We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house BUT...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Goshen, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house BUT...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

We were enchanted by this beautiful B&B, however, were not as enthralled once we were settled in. We opted to stay at The Edward Harris House b/c the Hyatt was booked and we would have had to switch rooms throughout our 5 night stay. When we arrived to the EEH, that is exactly was happened to us anyway. We were told that there were plumbing / tiling issues in the room we booked and were placed in an "upgraded" room for 2 nights, and then would be switched to the room we originally booked. We wanted a room with the "boasted fireplaces", but were told it wasn't cold enough for fires and the chimney's were too tall to have fires at that time.
The towels in every room we stayed in were very musty smelling, and unfortunately, on two occasions, we found 1) the fruit to be bad (actually rotten to the core), and 2) the orange juice to have gone bad after our 3rd nights stay. This was coupled with the fact that even though I told our hosts from day one that I didn't eat eggs, we were given options of eggs every day, and on the last day, just served an egg dish regardless of my preference of no eggs. No special pastries, breads or fruit was offered in its stead, but the same dry cereal, english muffin bread, and a breakfast cake every morning.
The room's WERE beautifully kept and Susan and Manny had lovely little dogs that kept me company during my reading time in the library (even though they did bark at every coming and going in the house.)
I would have to say that B&B's in general are just not for us, as they offer little in the way of privacy or structure (i.e. menu's or housekeeping). I am sure that many people have loved their stay at the EEH, however, we learned that Bed & Breakfast's are just not our style.

  • Liked — The house and rooms were beautiful with little touches that enhanced our stay.
  • Disliked — The towels were musty and the food was not always fresh.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smarycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner/Innkeeper at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2008
Although we always appreciate all constructive criticism from all guests - we felt that this review was particularly harsh. These guests stayed with us in high season for seven consecutive days and seemed to be having a fabulous time. They never had any complaints during their stay with the exception of juice which was immediately replaced. As the owner, I appreciate a guests comments and suggestions as it may be our only opportunity to make improvements or take care of the problem when it is happening, however putting it on a forum where we might never have known they had problems does not help rectify the issues for them or future guests. All food is checked daily, as are the juices, and I was unaware that the dryer was not working to optimal levels which we had serviced immediately after reading the guests review. We have offered this guest a gift certificate to try us again - and although they have said that "B&B's in general are not for us". we would like to thank the reviewer for all the kind and wonderful things that they said in their review. We have checked and corrected all concerns and I do hope they will have an open mind and give us another go should they find themselves in Rochester again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

A perfect place for a beautiful fall weekend or anytime. Susan and Manny (and the pups) were all so accommodating and the breakfast was wonderful. Every room is to die for--Susan has a fabulous flair for decorating. Niagara Falls is a day trip as is wine tasting in the Finger Lakes. We will definitely be returning, hopefully in June.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmurfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

I lived in Rochester for a year, so I luckily knew in advance that downtown is not the place to stay, because there's not much down there. We went for a conference that partially took place at the Eastman House, which was in walking distance, and we were also able to walk to all the restaurants on Park. This is a perfectly situated B&B. On top of that, it's gorgeous. Susan was very helpful, booking us into 3 different rooms for 2 nights each so that we could stay there since none of their rooms was empty for a solid 6 nights. So, we got to take a nice little tour of the inn because of that. All of the rooms were exquisitely decorated, and though we only had time for the "full breakfast" which is served at 9 am, once, the continental breakfast for the early-birds was the best I've ever had. 3 types of cereal, breads and bagels, 2 types of pastries, yogurt, and something special like quiches one morning, scrambled eggs and sausage another. I think this is THE place to stay for anyone going to Rochester.

  • Liked — the location, the rooms, the breakfast
  • Disliked — We occasionally struggled with the wireless connection
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trickykid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2007

We've been staying here since our son was a high school senior interested in RIT, and now he has graduated from there! Susan and Manny are delightful hosts; friendly, attentive, kind, yet low key. They have given us many wonderful recommendations for absolutely anything we ask. The inn is beautiful and always changing. This IS a special place!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank JBargefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

Gorgeous old home. Very nicely decorated, with large antique furniture. All the rooms are very spacious. There are lots of nice extra touches like a basket of snack foods and water and toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room at individual tables and there was lots of delicious food. My only complaint was I reserved a room with a king size bed and when we got there they had given that room to someone else. We were put in a room with a queen size bed. It was lovely but I was expecting the larger bed. The owners apologized and offered us a special to return again. We certainly plan to return. This is the niceset Inn I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2006

On the way up to Canada, my boyfriend and I spent one night in Rochester and stayed at the Edward Harris House Inn. We had a wonderful time there. The house is decorated in a modern Victorian style. We stayed in this great room that had its own little sitting area off the main bedroom area. The bed was very comfortable and even had a footstool leading up to it because it was so big.
The location was convenient because it was down the street from a fun neighborhood with lots of cafes and little shops. We drove into the main part of town for dinner and nightlife.
The host was very friendly and helpful. Because we were the only guests that night, she worked with our schedule. We were able to have breakfast later in the morning and she was also happy to accomodate our later check-out.
I would recommend this inn to anyone. We had a great time.

  • Liked — Host, breakfast, tasteful decor
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventuristGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2006

Instead of making the grueling one-day trip to Niagara Falls from Boston, we decided to make a stop in Rochester. We found this B&B on TripAdvisor, and the previous reviews were right on. The inn is located off Park Avenue, and the museums, little boutiques and restaurants reminded us a bit of both Boston and Savannah neighborhoods.

The B&B was very clean, and filled with an eclectic mix of antiques. Our room had a king bed and a wonderful shower. It was a little cramped in the bathroom, but we understand that there are plans to expand. Susan was a wonderful hostess, and made us feel at home. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, and it was served in an elegan dining room. We would recommend this inn for a relaxing stay in Rochester.

  • Liked — value
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Soxfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.0 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Property: A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing