We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Charming, Delightful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Demarest, N.J.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Lovely, Charming, Delightful.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed for one night. Warm and inviting is the best way to describe this lovely B&B. Manny and Susan could not be more welcoming. Unfortunately I did not have breakfast but Manny was nice enough to make me coffee to go. I also had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on Broadway, which was lovely as well. Save some money and stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms ate lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
64
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for one evening while visiting the Eastman School of Music with our son. This is a lovely home, on a nice, quiet street in the cultural area, and is beautifully furnished and well maintained. We were greeted with a warm welcome after a long day of driving and sightseeing. Our room was large and airy, with plenty of room to add the roll away bed needed to accommodate the three of us in the room. Our room and large bathroom were immaculately clean, with high ceilings and extensive woodwork, there was not a single cobweb or speck of dust (the entire house is immaculate). The staircase is fantastic, and wonderfully decorated, and the living room is cozy and inviting with very tasteful furnishings including a breathtaking server. Breakfast is served in the formal dining room with plenty of options including various breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, great selection of teas, coffee, juice. Omelets were made to order with many choices of ingredients to add to the omelet. The little dogs are adorable, a home is not truly a home without pets. No worries if you have allergies or do not like pets, the little cuties are kept on the private side of the home but will be happy to see you if you want to say hello!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbird5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I came to Rochester the past two summers as our teenaged son was enrolled in a 2-week jazz music camp at Eastman School of Music. My husband found this B&B on-line and thought it looked wonderful- (they had large suites which could accommodate all 3 of us nicely.) We were not disappointed. No kitsch, doilies or pink stuffed animals-on-beds here!
This is a beautiful, elegantly furnished B&B. Susan and Manny, the owners, and the kitchen manager are all absolutely charming. Our rooms were large, and the bed sheets and linens luxurious. We had an air-conditioner, and a ceiling fan. It was QUIET! And there were yummy treats and bottled water free of charge in the suites :)
Without a doubt, we shall be back!

Room Tip: OOPS! No pool-didn't mean to click it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accaberj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. It is nice to know that ours and our staffs efforts are noticed and appreciated. We so appreciate it! Not all days can be perfect - but we like to think that we try to make yours a little more perfect! We hope that we see you on a future trip to Rochester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREENSBORO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Our room and bath were immaculate. But the thing to swoon over is breakfast! Manny is more than accommodating. He's a cheerful, friendly guy who makes a superb breakfast. We had to leave early to catch a train, but he insisted on provisioning us with French toast, berries, juice, coffee on our last morning. This is an excellent b&b, close to the Eastman mansion, which is very interesting to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My new husband and I rented out every room at the Edward Harris House for our families to join us for our elopement ceremony. Us and our families were treated like royalty and had an amazing time. We stayed in Garden Suite and then our families were in the others. The rooms themselves are all uniquely laid out with beautiful details and amazingly comfortable beds and linens. The rooms are clean and well taken care of. Breakfast for the two mornings was awesome. Susan and Heather took care of us and our family for sure. Our ceremony was in the beautiful garden outside and Susan could not have picked a better reading and vows for us. All of the normal "wedding" stress people have- I didn't. Every detail, from the getting ready in the morning to when we left in a limo for dinner in Pittsford was perfect. Our families are still raving about how wonderful the Edward Harris House and their staff was to us. Everyone had an extremely memorable and positive experience. My new husband and I cannot say enough good things!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique in decor, layout but all are BEAUTIFUL. We chose which rooms our family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetoshop81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago while visiting our daughter who live just around the block. The inn itself was very beautiful and tastefully decorated, owners were warm and gracious. Staff was friendly and made great recommendations as to where were the best places to eat. You won't go wrong booking a room here.

Room Tip: Choose any room you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandlisaironlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed in B&B's all over the country and this is by far the most beautiful. We stayed in the Rose Room which was comfortable, quiet, clean and BEAUTIFUL. Breakfast was very good and location is wonderful. I walked to the Eastman House. And a few blocks in the other direction, on Park, is an amazing restaurant area (no fast food here). Take your pick as to what you want to eat, and eat outside if the weather is warm,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UStravalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.0 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages

Property: A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages
Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing