We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating old cemetery with some famous occupants”

Mount Hope Cemetery
Ranked #5 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Hope, dedicated in 1838, is America's first municipal Victorian Cemetery. Set in a picturesque landscape shaped by retreating glaciers, the cemetery contains priceless pieces of art and rare horticultural specimens. It is the final resting place of many dignified and internationally known individuals, including Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass, and is on the National Park Services National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. Mount Hope is listed in the New York State Register of Historic Places and National Register of Historic Places as part of the Mt. Hope/Highland Preservation District, featuring 83 mausoleums, soaring Egyptian obelisks, a Florentine cast-iron fountain, two stone chapels in the Gothic Revival style, a Moorish gazebo, a Victorian Gothic gatehouse, and infinitely varied tombstones marking 350,000 graves across 196 acres.
Madison
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fascinating old cemetery with some famous occupants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I loved the winding roads through this very hilly old cemetery. It has some famous occupants: Bausch and Lomb (just a few tombs apart), Buffalo Bill Cody, and Susan B. Anthony, whose rather modest grave was decorated with many pebbles, flags and plants left by visitors. This is a classic19th-century cemetery with statues, many temple-shaped vaults, military burial areas, and beautiful old trees. One could easily spend several hours strolling around, or running through it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank westmelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    81
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is one of my favorite spots in Rochester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am not a native to Rochester, NY, but I have lived here on and off for about 10 years. I LOVE taking pictures in Mount Hope Cemetery. This is a great spot for fall foliage shots. It is fun to wander around and see what you can find.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderingchick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Worth a visit through history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

There is a lot of history in this cemetary. Stopped to see the Freddrick Douglass grave as well as Susan B. Anthony. There was a Civil War section, Firefighter and Police sections. The friend I was with was from Rochester and he found the grave of his grandparents, great-grandparents and his great great grandfather who was in the Civil War. There were a few of his other family members buried there as well. I'm glad we took the time to go there.

Stop by the office if you are having trouble locating a particalur person or area. We were able to get a map of the cemetary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CUTiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
298 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“My favorite place to walk the dogs with a ton of history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Love this place- ALOT. I visit weekly to walk the dogs but the history is what really makes it. A huge part of Rochester's history is buried here- Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony to name a couple. There is a guidebook you can purchase from the Friends of Mt. Hope to tell you all about the place. Including other notable people as well as teaching you about the symbols on the headstones. They also offer regular guided tours. Around Halloween they have a candlelight tour as well that is terrific. If you are there to exercise, there are a ton of trails and hills to wander through. I like that the roads are paved and easily accessible with pets!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenhaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Frederick Douglass grave site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The grounds are very well maintained, the historical significance is very impressive. We went to find the Frederick Douglass grave site which is very well marked, Susan B Anthony is buried there, as well as Bausch and Lomb

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim_In_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Hope Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hope Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing