone. Usually, I can fill up a container easily, this time I couldn't find a lot to like. Also, the palak paneer in the Indian section was watery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An amazing place to eat”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Part of the Rochester Experience is Wegman's...its not just a grocery store. They have a buffet with service that offers just about anything you could want. The food is very very good. Then, just a short walk or elevator ride to the upstairs dining area which has service amenities and nearby restrooms. The only caution is to be aware that most of the food is sold by the pound and get get pricey if you aren't careful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wonderful-Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,946 reviews
1,952 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 958 helpful votes
“The Flagship store of the Wegmans chain”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stopped in to Wegmans on Monroe Avenue for lunch about a month ago, and was quickly reminded just how fabulous this "supermarket" café can be. As much as people rave about Wegmans (and most people do), the Pittsford store is at the top of the heap. The area from which you make your lunch (or dinner) selections is HUGE, with everything represented in spades. There are separate food bars for Chinese, Thai, Indian, hot and cold dishes, salads, and a MASSIVE sushi bar. Want a special kind of soup, or a Caesar salad tossed before your eyes? No problem. Want a kind of sushi combination that is not already boxed in the display? They'll prepare it for you while you wait.

For lunch, I had a variety of small, "finger-food" pieces of Thai food that was arranged in steamers on a small display. I combined that with some Indian dishes and some brown rice. It was all superb...and you only take as much as you want.

I enjoy this place every time I visit, and even the eating area (upstairs) is set up as a genuine restaurant. I will always enjoy stopping by here for a meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,313 reviews
620 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Best grocery store and market in the world!!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having lived everywhere, there are only a few things I miss about Rochester, frozen custard, garbage plates and WEGMANS!!! The grocery store has everything from around the world, fresh produce and meat and amazing prepared foods. The fact that you can bring the whole family to the grocery store and get food from a 4-5 star restaurant of all different kinds is amazing. From pizza to sub sandwiches, get sushi to fresh grilled fish, meat and potatoes to vegetarian specialties...all are delicious fresh and great quality!! Now living abroad, it is the one thing I miss incredibly!!! If you are visiting, you must check it out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe at Wegmans also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Cafe at Wegmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing