We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food delivered badly”

Amaya Indian Cuisine
Ranked #25 of 1,386 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Indian flavors transformed into a contemporary gourmet experience! Pleasant, amazing dining experience.
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Friends and I went for the Sunday buffet. Four of the 6 heated serving pans had 'fold-back' lids, but the other two had lift-off lids with no place to put the lids down. Even worse, the last pan, which had a lift-off lid, was crammed in behind the salad area, so that if more than 2 people were filling their plates, the person at that last pan, holding a lid and trying to serve herself 2 delicious chicken dishes, was trapped.

Service was wonderful, food was very good, but why is the buffet crammed into a very small space in a large restaurant.

Also, the bathrooms had those 'air-freshners' that smell so awful you can't wait to get into fresh air....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank angelM1598XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We must apologize for your experience with us, angelM1598XD. We strive to do our best to ensure all our customers are satisfied and it seems we were unsuccessful when you visited us. As a result, we will look into changing up our current buffet situation, so your experience will never be repeated. Thank you for taking the time to review us, as it will help us improve. We hope to see you again! Best, Rahul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice atmosphere, friendly service, comfortable setting, and great food. My friends from Korea had just arrived from a long day of travel and were looking for Indian food at a place where we could have a nice conversation, but not spend all night waiting. Amaya turned out to be the perfect place. The food was fresh and hot from the kitchen and hit the spot. My friends really enjoyed the meal appreciated the fast and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Awesome review, Dave! We feel that when eating out, the food an service are just as important as the atmosphere and we're glad we could provide you with the perfect one when you visited us. Thank you for bringing your friends and for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Rahul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

One of my favorite Indian restaurants in Rochester for vegetarian food. The paneer mahkni is wonderful. The samosas are unique but great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mercurygirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Glad to hear we're one one of your favorites, Mercurygirl30! We've noticed an increase in vegetarian options into the conversation on our TripAdvisor and we're glad you have taken the time to tell us about it. Thank you for the great review! Best, Rahul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a great dinner here tonight. The food and price point were great and we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ninja1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

That's so great to hear, Ninja1922! We strive to provide our customers with great food and great service and we're glad you we're satisfied. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we definitely can't wait to see you again! Best, Rahul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We don't eat out very often, this is the first restaurant we have ever been two more than once in a three month period. The ambiance is great, staff courteous, food very tasty and well presented. Excellent vegetarian dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AnneMarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thanks for the great review, AnnMarjorie! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your first experience so much that you came back. We feel we've got some of the best vegetarian options out there and we love that you've sampled a few. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about when you visited and we can't wait to see you again! Best, Rahul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaya Indian Cuisine also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Henrietta, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Amaya Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing