We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, quiet, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
449 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Great location, quiet, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This B&B is a beautiful home in a great neighborhood. It is close to many attractions in downtown Rochester, close to freeway access and is within walking distance of a number of good restaurants. Manny and Susan are friendly and professional. We stayed in Emily’s suite, which has a king-size bed, reading area, desk area and a large bathroom. Emily’s suite is nicely decorated and very comfortable. The B&B is located on a pretty quiet street, so noise isn’t a factor in any of the rooms. There is a library downstairs to read or watch DVDs. I gave this four stars instead of five because, I wake up VERY early and like to make a cup of coffee first thing, not wait for an hour and a half. Coffee wasn’t available until 7 a.m. I wish more B&B’s would buy a Keurig coffee maker for guests to use. I think there was a beverage station outside our room, but it wasn’t really explained and while I saw tea and coffee bags, there was no creamer for coffee and I wasn’t sure how to operate the pot for heating water. Breakfast is good, but not the most memorable thing about the B&B. Manny makes a very good omelet, but our second day I don’t think Manny was cooking. Pancakes were way overdone. That said, I don’t think you will be disappointed by staying at the Edward Harris House. It is a lovely and comfortable B&B.

Room Tip: Emily's suite is spacious and comfortable; Rosemary's suite is large but the bath is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
60
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I visited Rochester and stayed at the Edward Harris House for four nights. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay immensely. From check-in to check-out, we were treated like royalty. The staff was friendly and willing to please. Our breakfast was serve in a beautiful dining room at the precise time we requested. It was delicious and the presentation was absolutely beautiful. Our room was spacious, immaculate, and completely stocked with plenty of towels and nice toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable. The house is spacious and beautifully decorated. We were also able to enjoy a large living room with a fireplace where we could relax and enjoy the quiet atmosphere anytime we pleased. Manny and Susan are wonderful hosts and really made our stay relaxing and memorable. We will definitely return and recommend
this inn to our family and friends. Thank you so much for all your hard work!!!
Ed and Maria L. Florida

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed one evening at the Edward Harris House, in the Emily Room which was lovely and accessorized to remind you of Paris. Room was furnished for comfort with lots of extra towels, nice toiletries, cute knick-knacks to convey homeyness. The house itself is beautifully decorated and offered many nice little touches - a carafe of coffee liqueur, jar of homemade cookies, bowl of pistachio nuts in the living room, an electric kettle for tea on the upstairs landing for guests in the evening, etc.

We would have given it five stars except that we had the feeling the Edward Harris may be starting to coast on its reputation. Our welcome upon arrival felt a little perfunctory, similar to what you might expect at a large hotel. Breakfast the next morning was good, but certainly not over the top. Our innkeeper was nowhere to be seen and the manager/housekeeper seemed harried as she rushed to get breakfast on the table and cater to the guests.

Room Tip: The Emily Room is quite small. Go for a king-size suite if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demarest, N.J.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed for one night. Warm and inviting is the best way to describe this lovely B&B. Manny and Susan could not be more welcoming. Unfortunately I did not have breakfast but Manny was nice enough to make me coffee to go. I also had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on Broadway, which was lovely as well. Save some money and stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms ate lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for one evening while visiting the Eastman School of Music with our son. This is a lovely home, on a nice, quiet street in the cultural area, and is beautifully furnished and well maintained. We were greeted with a warm welcome after a long day of driving and sightseeing. Our room was large and airy, with plenty of room to add the roll away bed needed to accommodate the three of us in the room. Our room and large bathroom were immaculately clean, with high ceilings and extensive woodwork, there was not a single cobweb or speck of dust (the entire house is immaculate). The staircase is fantastic, and wonderfully decorated, and the living room is cozy and inviting with very tasteful furnishings including a breathtaking server. Breakfast is served in the formal dining room with plenty of options including various breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, great selection of teas, coffee, juice. Omelets were made to order with many choices of ingredients to add to the omelet. The little dogs are adorable, a home is not truly a home without pets. No worries if you have allergies or do not like pets, the little cuties are kept on the private side of the home but will be happy to see you if you want to say hello!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbird5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I came to Rochester the past two summers as our teenaged son was enrolled in a 2-week jazz music camp at Eastman School of Music. My husband found this B&B on-line and thought it looked wonderful- (they had large suites which could accommodate all 3 of us nicely.) We were not disappointed. No kitsch, doilies or pink stuffed animals-on-beds here!
This is a beautiful, elegantly furnished B&B. Susan and Manny, the owners, and the kitchen manager are all absolutely charming. Our rooms were large, and the bed sheets and linens luxurious. We had an air-conditioner, and a ceiling fan. It was QUIET! And there were yummy treats and bottled water free of charge in the suites :)
Without a doubt, we shall be back!

Room Tip: OOPS! No pool-didn't mean to click it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accaberj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. It is nice to know that ours and our staffs efforts are noticed and appreciated. We so appreciate it! Not all days can be perfect - but we like to think that we try to make yours a little more perfect! We hope that we see you on a future trip to Rochester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREENSBORO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Our room and bath were immaculate. But the thing to swoon over is breakfast! Manny is more than accommodating. He's a cheerful, friendly guy who makes a superb breakfast. We had to leave early to catch a train, but he insisted on provisioning us with French toast, berries, juice, coffee on our last morning. This is an excellent b&b, close to the Eastman mansion, which is very interesting to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.0 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Property: A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing