We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids and parents too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strong National Museum of Play

The Strong National Museum of Play
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.50*
and up
The Strong Museum Admission
Ranked #1 of 140 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Strong is a highly interactive, collections-based museum devoted to the history and exploration of play. It is one of the largest history museums in the United States and one of the leading museums serving families. The Strong houses the world's largest and most comprehensive collection of historical materials related to play and is home to the International Center for the History of Electronic Games, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the World Video Game Hall of Fame, the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play. Together, these enable a multifaceted array of research, exhibition, and other interpretive and educational activities that serve a diverse audience of adults, families, children, students, teachers, scholars, collectors, and others around the globe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for kids and parents too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We all had a great time with our chlidren. I initially felt after seeing the first few exhibits (Sesame Street, Wegmans grocery store) that this museum was geared to smaller kids, but by the end it wasn't the case at all. My husband and I enjoyed the Toy Hall of Fame and the video games and arcade took us back to our childhoods. We would recommend this museum to our friends and their families.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank the_zoozies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    217
    37
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Warden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

A wonderful experience, I could have played for days. All of the things from past days are available, nostalgic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great place for the whole family. Plenty of room to run around for the kids. We have two small children and they absolutely love it. We got an annual membership, which is pretty reasonably priced. We try and bring the kids here at least a few times a year.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
231 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I think just like there is a question if the restaurant is one of the best meals of your life, there should be a similar question for attractions. if there was than I would certainly list this as one of the most amazing attractions i have even seen.

I have been to a lot of childrens museums over the years, but nothing even comes close to this. there is something for every age, in fact there are several things for every age! my 3, 6 and 8 y/o children could have stayed there for at least 2 whole days. unfortunately we only had about 6 hours.

if you have kids aged between 2 and 12 or so and are in a1 hour radius of Rochester, you must make an effort to visit here. you will not regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attica, NY (A Suburb of Buffalo)
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fun for all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have visited the Strong Museum of Play 3 times with my daughter, most recently in August. She and I have enjoyed every trip! Twice we visited as part of a school field trip and once on our own as a family. This place has it all, activities, sights to see, learning through play, and so much more. For children the highlights seem to be Sesame Street and the Mini-Wegmans grocery store. Kids also love fairy tale land and the Bearenstein Bears. As an adult I love seeing my daughter enjoying herself so thouroughly with friends or alone. She can play and discover new things without fear of breaking something or being too loud. I also love the nostalgic aspect of reliving and remembering parts of my childhood, the historical aspect of games through the decades, and quietly observing the Butterfly Conservatory. The only downside is needing extra cash for the carousel and train and the gift shop is a bit pricey. There is a Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Subway, and Bill Grays restaurant in site, all reasonably priced. You are also permitted to bring your own lunch. I also love the hand sanitizer stations throughout the building. The only thing missing from this place is a playground with swings/slide, etc. Perhaps one is there but I've be never seen one. So much to do!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pack513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strong National Museum of Play also viewed

 

Been to The Strong National Museum of Play? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing