We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Beautiful Cemetery!”

Mount Hope Cemetery
Ranked #5 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Hope, dedicated in 1838, is America's first municipal Victorian Cemetery. Set in a picturesque landscape shaped by retreating glaciers, the cemetery contains priceless pieces of art and rare horticultural specimens. It is the final resting place of many dignified and internationally known individuals, including Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass, and is on the National Park Services National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. Mount Hope is listed in the New York State Register of Historic Places and National Register of Historic Places as part of the Mt. Hope/Highland Preservation District, featuring 83 mausoleums, soaring Egyptian obelisks, a Florentine cast-iron fountain, two stone chapels in the Gothic Revival style, a Moorish gazebo, a Victorian Gothic gatehouse, and infinitely varied tombstones marking 350,000 graves across 196 acres.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Large Beautiful Cemetery!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

You can hardly miss the Cemetery while visiting the University of Rochester. It sits right in their backyard. Many of the students walk through as a cut through to their destination. The cemetery goes on for a couple miles. The stones are all white. It is an attractive Cemetery with some unusual stones and a few famous people buried on the grounds. We did not search for their stones but it is maintained well and does not detract from Strong Memorial Hospital or UR. It is kind of like a conversation piece for the city of Rochester. Lots of history and I'm sure some "spooky" tails that would make for an interesting tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMAClevelandArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    81
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg, PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rainy day visit”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It was raining the day we visited. No one else there but the grounds crew. Hard to find Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglas graves. The trees were in their fall colors. Beautiful and peaceful visit. The cemetery just goes on and on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Okay. So visiting a cemetery may sound weird but this place is awesome! It is the largest cemetery I've ever seen. A great place to stroll through and look at history. And you have to stop at the office to get a map. Yes, you could get lost but on top of that, the lady working there is great. So friendly and excited to show you the cool things to check out. And take her advice. You'll be glad you did. I could come back here again and again and still discover new things to see. The monuments are exquisite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fascinating old cemetery with some famous occupants”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I loved the winding roads through this very hilly old cemetery. It has some famous occupants: Bausch and Lomb (just a few tombs apart), Buffalo Bill Cody, and Susan B. Anthony, whose rather modest grave was decorated with many pebbles, flags and plants left by visitors. This is a classic19th-century cemetery with statues, many temple-shaped vaults, military burial areas, and beautiful old trees. One could easily spend several hours strolling around, or running through it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank westmelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is one of my favorite spots in Rochester”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am not a native to Rochester, NY, but I have lived here on and off for about 10 years. I LOVE taking pictures in Mount Hope Cemetery. This is a great spot for fall foliage shots. It is fun to wander around and see what you can find.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderingchick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Hope Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hope Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing