We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big place”

Mount Hope Cemetery
Ranked #5 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Hope, dedicated in 1838, is America's first municipal Victorian Cemetery. Set in a picturesque landscape shaped by retreating glaciers, the cemetery contains priceless pieces of art and rare horticultural specimens. It is the final resting place of many dignified and internationally known individuals, including Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass, and is on the National Park Services National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. Mount Hope is listed in the New York State Register of Historic Places and National Register of Historic Places as part of the Mt. Hope/Highland Preservation District, featuring 83 mausoleums, soaring Egyptian obelisks, a Florentine cast-iron fountain, two stone chapels in the Gothic Revival style, a Moorish gazebo, a Victorian Gothic gatehouse, and infinitely varied tombstones marking 350,000 graves across 196 acres.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big place”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This place is huge. Very cool if you like this sort of stuff.

Helpful?
Thank hoodswigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    82
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk through history”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I love coming here. Its pretty and has a lot of history. So if you want to take a walk through this cemetery then do it! If you are a history buff then check it out! Heck, bring the family and the dog! It can be a fun family walk.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MeghanA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great to wander through”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Perfect for an autumn day stroll. Interesting, Historic and
quite pretty.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AlanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We took a free tour on a Sunday afternoon in mid-October. Our guide told us a lot about the people buried in the cemetary who were important for making Rochester what it is today. There is a lot of interesting history, symbolism, and beauty here that you wouldn't expect to see. I would definitely recommend checking this out.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Try an evening tour”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you like history, Mt. Hope is worth a visit and the walking tours are very good. I grew up near by, so have been many times and am fascinated by the historical markers and mausoleums, some of which are quite ornate. I don't think I would come here with young children - it is a place for quiet behavior, plus I don't think the tour would hold their interest. However my teens liked it very much. We went on an evening tour and that added to the ambience. But if you go in the evening, BRING bug spray! The mosquitoes were out in big numbers and only one person on our tour had thought to bring spray. She very kindly shared with everyone, thank goodness. Oh - this is a tour that requires a good deal of walking, including hills. It is a very large cemetary and even though only a small portion is included in the tours, you will be walking a lot and not just on paths, so wear appropriate shoes - no heels or filp flops!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank OscarW.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Hope Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hope Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing